Kunstenfestivaldesarts is an international arts festival dedicated to contemporary theatre, performance and dance. It occasionally also opens itself to film and visual arts. It is the live character of these disciplines that brings them all together. The festival explores hybrid and unconventional forms, and always addresses these fundamental questions: what can live on stage mean today? Who is represented? And who’s watching, who’s experiencing this live moment?

Kunstenfestivaldesarts takes place every year in May and lasts three weeks. It shows works in more than twenty different cultural centres as well as in public spaces. The festival is nomadic; collaboration with our many diverse partners is essential and the result of a continuous dialogue. Together, we support artistic projects that are aimed to tackle our perspectives and to be shared with an audience that is curious about new discoveries.

Kunstenfestivaldesarts takes place in Brussels, a complex network of diverse communities. Engaging with the city’s inhabitants, the festival serves as a way to rethink the geography of the capital of Belgium and Europe, increasing the porosity of its territorial, linguistic and cultural divisions. The festival encourages debate and in-depth conversations.

Kunstenfestivaldesarts also hosts a Free School, dedicated to the sharing of artistic practices, knowledge and reflections. This school addresses a crucial question: if we were to invent a school today, what would its curriculum be, and who would it be for? All the school activities are free of charge and aim to accommodate a multiplicity of participants.

The next edition of the festival will take place from 11 May to 3 June 2023.

> Find out more about our previous editions

> Have a look at our pictures and videos

website by lvh

Kunstenfestivaldesarts est un festival international dédié aux arts du spectacle : théâtre, danse, performance. Il s’ouvre aussi au cinéma et aux arts plastiques pour réunir toutes les disciplines traversées par la notion du vivant. Le festival présente des formes hybrides et non conventionnelles et propose une remise en question constante : que signifie aujourd’hui créer du live sur scène ? Qui est représenté·e ? Et qui regarde ou fait l’expérience de ce moment ?

Kunstenfestivaldesarts se déroule chaque année à Bruxelles, pendant trois semaines au mois de mai. Le festival présente des projets dans plus de vingt lieux culturels ainsi que dans l’espace public. Le festival est nomade : la collaboration avec ses multiples partenaires est essentielle et se fonde sur un dialogue continu. Ensemble, nous soutenons des projets artistiques qui ont l’ambition d’élargir notre champ de perspective et d’être partagés avec un public curieux de nouvelles découvertes.

Kunstenfestivaldesarts est résolument urbain : il s’ancre dans un réseau de communautés complexe et diversifié. En s’impliquant auprès des habitant·es de la ville, le festival invite à repenser la géographie de la capitale belge et européenne ainsi qu’à renforcer les liens entre les territoires, langues et cultures. Il encourage le débat et les discussions de fond.

Kunstenfestivaldesarts accueille également une Free School : une école ouverte, dédiée au partage de connaissances, réflexions et pratiques artistiques. L’école se penche sur une question fondamentale : si une école était à inventer aujourd’hui, quel devrait être son programme et à qui s’adresserait-elle ? Toutes les activités de la Free School sont gratuites et ont pour objectif de s’ouvrir à une pluralité de participant·es.

La prochaine édition du festival aura lieu du 11 mai au 3 juin 2023.

> En savoir plus sur les éditions précédentes

> Découvrez nos photos et vidéos

website by lvh