The Living and The Dead Ensemble Port-au-Prince

The Wake

theatre / performance / installation — premiere

Zinnema / Online

| French, Haitian, Creole → NL, EN | ⧖ 1h

The Wake is a performance reflecting a fragmented geography, a broken mirror of the complexity of the world. It is made of intimate stories and fables, songs and cries of revolt, demands and delirium. It is an assembly trying to make itself heard: is there a possible future beyond the repetition of catastrophes of all kinds? Is there a common fire to be shared with those who have lost their voice or never had it? The Living and The Dead Ensemble is a group of artists, performers and poets from Haiti, France and the UK. While writing this uncertain journey through space and time, they also read fragments of the play Melovivi or Le Piège (“The Trap”) of the Haitian writer Frankétienne, a work anticipating the earthquake that would devastate Haiti ten years ago. By referencing this work, The Wake becomes today a space that anticipates a new future. The Wake is also presented online, in a video of the performance that combines physical presence and fragments of scenes shot in Clichy-Montfermeil and Haiti.

read more

Polyphony for The Wake

The Living and the Dead Ensemble

Impossible, we believed, to avoid the beginning. Just like when joining an ongoing discussion or taking a front-row seat in the middle of a film, we are disoriented. Accordingly, The Wake takes the norm by the tail. A first success. We wait for the thread to unravel. First access, a colour. A first voice as a point of reference, and little by little others approach, coming to mingle with the first thread. And oh! There’s already a rope. Not the memory of the journey, but nonetheless an awareness of the present moment. Good news, we are not lost. And then we hear a voice, and other familiar voices in the mouths of others. Other bodies that feel the same jolts and that bear the same traces as ours. We meet, the map takes shape. Yet it is difficult to anticipate the next steps. We move forward confidently, despite everything. Our mouths painted with poetry. We can already see a glimmer of hope, the fire in the distance, towards which we are gradually moving, the tremors of the world on our tired shoulders. Whoever wants to, throws their burden into the flames. This is the ritual. Turning our lament into smoke, and letting it evaporate to the high places. Some voices still hesitate, awaiting the act and the green light of effectiveness. Then in the full light of day they will approach, oppressive gazes flushed away. Finally the gesture. And the flame grows. The Wake is an invitation to a gathering worthy of our torments. A magnet for our cries. The bitter taste of opposing winds.

 

Within the most morbid constraint,
The Wake opens on realities situated in the register of the unthinkable
You laid bare assassinations that some take pleasure in covering up
Oh The Wake!
An awakening to the state’s lethargic sleep
Faced with turpitudes, you claim your right everywhere and Elsewhere
From earthquake to emotion
The fire stirs up your stance
Oh The Wake!
Accused of cock and ass, because your subjects remain unshakable
Oh The Wake!
I love when you turn back, when slavery and neo-colonialism go hand in hand
At the edge of the cliff of desecration, you invoke the sacred
Oh The Wake!
You do not cease to evoke in equal part the value of the human being stuck in a world without equality,
The work of memory for forgotten acts…

 

Unarmed, The Wake uses the verb to combat the void. In an oppressive darkness, the unpleasant phrases of our reality are born, sculpted by unbridled and sometimes discordant notes, which try to conjugate the world in its modes and times. Intertwined spellings, chants, sighs, cries… determine our words, overflowing with anger and indignation. From one voice to another, the harmony of appalling facts borrows the alphabet of injustice. We exteriorise the jitters of our daily life. For some, it’s the fear of not being able to escape a deteriorating situation that profits oppressors. A dance, gestures that tell a story, drumbeats rhythmic under our feet, directed by the conductor who is our pain. It is a demonstration, a festivity of revolutionary beauty. The Wake, like an incantation, chases away the spirits who would have us believe that everything is acceptable under the empire of inequality and the masked reign of dictatorship.

 

The Wake, a ‘tchaka’ or even a ‘djak’, as it is called in my homeland of Haiti; a simmering stew containing whatever the mouth can eat. In Voodoo, we speak of ‘Manje Ginen’, the food of our ancestors.

And voilà, The Wake, in the image of The Living And The Dead Ensemble; “Ti rat pa konn fèt san ke”, “like father, like son”. The Ensemble weaves together the fragments of our ten experiences, Europe (France, England), and the illegitimate father of the fruits of slavery (Caribbean, Haiti).

The Wake, a whole, a mixture, a multifaceted brew (poetry, rap, slam, story, song, theatre) plays with the body and the voice, which are the only channels within our reach to convey the different kinds of claims made by an oppressed people. Oppressed, but proud, inventive and combative. The people of the future.

