Radouan Mriziga Brussels

Tafukt

dance

Decoratelier

| ⧖ 1h | €18 / €15

Tafukt is a dance solo created by Radouan Mriziga, a dancer and choreographer born in Marrakesh and based in Brussels, and the first part in a trilogy focusing on the semantics and mythologies of the Imazighen, the indigenous people of North Africa. Each part is devised for one dancer and centres on female figures who are guardians of the transmission of Amazigh knowledge. The goddess Athena, linking the cultures and histories on either side of the Mediterranean basin, lies at the heart of Tafukt. Lake Tritonis, located in what is now Libya, was Athena’s birthplace before she was adopted by the Greeks on the other side of the Mediterranean. While history books essentially focus on the Greeks, Egyptians and Arabs, the Imazighen are largely ignored and marginalised, despite the fundamental role they played in the region. Can the performance now become a tool of resistance to rethink the current model and imagine a more inclusive future?

read more

Interview with Radouan Mriziga

Following 55, 3600 and 7, Radouan Mriziga is creating a new trilogy based on the knowledge and mythologies of the Amazigh peoples – the first inhabitants of North Africa.

Why have you chosen the trilogy format again? Did you also draw on the knowledge of the Amazigh in your previous trilogy?
A trilogy allows me to work on an issue for a longer period of time. I don’t like jumping from one theme and one creation to another. In general, I like to work in series, depending on the issue. I chose a trilogy because I wanted to base the work on the three goddesses and on the plane-tary system: sun, earth and moon. It is remarkable how connected and vital these are.

The emphasis was not explicitly on the knowledge of the Amazigh, but that was among the various sources I used. Like geometry and rhythm, for example, which are important art forms in Marrakech, North Africa and Andalusia.

What prompted you to create this work?
Through my other creations and research, I’ve retained a curiosity and an interest in the many unnamed and erased parts of general history that subsequently developed power differences in our system of production and reproduction of current knowledge. My practice revolves around three main axes: the creation of imaginary and concrete spaces, music and rhythm, and studies of the Amazigh. Each of these is related to questions of application, meaning, hierarchy, 
relevance and classification of knowledge.

I am interested in the dynamics of the Mediterranean basin. Its interesting geographical position has given rise to numerous exchanges between North Africa, Southern Europe and Western Asia. Our history books focus mainly on the Greeks, Egyptians and Arabs, while the Amazighs, who nevertheless played a fundamental role in this region, are completely ignored and marginalised.

Tafukt is the first of the series. What is your starting point?
It’s an organic process. I start from Amazigh history and society, a matriarchal culture. While researching for 7, about the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World, I became interested in the goddesses Nithe, Tanit and Athena. Lake Triton in Libya is believed to be the birthplace of Nithe, a goddess who later became Tanit, then took the form of Athena. It’s interesting to analyse how their historical connections and knowledge traversed Amazigh territory, Egypt and Greece through myths, thus contributing to the constructs and developments of humankind.

During the 19th century, many stories were rewritten and destroyed. Knowing that racism, colonialism and nationalism have had an immense impact on the construction of contemporary Western perspectives, I am critical of that particular historical canon.

There are very few written sources on Amazigh epistemology, but there’s a significant body of knowledge in the oral culture, craftsmanship, art and imagination. I try to look for connections in the details and in everyday matters that can build a futuristic collective history in the performance. It is therefore not just a question of taking the knowledge and putting it on the stage. I use the lack of documentation and the marginalisation as inspiration to portray an alternative story.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Kaaitheater

Concept, choreography: Radouan Mriziga | Scenography: Radouan Mriziga, Estelle Gautier | Dance, performance: Maïté Jeannolin | Artistic assistant: Sondos Belhassen | Costume design: Lila John | Poems, songs: Nisrine Mbarki, Dorothée Munyaneza, Hindi Zahra, Popytirz | Music: El Hit by Dj VAN, Pain by Krtas Nssa & Awache N-haha | Light design: Estelle Gautier | Dramaturgical support, text editing: Esther Severi | Research support: Hajar Ibnouthen, Esther Severi | Text references: Manifesto for Good Living/Buen Viver by Boaventura de Sousa Santos | Production: A7LA5 | Management, distribution: Something Great | Co-production: Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Moussem Nomadisch Kunstencentrum, PACT Zollverein, Alkantara, deSingel, Parallèle / L’Officina and Kanuti Gildi SAAL/SAAL Biennaal festival within the frame of MORE THAN THIS – Creative Europe | With the support of De Vlaamse Overheid | Thanks to Kunstencentrum BUDA        

15.05

16.05

17.05

website by lvh

Radouan Mriziga Bruxelles

Tafukt

danse

Decoratelier

| ⧖ 1h | €18 / €15

Tafukt est un solo de danse créé par Radouan Mriziga, danseur et chorégraphe né à Marrakech et basé à Bruxelles, et le premier volet d’une trilogie qui se focalise sur la sémantique et les mythologies des Imazighen, les populations indigènes de l’Afrique du Nord. Chaque volet de la trilogie est conçu pour une danseuse et s’articule autour de figures féminines dépositaires de la transmission du savoir amazigh. La déesse Athéna reliant les cultures et histoires de part et d’autre du bassin méditerranéen est au cœur de Tafukt. Le lac Triton, situé dans la Libye actuelle serait son lieu de naissance avant que les Grecs ne l’adoptent de l’autre côté de la Méditerranée. Si les livres d’histoire se focalisent essentiellement sur les Grecs, les Égyptiens et les Arabes, les Imazighen sont en revanche largement ignorés et marginalisés malgré leur rôle fondamental joué dans la région. La performance peut-elle dès lors se muer en outil de résistance pour repenser le canon actuel et imaginer un avenir plus inclusif ? 

read more

Interview de Radouan Mriziga

Après 55, 3600 et 7, Radouan Mriziga crée une nouvelle trilogie basée sur le savoir et les mythologies du peuple Amazigh – les premiers habitants de l’Afrique du Nord.

