Korakrit Arunanondchai & Alex Gvojic Bangkok / New York

No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 5

video installation

Les Brigittines

| Thai → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 35min | €10 / €7 | Choose and book your time-slot

In 2018, a youth soccer team became trapped in a cave in Chiang Rai, one of the most mediatised events in Thailand’s recent history. Some of the boys did not yet have Thai nationality, and the country tried to grant it to them in time, to create the narrative of the team as national heroes. In No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 5, Korakrit Arunanondchai and Alex Gvojic interpret this episode through ghost cinema, a tradition of holding screenings without human spectators, and reserved for spirits only. Its origins date back to when American soldiers were stationed in Thailand during the Vietnam War; they would project light onto the trees across the border to confuse the opponents, and the locals would attribute this to ghosts. In his non-linear style of storytelling, Arunanondchai and Gvojic create an incredibly visionary work: an investigation into nationalism, beliefs, and the right of asylum. Presented in the space of the Brigittines chapel, No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 5 becomes a triptych of expanded cinema, resonating with the interior architecture. It is a ghostly journey accompanied by green laser lights, hovering somewhere between transcendence, war operations, and the infrared vision of speleological missions.

read more

Korakrit Arunanondchai No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names

The artist explains the thinking behind his latest film in our series in an interview with curator Andrea Lissoni.

Korakrit Arunanondchai’s Painting with History in a room filled with people with funny names 5 started in 2013. It is part of a series which combines video works, performance and installation to explore the relationship between nature, technology and societal emancipation. In this 5th episode, Arunanondchai collaborates with Alex Gvojic to explore the relationships between humans and other animals in the context of contemporary Thailand, intertwining ritual, fiction, and reality and reflecting about the past and future of the country. He shared some of the thinking with curator Andrea Lissoni. ‘art awareness’     

In many interviews and critical texts about your work, fire seems emerging as a leading element, a recurring element in your videos and paintings. However, I’m fascinated by how water is infiltrating your works as well as spilling from them. There is something about its ephemeral and transformative presence. Everything just spills and drifts from one stage to the other. There is never a proper wall, every division is kind of transpiring. Everything is porous, as if made of membranes. For the 9th Berlin Biennale, you created a site-specific installation on a boat that traveled up and down the Spree River, and to enter the work one had to go down – so when watching the video part of the installation, viewers were not floating by were literally underwater. The experience was that of sneaking and finding refuge under a mangrove.
Definitely. I didn’t think about that. On the top of the boat, there were sculptural works that resembled trees, so the movie room underneath was almost like you were at the roots. I’ve been thinking about ancient tombs or funeral rituals, specifically dating back to the Neanderthals or even great apes. In between monkeys and homo sapiens, there are these long millions of years, and scientists discovered that there was a moment when they started to see beauty and even connect to the sacred in the way that they arranged objects in a ritualized manner. So I am trying to make these moments happen in a very subtle way.

There was a sculpture emerging towards the end of the exhibition space at J1 in Marseille – a gravestone, a reliquary, or a monument. What did it stand for?
In the video, boychild always plays this character, the Naga – a non-human character, body-painted in green Gaia, which is inspired by a mythological serpent in the Buddhist tradition. At the end of the video, like an agent of nature, she comes out and puts my character, which is like an avatar of myself, to rest. It’s all like gesturing towards this other world not so defined – like, ‘I’m exhausted and just transitioning.’ Human beings are always thinking about leaving something behind. A lot of times, that’s why temples and such are built – palaces, monuments, pyramids. So when you move to the next room, it’s like her time has past, she’s already turned into a weird, worshipping tomb for herself. For me, it felt like it capped the show in a way.

In the performance with boychild, you also employed a laser harp, which provided a sense of green verticality (and elevation) to the whole. Can you tell me more about this?
It’s a little bit like a new ritual I’ve been performing. Factually, it’s like a musical instrument. When you touch each laser beam, there’s a sensor linked to a different MIDI controller, which activates sound. One of my main collaborators is music composer Aaron David Ross, who did sound and music for my last few videos. I had finished History in a room filled with people with funny names 4, and I was thinking about a way to extend it into performance. I wanted to create a musical hardware out of something invisible or uncapturable, and sort of make a light sculpture out of it – which in turn, would then become music and a script for boychild to play. I said this to Aaron, and he was like ‘Well, there’s this called a laser harp. You should get it and try it out.’ There’s something amazing about it, it’s this light that you can essentially touch.     

Did you have a script for the performance?
Yes, boychild and I wrote it together. I took out most of the sound of all my videos, and I was doing this reading in Thai while in the other room, boychild was performing a new character, which she calls the ‘bottom feeder,’ picking up leftover pieces of my script. Each character or version of herself that she plays in the video is also added a set of movements. Alex Gvojic, another of my long-time collaborators who usually films the video and controls the environment, was in the same denim costume as us and was videoing her, but very much visible in the performance as a performing videographer. Then, the live video of her was sort of being live feed edited back into the screen that I was reading from. So, it created this loop where I was kind of touching her through my voice that she doesn’t understand, because I was speaking in Thai. When the video finishes, I walked over to the other room and performed the laser harp script with her. There was this kind of déjà vu, or time warp, I really felt. I think the audience felt it, too. In a way, it’s like the boychild green tomb at the end of the exhibition in relationship to seeing her in the video – this kind of weird, fucked up, non-linear time thing that started to happen, where what you saw on the screen, then you would also see in the room, but then you almost saw the future. It’s difficult to explain.

