Adeline Rosenstein Brussels

Transmission poison

theatre / radio — premiere

Les Halles de Schaerbeek / Radio Campus / Radio Panik

| French → NL, EN | ⧖ 50min

Radio was one of the first means of communication able to combine immediacy and distance; for many, it has been an important companion during these months of isolation. Adeline Rosenstein’s artistic practice stems from long periods of investigation, hours of conversation that she then translates into text and theatrical endeavours for actors and for herself. Based in Brussels, she has presented her work internationally in recent years, with pieces including Décris-Ravage, on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and Laboratoire Poison, on the theme of treason in resistance struggles. In the new format conceived especially for the festival, she is alone on stage for the first time. Seated at a table in front of the audience, she retraces an investigation into three contexts and generations of militancy, alternating her own voice with recordings of original dialogues. The theatre becomes a radio station from which sound is broadcast live for three days and three different episodes. Hence, the project delivers a double experience: on the one hand, it’s a piece of theatre for spectators; on the other, a radio show for listeners at home. Radio is not a voice detached from the body but a voice becoming a body and travelling in multiple forms. Inside the Halles de Schaerbeek, we can witness the magic together with those listening remotely. 

 Listen again to the 3 episodes on Radio Panik

read more

Transmission poison is a series of three radio broadcasts devoted to three women from three different generations, who participated in some of the most progressive movements of their time, in very different political contexts: one of the women was born in Cape Verde, another in ex-East Germany of a Guinean father and a German mother, and the third in France of a Russian father and a French mother.
 
They have nothing in common except perhaps a struggle against the world of the ‘White Man’ waged at various times in their leftist life, culture and movement. They could have been from the same family of exiles of the unfulfilled promises of three liberations: daughter of the people’s rights, struggling against the Portuguese Colonial Empire; daughter of the denazification of Europe, struggling against leftist racism; daughter of the fall of the Wall, struggling against neoliberalism, colonialism, and leftist racism.
 
These are women who do not write, or at least not yet
At least they didn’t think it was up to them to write while we were recording the interview
Nevertheless, they possess useful knowledge
as to world changes
as to metamorphoses intimate and no less decisive,
that they presuppose.
 
We wanted to invite these women in struggle
to create a sound archive
with a view to transmitting combative experiences.
A place to talk for a whole day, to be silent, without questions.
These three broadcasts comprise a sequence of excerpts from those recordings.
 
Amilcar Cabral, a Cape Verdean and Bissau-Guinean revolutionary, was assassinated by Portugal and by betrayal; that is to say, by some agents of the Portuguese Political Police. In a famous speech, he stated: “The bourgeoisie must commit suicide as a class, to be reborn as a worker.” There have been many comments about this sentence, this suicide that does not lead to death. I try to understand it not as a collective suicide but as an individual act, a dynamic of interiority that involves a change of lexicon or clothing and other, more intimate things …
 
The choice of words makes it possible to observe these historical layers, for example the ‘internal civil war’ experienced by these young women, who, to free themselves, also claim ‘a violence to oneself’.
 
Breaking away from certain people and their words – this is also called writing history.
However, these women, having multiplied the ruptures and the transformations, are not heroic, at least they don’t deem that the word heroism could define their acts, not at all.
 
You probably know at least one young woman who shuts the door, opens the window, jumps, falls, and runs away. It doesn't hurt her because she lands on a part of her that wants to die anyway.
 
She will join the others in the dance of anguish, from here to a more coherent life – there is violence in it.
 
How else to abandon the codes and practices developed in submission?
How to leave the people and their words of love, how to cut out the pieces of the self that shout at them in their language? These bits of self, past not dead, they stuff them into a bag, throw it out the window in front of them and land on it; it cushions the fall – it admits courage.
 
A bag of oneself to throw away. The trash self.
 
A young woman frees herself, hurts herself, probably. This bag thrown in front of her, this past lugged around, crushed, not dead, and which admits courage, perhaps waits to be defined with more dignity.
 
But the words that aptly denote dignity, as it were, often come only after victory. Before that, it’s too confusing. The will to move precedes words – as always when something is poorly defined, there is violence in it.
 
After the defeats, it’s often the traitors who write the best: “We could not do anything. Nothing. We tried to kill ourselves but we no longer had the strength. We are ashamed. We are human”, to paraphrase certain utterances by former resistance fighters who flinched, betrayed, regretted.
 