The Wake is sourced from our encounter in July 2019 with Clichy-Montfermeil, a city on the outskirts of Paris, destined to take shape in January 2020 in Port-au-Prince.

 

Port-au-Prince, 12th January 2020. That evening, we ended up cancelling our performance of The Wake at Lakou Tokèt – but what did it mean, for the eight Haitian members of the Ensemble, to return to personal stories from exactly ten years ago to that day? What would it mean, later, to position these stories in relation to another story from another time; Mélovivi ou Le Piège by Frankétienne? His play, written two months before the goudougoudou (earthquake) devastated Haiti, features two characters; A & B, “… besieged by debris and corpses”, and seemed to predict the chaos that would befall Port-au-Prince on 12th January 2010. In the repetition of Mélovivi by the Ensemble, incorporated into The Wake as fragments, with the characters A & B fractured into eight bodies that protest against the chaos of the present, can we find a kind of return that moves forwards in space and time? Could this gesture perform “a prophetic vision of the past” which, through infinite rehearsal, creates a detour in the shape of a spiral?

 

The Wake is a work that makes all interventions possible. “Off topic, out of context, it doesn't exist,” as Franketienne said during a conference at the Port-au-Prince Centre for the Arts. The Wake is an aesthetic proposition that shies away from classical forms. We live in chaos, everything is intertwined. It is also a work in dialogue with Mélovivi ou Le Piège. It adapts itself to the current deleterious situation of the world. Everywhere people are protesting against those in high places who abuse their positions. The Wake puts our anguish, our pain into the chapter. For it is the machine of the industrialised world that directs us with its discourse. Globalisation does not unite us, it creates borders of preference. With The Wake, we deconstruct in order to better recreate our own world, overhauled, egalitarian.

 

The Wake … The vigil …
Yon bagay ki makonnen nou … A space that binds us, that brings us together …
Yon espas ki makonnen isit lan ak tout kote alawonnbadè …
A space that brings together the here and the elsewhere …
The Wake … The vigil …
Sa vle di nou makonnen kit or isit kit or lòtbò dlo …
Meaning that we are together no matter where you are, here or elsewhere …
Paske nou sanble … Paske n ap viv menm katchaboumbe a …
Because we look alike … Because we live in the same chaos …
Paske nan zòrèy nou se menm rél la, rél latè k ap depafini …
Because we hear the same rumbling, that of the crumbling earth …
In the beginning was chaos
Now chaos reigns
On this island where we speak to you
In the midst of this chaos …
There is poetry …
There is a poet who inspires
This poet who relates the madness of this island, the madness of this ground that is slipping away …
In the midst of this chaos
There are poets
There is us
There is our story
This story that we would like to tell you
And you?
What is your story?

 

The Wake is a journey towards understanding, towards sensitivity. It is a space caught between a past, a present and a future, entangled in a spiral carried both towards the real and the imaginary. It is a means of denunciation, an opportunity to say no to the disguised dictatorship, to say no to a neocolonialism sprinkled with airs of technology which only reinforce pre-established borders. It is a space of sharing, the sharing of sorrows and struggles. It is a battle towards an inclusive world. It is a story of women and men told and retold with and by them. It is an intercultural meeting where differences complete us. It is, for us, an opportunity to say what we are, who we are, without half measures, and without pretence…

 

The Wake takes the form of a new era. By working on experiences, daily life and the future, it is everyone’s story that’s being told. It is a collective battle, one voice that attempts to take the place of another, things said and things unsaid, the cacophonous songs, the bodies that blend together in all their definitions. Visibly. The news of what is happening in Haiti, as in Clichy-Montfermeil, constitutes the heart of The Wake. Social and racial inequalities, police abuse, injustice. Where did PetroCaribe’s money go? “A question that is timidly extinguished.” Neglected youth during a time when the world is becoming chaos, where rage manifests itself. A struggle that requires resistance, sharing, interaction with one another, communication, understanding, and, above all, attention.
The planet catches fire...