Pourquoi avoir choisi à nouveau le format d’une trilogie ? Avez-vous également puisé dans les connaissances amazighes dans votre précédente trilogie ?
Une trilogie me permet de travailler sur une question pendant une période plus longue. Je n’aime pas sauter d’une thématique et d’une création à l’autre. En général, j’aime travailler en série, en fonction de la question étudiée. J’ai choisi une trilogie car je voulais travailler autour de trois déesses et du système planétaire : le soleil, la terre et la lune. Il est remarquable de constater à quel point ils sont liés et vitaux. L’accent n’a pas été mis explicitement sur le savoir amazigh, mais il faisait partie des sources que j’ai utilisées. Comme la géométrie et le rythme par exemple, qui sont des formes d’art importantes à Marrakech, en Afrique du Nord et en Andalousie.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a décidé à réaliser ce travail ?
À travers mes autres créations et recherches, j’ai conservé une curiosité et un intérêt pour les nombreux aspects non nommés et effacés de l’histoire générale, qui ont ensuite développé des différences de pouvoir dans notre système actuel de production et de reproduction des connaissances. Ma pratique s’articule autour de trois axes principaux : la création d’espaces imaginaires et concrets, la musique et le rythme, et les études amazighes. Chacun d’entre eux est lié aux questions d’application, de signification, de hiérarchie, de pertinence et de classification des connaissances.

Je m’intéresse aux dynamiques du bassin méditerranéen. Sa position géographique intéressante a donné lieu à de nombreux échanges entre l’Afrique du Nord, l’Europe du Sud et l’Asie occidentale. Nos livres d’histoire se concentrent principalement sur les Grecs, les Égyptiens et les Arabes, alors que les Amazighs, qui ont pourtant joué un rôle fondamental dans cette région, sont complètement ignorés et marginalisés.

Tafukt est la première partie de la série. Quel a été votre point de départ ?
Je pars organiquement de l’histoire et de la société amazighes, une culture matriarcale. Au cours de mes recherches pour 7 sur les sept anciennes merveilles du monde, je me suis intéressé aux déesses Nithe, Tanit et Athéna. Le lac Triton, en Libye, serait le lieu de naissance de Nithe, une déesse qui devint ensuite Tanit, puis prit la forme d’Athéna. Il est intéressant d’analyser comment leurs liens historiques et leur connaissance ont traversé le territoire amazigh, l’Égypte et la Grèce par le biais des mythes, et ont contribué aux constructions et aux développements de l’humanité.

Au cours du XIXe siècle, de nombreuses histoires ont été réécrites et détruites. Sachant que le racisme, le colonialisme et le nationalisme ont eu un impact immense sur la construction des perspectives occidentales contemporaines, je suis critique vis-à-vis de ce canon historique bien défini.

Il existe très peu de sources écrites sur l’épistémologie amazighe mais il existe un corpus de connaissance important dans la culture orale, l’artisanat, l’art et l’imagination. J’essaie de chercher des connexions dans les détails et dans les questions quotidiennes qui peuvent construire une histoire collective futuriste. Il ne s’agit donc pas seulement d’utiliser des connaissances et de les mettre en scène. J’utilise l’absence de documentation et la marginalisation comme une situation inspirante pour dépeindre une histoire alternative.

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Kaaitheater


Concept,  chorégraphie : Radouan Mriziga | Scénographie : Radouan Mriziga, Estelle Gautier | Danse, performance : Maïté Jeannolin | Assistant artistique : Sondos Belhassen | Costumes : Lila John | Poèmes et chansons : Nisrine Mbarki, Dorothée Munyaneza, Hindi Zahra, Popytirz | Musique : El Hit by Dj VAN, Pain by Krtas Nssa, Awache N-haha | Lumières : Estelle Gautier | Soutien dramaturgique, travail des textes : Esther Severi | Soutien à la recherche : Hajar Ibnouthen, Esther Severi | Production : A7LA5 | Coproduction : Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Moussem Nomadisch Kunstencentrum, PACT Zollverein, Alkantara, deSingel, Parallèle / L’Officina and Kanuti Gildi SAAL/SAAL Biennaal festival dans le cadre de MORE THAN THIS – Creative Europe | Avec le soutien de la Vlaamse Overheid | Remerciements : Kunstencentrum BUDA        

15.05

  • 20:30
  • danse

16.05

  • 20:30
  • danse

17.05

  • 20:30
  • danse

20.05

  • 20:30
  • danse
website by lvh