Contrary to the fallacious equation: “humanity = cowardice”, and contrary to the sharing of poisonous demoralisation, the stories of these women give us strength. Transmission poison – transformation.

  • Adeline Rosenstein

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Les Halles de Schaerbeek 

Transmission Poison by Adeline Rosenstein | Realisation: Adeline Rosenstein, David Stampfli, Hanna El Fakir | Assistant & Voice-over : Marie Devroux | With: Lilica Boal, Jeanne Maddy, Anna Raisson | Editing, mixing: David Stampfli, Hanna El Fakir | Research & collaboration : Jean-Michel Chaumont, Crisanto Barros, Saphia Arezki, Anouschka Trocker | Translations: Zoé Craeye & Diogo Queiroga (Portuguese), Muriel Weiss (German) | Production: Maison Ravage | Commissioned by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in coproduction with Les Halles de Schaerbeek | Remerciements: T2G Théâtre de Gennevilliers - Centre Dramatique National

 

28.05

  • 17:45
  • French → NL, EN
  • Les Halles de Schaerbeek
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 18:00
  • Episode 1 – Lilica Boal
  • French
  • Radio Campus

29.05

  • 18:45
  • French → NL, EN
  • Les Halles de Schaerbeek
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 19:00
  • Episode 2 – Jeanne Madi Koepp & Anouschka Trocker
  • French
  • Radio Panik

30.05

  • 20:15
  • French → NL, EN
  • Les Halles de Schaerbeek
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Episode 3 – Anna Raisson
  • French
  • Radio Campus
website by lvh

Adeline Rosenstein Bruxelles

Transmission poison

théâtre / radio — premiere

Les Halles de Schaerbeek / Radio Campus / Radio Panik

| Français → NL, EN | ⧖ 50min

La radio a été l’un des premiers moyens de communication capable de combiner immédiateté et distance. Pour beaucoup d’entre nous, elle a été une compagne essentielle durant ces mois d’isolement. La pratique artistique d’Adeline Rosenstein découle de longues périodes d’investigation, d’heures de conversations qu’elle transpose généralement en texte et en performances théâtrales. Basée à Bruxelles, elle a présenté son travail à l’international avec Décris-Ravage, sur le conflit israélo-palestinien et Laboratoire Poison sur la trahison dans les mouvements de résistance. Dans ce nouveau format conçu pour le festival, l’artiste est pour la première fois seule sur scène. Assise à une table face au public, elle retrace une enquête qui se déroule dans trois contextes différents et au fil de trois générations de militantisme, alternant entre sa propre voix et des enregistrements de dialogues originaux. Le théâtre devient une station de radio qui émet le son en direct. C’est ce qui fait de ce projet une double expérience : d’un côté une performance théâtrale – chaque jour différente – pour les spectateur·rices dans la pièce et de l’autre, une émission radio en direct pour les auditeur·rices à la maison. La radio n’est pas une voix détachée d’un corps mais une voix qui prend corps et se déplace sous différentes formes. Dans les Halles de Schaerbeek, on éprouve sa magie et celle de l’acte d’écouter ensemble.

Réécoutez les 3 épisodes sur Radio Panik

read more

Transmission poison est une série de trois émissions radio consacrées à trois femmes de trois générations différentes, ayant participé aux mouvements parmi les plus progressistes de leur temps, dans des contextes politiques très différents : l’une est née au Cap Vert, l’autre en ex-Allemagne de l’Est d’un père Guinéen et d’une mère allemande, la troisième en France d’un père russe et d’une mère française. 
Elles n’ont rien en commun sauf peut-être une lutte contre le monde de « l’Homme Blanc » menée à différents moments de leur vie de gauche, de culture et de mouvement. Elles auraient pu être de la même famille d’exilées, des promesses non-tenues de 3 libérations. Fille du droit des peuples, en lutte contre l’empire coloniale portugais ; fille de la dénazification de l’Europe en lutte contre le racisme de gauche ; fille de la chute du mur en lutte contre le néolibéralisme, le colonialisme, le racisme de gauche ; 
Ce sont des femmes qui n’écrivent pas ou du moins, pas encore 
Du moins ne jugeaient-elles pas que ce fût à elles d’écrire au moment où nous enregistrions l’entretien
Elles ont pourtant des connaissances utiles 
aux changements du monde
aux métamorphoses intimes et non moins décisives, 
qu’ils présupposent. 
 
Nous voulions inviter ces femmes en lutte 
à fabriquer une archive sonore 
dans une optique de transmission d’expériences combatives.
Un lieu où parler un jour entier, où se taire sans questions. 
Ces trois émissions sont une suite d’extraits de ces enregistrements. 
 