 

The Wake is an infinite piece, unfinished, never finished and always pretending to end for the better, to expand differently, elsewhere, into a new secret. Here, it is the word that creates the place, a habitable but precarious place that welcomes the fire of the world, a place that moves. Speak up to demand justice, at the risk of being dispossessed yet again of the last thing you have: a breath, a voice. And so speaking in this context is also a ruse and a protection, a way of speaking in order not to speak, of de-speaking. Thus the paradox of The Wake is that, like a riot – it cannot quite be a theatrical performance, only a lived moment. And it is for this reason that everything is endlessly escaping into the shadows at the back of the scene, in a blending of languages, characters and memories, of literature and slogans, into a joyful cacophony that is also a way of being in the world.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Zinnema

Directors: Louis Henderson, Olivier Marboeuf | Performers: Rossi Jacques Casimir, Dieuvela Cherestal, Sophonie Maignan, Cynthia Maignan, James Desiris, James Peter Etienne, Mackenson Bijou, Leonard Jean Baptiste, Olivier Marboeuf, Louis Henderson | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spectre Productions, Le théâtre de l’Usine, Les Ateliers Médicis, Z33, Savvy Contemporary

→ see also: Stream of Thoughts

20.05

  • 20:30
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled

21.05

  • 20:30
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

22.05

  • 18:00
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

23.05

  • 15:00
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
website by lvh

The Living and The Dead Ensemble Port-au-Prince

The Wake

théâtre / performance / installation — premiere

Zinnema / Online

| Français, Haïtien, Créole → NL, EN | ⧖ 1h

The Wake est une pièce qui retisse une géographie éclatée, tel le miroir cassé d’un monde chaotique. Récits intimes et fables, cris de révolte et chants, revendications et délires, une assemblée essaie de se faire entendre. Y-a-t-il un futur possible au-delà de la répétition des catastrophes en tout genre ? Y-a-t-il un feu commun à partager avec ceux et celles qui ont perdu la parole ou ne l’ont jamais eu ? Lors de l’écriture de ce voyage incertain dans l’espace et le temps, les auteurs et autrices de The Living and The Dead Ensemble, un groupe d’artistes, d’interprètes et de poètes d’Haïti, de France et du Royaume-Uni, se sont également saisis de fragments de la pièce Melovivi ou le piège de l’écrivain haïtien Frankétienne. Par la relecture et l’actualisation d’une œuvre anticipant le tremblement de terre qui allait ravager Haïti, il y a dix ans, ielles faisaient de la veillée un espace visionnaire. The Wake est également présentée en ligne, dans une vidéo de la performance qui associe présence physique et fragments de scènes tournées à Clichy-Montfermeil et en Haïti.

read more

Polyphonie pour The Wake

The Living and the Dead Ensemble

Impossible, croit-on, d’éviter le commencement. Tout comme lorsque l’on rejoint une discussion en cours, que l’on prend place devant l’écran au beau milieu d’un film, nous voilà désorienté·es. Ainsi The Wake prend la norme par la queue. Une première réussite. On attend que le fil se déploie. Premier accès, une couleur. Une première voix comme point de repère, et petit à petit s’en approchent d’autres qui viennent se mêler au premier fil. Et là, déjà une corde. Pas le souvenir du trajet, mais quand-même la conscience de l’instant présent. Bonne nouvelle, on n’est pas perdu. Et puis, on entend sa voix, et d’autres voix familières dans les bouches des autres. D’autres corps qui ressentent les mêmes secousses et qui portent les mêmes traces que les nôtres. On s’y retrouve, la carte se dessine. Difficile pourtant d’anticiper les pas prochains. On avance confiants malgré tout. La bouche fardée de poésies. On voit déjà une lueur d’espoir, le feu au loin, vers lequel on chemine progressivement, les tremblements du monde sur nos épaules fatigués. Qui veut jette son fardeau dans les flammes. Voilà le rituel. Transformer notre complainte en fumée, et qu’elle s’évapore vers les hauts lieux. Certaines voix hésitent encore, attendent l’acte et le feu vert de l’efficacité. Alors elles s’approcheront au grand jour, lavées des regards oppressants. Enfin le geste. Et la flamme grandit. The Wake est une invitation à un rassemblement digne de nos tourments. Un aimant pour nos cris. Le goût amer des vents contraires. 

 

Dans la contrainte la plus morbide, 
The Wake ouvre sur des réalités casées dans le registre de l'impensable
T'as mis à nu les assassinats que certains se complaisent à voiler
Oh The Wake !
Un éveil au sommeil léthargique de l'État
Face aux turpitudes, tu clames ton droit partout et Ailleurs
Du tremblement de terre aux émois
Le feu attise ta position
Oh The Wake !
Accusé de coq à l'âne, parce que tes sujets restent inébranlables
Oh The Wake !
J'aime quand tu rebrousses chemin, lorsque l'esclavage et le néo-colonialisme marchent de pairs
Au bord de la falaise de la profanation, tu invoques le sacré
Oh The Wake !
Tu ne cesses pas d'évoquer à part égale la valeur de l'humain coincé dans un monde sans égalité,
travail de mémoire pour des actes laissés aux oubliettes…

