Léa Drouet Brussels

Violences

theatre

La Raffinerie / Online

| French → NL, EN | ⧖ 50min

June 1942, shortly before the raffle in Vél d’Hiv in France. Mado is 10 years old; she crosses the dividing line between the occupied zone and the free zone with a group of strangers, without her parents. The group is accompanied by a smuggler, who Mado’s mother previously payed with some expensive textile. She crosses the border at night, and takes a train alone to Vichy, before being welcomed by a peasant family in Auvergne for several years. Starting from the story of Mado, her grandmother, Léa Drouet transports us in her new creation, Violences. In it, rather than representing direct violence, the artist works in showing the conditions that make it legitimate. Alone on stage, inside a sandbox, she builds and undoes architectures made of walls, landscapes, borders, through which the storytelling evolves. With a dramaturgy of resonances, the story of Mado rebounds in recent events – the story of Mawda, a 2-year-old Kurdish girl shot dead by a Belgian police officer in 2018 – that echo what contemporary violence and its forms of resistance can be. If usually sand is what absorbs all traces, often erasing traces of violence too, here it also holds the promises of future configurations, which Léa Drouet, alluding to a child who plays, experiments and presents before our very eyes.

Violences is streamed live from the theatre every night, allowing this investigation to be accessible beyond boundaries and travel possibilities.

The performance on 14.05 will be dubbed in Sign Language of French-speaking Belgium (LSBF)

read more

Exile and whispering 

In Violences, Léa Drouet evokes the tragedies of our time using a subtle minimalist  language. 

For Léa Drouet, the theatre stage is a space where languages are invented to present contemporary tragedies in a different way. It is a place where human science assumes a  body and voice, far removed from preconceived ideas. For example, in Mais dans les lieux du péril croît aussi ce qui sauve (2016), she shares statements she collected from skaters about their relationship with injury and risk. She also questions the notion of the group, something she continues to explore in Boundary Games (2018), in which the migration crisis in Europe takes the form of a choreography for six performers manipulating rectangular objects.  

Created in September in the framework of the Actoral Festival in Marseille, Violences continues this research into forced displacements. In collaboration with the philosopher and dramatist, Camille Louis, Léa Drouet has constructed a minimalist vocabulary where objects  and gestures blend with words to challenge our gaze. She calls for the birth of a new witness.  

No image of a child stranded on a beach in Violences. No trace of a boat or refugee camp. Only sand as the landscape, where cubes and other colourful forms suggest a human presence. Lit by projectors, Léa Drouet seems immense in this deceptively playground-like setting. Dressed entirely in black, like a puppeteer who wants to make us believe in the autonomy of her creatures, the artist manipulates the materials and objects with a slowness and precision that from the outset, take us far away from prevailing representations.  

Moreover, we can’t really talk about “representations” as such: at the crossroads of  installation, narrative and gesture, Violences remains at the threshold of the image. Through  the parallel deployment of corporal expression and speech, which maintain the complex relationships, Léa Drouet invites us to leave behind the passivity into which we are plunged  by the influx of information and to adopt a more active and critical stance. 

Using the gentle tone of a storyteller, sometimes almost a whisper that she sustains throughout the performance, Léa Drouet begins by evoking her personal connection to the phenomenon that interests her. She recounts how, at an age when other children were playing in sandpits, her grandmother was forced to flee the country where she herself “was  born but does not live”. Without being explicitly mentioned, the memory of the Vél d’Hiv Roundup gives the sand an unusual gravity and density. The artist continues with a narrative that does not concern her directly. Nourished by research into a series of social movements – “the 2005 riots, the Adama Committee, yellow jackets, the liberation struggle of the Kurds  being waged in the Rojava” – as she explains in the programme, the actor tells the story of  the murder of little Mawda by a Belgian policeman in 2018 during a car chase. A tragedy that evokes many others.

Bereft of the sensationalism often associated in the media with the reporting of these types of facts she recounts, the words of Léa Drouet are inscribed in a very personal ritual that is understandable to all. By evoking disappearances in complete simplicity, without imposing any reading of events, Violences invites us to become active witnesses to the disasters of  our time.