Amilcar Cabral, révolutionnaire Cap-Verdien et Bissau-guinéen, assassiné par le Portugal et la trahison, c’est-à-dire par quelques agents de la police politique portugaise – a dit dans un célèbre discours : « La bourgeoisie doit se suicider en tant que classe, pour renaître travailleuse ». On a beaucoup commenté cette phrase, ce suicide qui n’entraîne pas la mort. J’essaie de l’entendre non pas comme un suicide collectif mais comme un acte individuel, une dynamique de l’intériorité qui passe par le changement lexical ou vestimentaire et d’autres choses plus intimes encore...
Le choix des mots permet d’observer ces strates historiques, par exemple la « guerre civile intérieure » traversée par ces jeunes femmes qui, pour se libérer revendiquent aussi « une violence à soi ». 
 
S’arracher à certaines personnes et à leurs mots – ça s’appelle aussi écrire l’histoire.
Cependant ces femmes ayant multiplié les ruptures et les transformations ne sont pas héroïques, du moins ne jugent-elles que le mot héroïsme pût désigner leurs actes, pas du tout.
 
Vous connaissez sûrement au moins une jeune femme qui ferme la porte, ouvre la fenêtre, saute, tombe et repart en courant. Ça ne lui fait pas mal car elle atterrit sur une partie d’elle qui veut de toute façon mourir.
Elle va en rejoindre d’autres dans la danse du déchirement d'ici, pour une vie plus en cohérence – il y a de la violence dedans.
Comment sinon sortir des codes et des pratiques développées en soumission ? 
Comment quitter les gens et leurs mots d’amour, comment couper les morceaux de soi qui crient après eux dans leur langue ? Ces bouts de soi, passé pas mort, elles les enfoncent dans un sac qu’elles jettent par la fenêtre, devant elles, et atterrissent dessus : il amortit la chute – il permet le courage.
Un sac de soi à jeter. Le soi poubelle.
 
Une jeune femme se libère, se fait mal, probablement. Ce sac jeté devant elle, ce passé trimballé, écrasé, pas mort et qui permet le courage, attend peut-être d’être désigné plus dignement. 
Mais les mots qui désignent avec justesse, c’est-à-dire dignité, n'arrivent souvent qu'après les victoires. Avant, c’est trop confus. La volonté de mouvement précède les mots – comme toujours lorsqu’une chose est mal désignée, il y a de la violence dedans.
Après les défaites, ce sont souvent les traîtres qui écrivent le mieux : « On ne pouvait rien faire. Rien. On a essayé de se suicider mais on n’en avait plus la force. On a honte. On est humain. » pour paraphraser certains trucs d’anciens résistants ayant flanché, trahi, regretté.
 
Contre l’équation fallacieuse : « humanité = lâcheté », contre le partage de la démoralisation-poison, les récits de ces femmes nous redonnent des forces. Transmission poison – transformation.

  • Adeline Rosenstein

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Les Halles de Schaerbeek

Transmission Poison d'Adeline Rosenstein | Réalisation : Adeline Rosenstein, David Stampfli, Hanna El Fakir | Assistante & voix off : Marie Devroux | Avec : Lilica Boal, Jeanne Maddy, Anna Raisson | Montage, mixage : David Stampfli, Hanna El Fakir | Recherche & collaboration : Jean-Michel Chaumont, Crisanto Barros, Saphia Arezki, Anouschka Trocker | Traductions : Zoé Craeye & Diogo Queiroga (portugais), Muriel Weiss (allemand) | Production : Maison Ravage | Commande du Kunstenfestivaldesarts en coproduction avec Les Halles de Schaerbeek | Remerciements : T2G Théâtre de Gennevilliers - Centre Dramatique National

 

28.05

  • 17:45
  • Français → NL, EN
  • Les Halles de Schaerbeek
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 18:00
  • Episode 1 – Lilica Boal
  • Français
  • Radio Campus

29.05

  • 18:45
  • Français → NL, EN
  • Les Halles de Schaerbeek
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 19:00
  • Episode 2 – Jeanne Madi Koepp & Anouschka Trocker
  • Français
  • Radio Panik

30.05

  • 20:15
  • Français → NL, EN
  • Les Halles de Schaerbeek
  • €16 / €13
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Episode 3 – Anna Raisson
  • Français
  • Radio Campus
website by lvh