 

A défaut d'être armée, The Wake utilise le verbe pour combattre le vide. Dans un noir accablant, naissent les phrases déplaisantes de notre réalité, sculptées par des notes déchaînées, parfois discordantes, qui essaient de conjuguer le monde dans ses modes et dans ses temps. Des orthographes entremêlées, des chants, des soupirs, des cris fixent nos dires débordant de colère et d’indignation. D’une voix à une autre, l’harmonie de faits révoltants emprunte l’alphabet de l’injustice. On extériorise le trac de notre quotidien. Pour certain·es, c’est la peur de ne pouvoir s’échapper d’une situation qui se dégrade aux profits des oppresseurs. Une danse, des gestes qui racontent une histoire, les toques d’un tambour rythmés sous nos pieds et dirigés par la cheffe d’orchestre qu’est notre douleur. C’est une manifestation, une festivité d’une beauté révolutionnaire. The Wake, comme une incantation, chasse les esprits qui voudraient nous faire croire que tout est acceptable sous l'empire de l'inégalité et le règne masqué de la dictature.

 

The Wake, un « tchaka » ou encore un « djak » comme appelé chez moi en Haïti ; mélange de tout ce que la bouche peut manger dans une chaudière. Dans le Vodou, on parle de « Manje Ginen », la nourriture de nos Ancêtres. Voilà, The Wake, à l’image de The Living And The Dead Ensemble ; « Ti rat pa konn fèt san ke », « tel père, tel fils ». L’Ensemble se tisse des fragments de nos dix vécus, l’Europe (France, Angleterre), le père illégitime des fruits de l’esclavage (Caraïbes, Haïti). The Wake, un tout, un mixage, un brassage multiforme (poésie, rap, slam, récit, chant, théâtre) joue avec le corps et la voix, qui sont les seuls canaux à notre portée pour véhiculer les différentes formes de revendications d’un peuple opprimé. Opprimé, mais fier, inventif et combatif. Le peuple de l’avenir. The Wake prend sa source à partir de notre rencontre avec Clichy-Montfermeil, une ville de la banlieue de Paris, en juillet 2019, puis trouvera sa forme en janvier 2020 à Port-au-Prince.


Port-au-Prince, 12 janvier 2020. Ce soir-là, nous avons annulé la représentation de The Wake au Lakou Tokèt – mais qu’est-ce que cela signifiait, pour les huit membres haïtiens de l’Ensemble, de revenir à des histoires personnelles d’il y a exactement dix ans ? Qu’est-ce que cela veut dire, plus tard, de placer ces histoires en relation à une autre ; Mélovivi ou le piège de Frankétienne ? Sa pièce, écrite deux mois avant le goudougoudou (tremblement de terre), met en scène deux personnages A & B, « …assiégés par des débris et des cadavres », et semblait prédire alors le chaos qui allait s’abatte sur Port-au-Prince le 12 janvier 2010. Dans la répétition de cette œuvre par l’Ensemble, incorporée en fragments, avec les personnages A & B fracturés en huit corps qui protestent contre le chaos du présent, peut-on trouver une sorte de retour qui avance dans l’espace et le temps, une vision prophétique du passé au travers d’une infinie répétition, un détour dans la forme de la spirale. 


The Wake est une œuvre qui rend possibles toutes interventions. « Hors sujet, hors contexte, ça n'existe pas », comme disait Franketienne lors d’une conférence au Centre d'art de Port-au-Prince. The Wake est une proposition esthétique qui s’enfuit des formes classiques. Nous vivons dans un chaos, tout s'entremêle. C'est aussi une œuvre qui dialogue avec Melovivi ou le piège. Elle adapte et s’adapte à la mauvaise situation actuelle du monde. Un peu partout, on manifeste contre les hauts placés qui ne sont pas à leur place. The Wake met notre angoisse, notre peine au chapitre. Car c’est la machine du monde industrialisé qui nous dirige de son discours. La mondialisation ne nous unit pas, elle crée des frontières de préférence. Avec The Wake, nous déconstruisons pour mieux recréer notre propre monde, remis à plat, égalitaire. 