Thanks to the spaces that clearly separate all its components – gestures and speech, the  word and what is signifies… – this creation succeeds in creating the necessary conditions for  violence to occur while thinking outside the beaten track of a good conscience. By mixing our small, intimate exiles with large collective departures. 

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Charleroi danse

Conception, writing, interpretation: Léa Drouet | Dramaturgy: Camille Louis | Set design: Élodie Dauguet | Original music: Èlg | Assistant director: Laurie Bellanca | Light design: Léonard Cornevin | Lighting control: Suzanna Bauer | Production, distribution: France Morin, Cécile Perrichon – Arts Management Agency | Production: Vaisseau | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Nanterre-Amandiers Centre dramatique national, Charleroi danse, La Coop asbl | With the support of: Actoral – Festival & Bureau d'accompagnement d'artistes, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles Service Interdisciplinaire, Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse, Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles Paris, Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING, Tax-Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, SACD, Institut français | Residencies: Kunstencentrum Buda, Charleroi danse, [e]utopia, La Bellone, Montevideo

13.05

  • 20:00
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 20:00
  • French → NL
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

14.05

  • 19:00
  • French → NL, EN, LSBF sign language
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled

15.05

  • 19:00
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 19:00
  • French → EN
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

16.05

  • 19:00
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 19:00
  • French → EN
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
website by lvh

Léa Drouet Bruxelles

Violences

théâtre

La Raffinerie / Online

| Français → NL, EN | ⧖ 50min

Juin 1942, peu avant la rafle du Vél d’Hiv en France. Mado a 10 ans ; elle franchit la ligne de démarcation entre la zone occupée et la zone libre avec un groupe d’étrangers, sans ses parents. Elle traverse la frontière de nuit, et prend seule un train pour Vichy, avant d’être accueillie par une famille de paysans d’Auvergne pendant plusieurs années. À partir de l’histoire de Mado, sa grand-mère, Léa Drouet nous transporte dans sa nouvelle création, Violences. Dans celle-ci, plutôt que de représenter la violence directe, l’artiste s’attache à montrer les conditions qui la rendent légitime. Seule sur scène, à l’intérieur d’un bac à sable, elle construit et défait des architectures faites de murs, de paysages, de frontières, à travers lesquelles évolue le récit. Avec une dramaturgie de résonances, l’histoire de Mado rebondit dans des événements récents – comme l’histoire de Mawda, une petite fille kurde de 2 ans abattue par un policier belge en 2018 – qui font écho à ce que peut être la violence contemporaine et ses formes de résistance. Si le sable est généralement ce qui absorbe toutes les traces et efface souvent celles de violence, il est ici aussi porteur de promesses de configurations futures, que Léa Drouet, telle une enfant qui joue, expérimente et présente sous nos yeux.

Violences est diffusé en direct du théâtre tous les soirs, rendant l'enquête accessible au-delà des frontières et des possibilités de voyage.

La performance du 14.05 sera doublée en Langue des Signes de Belgique Francophone (LSBF)

read more

Violences, de Léa Drouet : Exil et chuchotements

Dans Violences, Léa Drouet évoque les tragédies de notre époque avec un subtil langage minimaliste.

Pour Léa Drouet, la scène de théâtre est un espace où inventer des langages pour montrer autrement les tragédies contemporaines. C’est un lieu où les sciences humaines prennent voix et corps à grande distance des idées reçues. Dans Mais dans les lieux du péril croît aussi ce qui sauve (2016), par exemple, elle partage sa récolte de paroles de skateurs, qui disent leur rapport à la blessure et au risque. Elle y questionne aussi la notion de groupe, qu’elle continue d’explorer dans Boundary Games (2018), où la crise des flux migratoires en Europe prend la forme d’une chorégraphie pour six interprètes manipulant des objets rectangulaires.
Créé en septembre dans le cadre du festival Actoral à Marseille, Violences poursuit cette recherche sur les déplacements forcés. Avec la collaboration de la philosophe et dramaturge Camille Louis, Léa Drouet y construit un vocabulaire minimaliste où objets et gestes se mêlent aux mots pour déplacer notre regard. Elle appelle à la naissance d’un témoin nouveau.

Pas d’image d’enfant échoué sur la plage dans Violences. Aucune trace de barque ni de campement. Seulement du sable en guise de paysage, où des cubes et autres formes colorées suggèrent une présence humaine. Éclairée par des projecteurs, Léa Drouet semble immense dans ce décor aux allures trompeuses de cour de récré. Tout de noire vêtue, à la manière d’une marionnettiste qui voudraient faire croire à l’autonomie de ses créatures, l’artiste manipule les matières et les objets avec une lenteur et une précision qui nous emmènent d’emblée loin des représentations dominantes.

On ne peut d’ailleurs pas vraiment parler de “représentation” : au croisement de l’installation, du récit et du geste, Violences reste au seuil de l’image. En déployant en parallèle une expression corporelle et une parole qui entretiennent des rapports complexes, Léa Drouet invite à quitter la passivité dans laquelle nous plongent les flux d’informations pour adopter une approche plus active, plus critique.

Avec un doux ton de conteuse, presque un chuchotement qu’elle entretiendra tout au long du spectacle, Léa Drouet commence par évoquer son rapport personnel au phénomène qui l’intéresse. A l’âge où d’autres s’amusent dans des bacs à sable, raconte-t-elle, sa grand-mère a dû fuir le pays « où elle-même est née mais où elle ne vit pas ». Sans qu’elle soit formulée de manière explicite, la rafle du Vél d’Hiv donne au sable une gravité et une densité qui lui sont inhabituelles. L’artiste poursuit avec un récit qui ne la concerne pas directement. Nourrie par des recherches sur un ensemble de mouvement sociaux – « émeutes de 2005, luttes du comité Adama, gilets jaunes, combats de libération du peuple kurde tel qu’il se mène dans le Rojava », explique-t-elle dans le dossier du spectacle –, la comédienne raconte le meurtre de la petite Mawda par un policier belge en 2018 lors d’une course-poursuite. Une tragédie qui en évoque beaucoup d’autres.

Privée du sensationnalisme souvent associé dans les médias au type de fait qu’elle relate, la parole de Léa Drouet s’inscrit dans une forme de rituel très personnel mais compréhensible par tous. En évoquant des disparitions en toute simplicité, sans en imposer une quelconque lecture, Violences nous invite à nous faire les témoins agissants des catastrophes de notre temps.

Grâce aux espaces qui séparent clairement toutes ses composantes – le geste et la parole, le mot et ce qu’il désigne… –, cette création réussit à créer les conditions pour se faire violence en pensant hors des sentiers battus de la bonne conscience. En mêlant nos petits exils intimes aux grands départs collectifs. 

  • Anaïs Hélun, Politis, 8 Octobre 2020 

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Charleroi danse

Conception, écriture, interprétation : Léa Drouet | Dramaturgie : Camille Louis | Scénographie : Élodie Dauguet | Musique originale : Èlg | Assistante à la mise en scène : Laurie Bellanca | Création lumières : Léonard Cornevin | Régie lumières : Suzanna Bauer | Production, diffusion : France Morin, Cécile Perrichon – Arts Management Agency | Production : Vaisseau | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Nanterre-Amandiers Centre dramatique national, Charleroi danse, La Coop asbl | Avec le soutien de : Actoral – Festival & Bureau d'accompagnement d'artistes, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles Service Interdisciplinaire, Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse, Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles Paris, Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING, Tax-Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, SACD, Institut français | Résidences: Kunstencentrum Buda, Charleroi danse, [e]utopia, La Bellone, Montevideo

13.05

  • 20:00
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 20:00
  • Français → NL
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

14.05

  • 19:00
  • Français → NL, EN, LSBF sign language
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled

15.05

  • 19:00
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 19:00
  • Français → EN
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

16.05

  • 19:00
  • La Raffinerie
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 19:00
  • Français → EN
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
website by lvh