 

The Wake… La veillée… 
Yon bagay ki makonnen nou… Un espace qui nous lie, qui nous rassemble…
Yon espas ki makonnen isit lan ak tout kote alawonnbadè…
Un espace qui rassemble l’ici et l’ailleurs…
The Wake… La veillée…
Sa vle di nou makonnen kit ou isit kit ou lòtbò dlo…
Cela veut dire qu’on est ensemble peu importe où tu te trouves, ici ou ailleurs…
Paske nou sanble… Paske n ap viv menm katchaboumbe a…
Parce qu’on se ressemble… Parce qu’on vit le même chaos…
Paske nan zòrèy nou se menm rèl la, rèl latè k ap depafini…
Parce qu’on entend la même rumeur, celle de la terre qui s’effrite…
Au commencement était le chaos
À présent, le chaos règne
Dans cette île d’où l’on vous parle
Au milieu de ce chaos…
Il y a la poésie…
Il y a un poète qui inspire
Ce poète qui relate la folie de cette île, la folie de cette terre qui se dérobe…
Au milieu de ce chaos
Il y a des poètes
Il y a nous
Il y a notre histoire
Cette histoire qu’on voudrait vous raconter
Et vous ? 
C’est quoi votre histoire ?

 

The Wake est un cheminement vers la compréhension, vers la sensibilité. C'est un espace pris entre un passé, un présent et un futur emmêlés dans une spirale portée à la fois vers le réel et l'imaginaire. C'est un moyen de dénonciation, une occasion de dire non à la dictature déguisée, de dire non à un néocolonialisme saupoudré avec des airs de technologies qui ne font que renforcer des frontières préétablies. C'est un espace de partage, partage de peines et de luttes. C'est un combat vers un monde inclusif. C'est une histoire de femmes et d'hommes racontée et contée avec et par ielles. C'est une rencontre interculturelle où la différence nous complète. C'est pour nous une occasion de dire ce que nous sommes, qui nous sommes sans demi-mesure, ni sans faux-semblants… 


The Wake prend la forme d’une nouvelle ère. En travaillant sur le vécu, le quotidien et l’avenir, c’est l’histoire de tout à chacun qui est entrain de se raconter. C’est un combat collectif, une voix qui tente de prendre la place de l’autre, des dires et des non dires, des chants en cacophonie, des corps qui se mélangent dans toutes leurs définitions. Visiblement. L’actualité de ce qui se passe en Haïti, comme à Clichy-Montfermeil forme le cœur de The Wake. Les inégalités sociales, raciales, les abus de la police, l’injustice. Où est passé l’argent de Petro Caribe ? « A question that is timidly extinguished ». Une jeunesse délaissée dans une époque où le monde devient chaos, où la rage se manifeste. Une lutte qui demande de la résistance, du partage, de l’interaction de l’une à l’autre, de la communication, de la compréhension et surtout de l’attention. 
La planète prend feu… 


The Wake est une pièce infinie, pas finie, jamais finie et toujours en train de faire semblant de finir pour mieux s’étendre autrement, ailleurs, dans un nouveau secret. Ici c’est la parole qui fait le lieu, un lieu habitable mais précaire qui accueille le feu du monde, un lieu qui bouge. Prendre la parole pour demander justice, au risque d’être encore dépossédé·e de la dernière chose que l’on a : un souffle, une voix. Alors parler ici est aussi une ruse et une protection, une manière de parler pour ne pas parler, de déparler. Paradoxe donc de The Wake, la veillée, comme l’émeute, ne saurait tout à fait être un spectacle, mais un moment vécu. Et c’est pour cela que tout s’y enfuit sans cesse, dans l’ombre du fond de la scène, dans le mélange des langues, des personnages et des souvenirs, de la littérature et du slogan, dans une cacophonie joyeuses qui est aussi une manière d’être au monde. 

 

  • Avec par ordre d’apparition : Léo Jean-Baptiste, Zakh Turin, Dieuvela Chéréstal, James Désiris, Louis Henderson, Mackenson Bijou, Sophonie Maignan, Cynthia Maignan, Rossi Jacques Casimir, Olivier Marboeuf

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Zinnema

Réalisation : Louis Henderson, Olivier Marboeuf | Interprètes : Rossi Jacques Casimir, Dieuvela Cherestal, Sophonie Maignan, Cynthia Maignan, James Desiris, James Peter Etienne, Mackenson Bijou, Leonard Jean Baptiste, Olivier Marboeuf, Louis Henderson | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spectre Productions, Le théâtre de l’Usine, Les Ateliers Médicis, Z33, Savvy Contemporary

→ see also: Stream of Thoughts

20.05

  • 20:30
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled

21.05

  • 20:30
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

22.05

  • 18:00
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

23.05

  • 15:00
  • Zinnema
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
website by lvh