  • This text is an edited version of an interview between Andrea Lissoni and the artist, originally published in KALEIDOSCOPE magazine, issue 33 Fall-Winter 2018/19, reproduced with the permission of the author. 
  • Andrea Lissoni (Milan, 1970) is a curator and writer, currently the artistic director of the Haus der Kunst in Munich.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Les Brigittines

Creation: Korakrit Arunanondchai, Alex Gvojic (with boychild) | Camera: Alex Gvojic, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Rory Mulhere, Yukontorn Mingmongkon, Jon Wang | Sound Design, mixing: Aaron David Ross | Music Contribution: Dj Richard, Final Mercy | Programing: Michael Potvin (Nitemind) | Bangkok Production Team: Suchada Sirithanawuddhi, Pises Wongsathianchai, Akerat Homlaor, Narong Srisophab, Tanawit Misa, Krissakorn Thinthupthai, Naporn Kongsuan, Nata Sato | Research, production: Nok Chida | Still Photography: Nick Sethi | With: boychild, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Tippayavarna Nitibhon, Varachit Nitibhon, Grace Church, Nana childcare and foster home, Ramasun Military Camp and Museum, Charlermchai Kositpipat and White temple, Dr. Susan Brown | Commissioned by Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève for Biennale of Moving Image 2018

→ see also: Stream of Thoughts

08.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

09.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

10.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

11.05

12.05

website by lvh

Korakrit Arunanondchai & Alex Gvojic Bangkok / New York

No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 5

installation vidéo

Les Brigittines

| Thai → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 35min | €10 / €7 | Réservez votre créneau horaire

En 2018, une équipe de jeunes footballeurs a été prise au piège dans une grotte à Chiang Rai en Thaïlande. Cet événement a été l’un des plus médiatisés du pays. Si tous les garçons n’avaient pas la nationalité thaïlandaise, elle leur a été vite accordée, afin de faire d’eux des héros nationaux à leur sortie. Dans No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 5, Korakrit Arunanondchai et Alex Gvojic entremêlent cet épisode au ghost cinema, une tradition de projections réservées aux esprits, sans spectateur·ices. Ses racines remontent à la présence américaine sur le sol thaïlandais durant la guerre du Vietnam. Les soldats projetaient des faisceaux lumineux dans les arbres pour tromper leurs adversaires et la population associait ces lumières à des fantômes. Arunanondchai et Gvojic crééent une œuvre visionnaire : une enquête sur le nationalisme, le droit d’asile et les croyances, présentée dans la chapelle des Brigittines. No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 5 devient un triptyque de cinéma élargi qui résonne avec l’architecture de l’église ; un voyage fantomatique guidé par des lasers verts entre transcendance, opérations militaires et la vision infrarouge des missions spéléologiques.

read more

No History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names de Korakrit Arunanondchai

L’artiste revient sur la réflexion derrière son dernier film de notre série dans un entretien avec le commissaire d’exposition Andrea Lissoni.

Le projet Painting with history in a room filled with people with funny names 5 de Korakrit Arunanondchai a débuté en 2013. Il fait partie d’une série qui combine vidéos, performance et installation dans le but d’explorer la relation entre nature, technologie et émancipation sociétale.

Dans ce cinquième épisode, Arunanondchai collabore avec Alex Gvojic pour analyser les relations entre les êtres humains et les autres animaux dans le contexte de la Thaïlande contemporaine, mêlant rites, fiction et réalité tout en réfléchissant au passé et au futur du pays. L’artiste a partagé quelques unes de ses réflexions avec le commissaire d’exposition Andrea Lissoni. (art awereness)

D’après de nombreuses interviews et critiques de votre travail, il semblerait que le feu apparaisse comme un élément moteur récurrent dans vos vidéos et peintures. Toutefois, je suis fasciné de constater à quel point l’eau infiltre vos œuvres autant qu’elle en découle. Il y a quelque chose d’éphémère et de transformateur dans sa présence. Tout coule et dérive simplement d’une scène à l’autre. Il n’y a jamais de véritable mur, chaque séparation est perméable. Tout est poreux, comme consti-tué de membranes. Pour la 9e édition de la Biennale de Berlin, vous avez créé une installation in situ à bord d’un bateau qui montait et descendait le long de la rivière Spree. Pour découvrir l’œuvre, il fallait descendre dans le bateau. De cette manière, les visiteur·euses qui regardaient la partie vidéo de l’installation n’étaient pas juste en train de flotter, iels étaient littéralement sous l’eau. L’expérience consistait à se faufiler pour trouver refuge sous une mangrove.
Absolument, je n’avais pas pensé à cela. Sur le pont du bateau, il y avait des sculptures qui ressemblaient à des arbres. De ce fait, c’est vrai que quand on était dans la salle vidéo en-dessous, c’est comme si nous étions à la hauteur des racines. Je m’intéresse aux tombeaux anciens et aux rites funéraires, particulièrement ceux de l’époque des hommes et des femmes de Néandertal ou même des grands singes. Il y a des millions et des millions d’années qui séparent les singes des homo sapiens. Des scientifiques ont découvert que, pendant cette période, il y a un moment où iels ont commencé à voir la beauté des choses et même à se connecter au sacré en disposant des objets de façon rituelle. Ce que j’essaye de faire, c’est de reproduire très subtilement ces moments.     

Une sculpture se dressait au bout de la salle d’exposition au J1 à Marseille – une pierre tombale, un reliquaire ou un monument. Qu’est-ce que cela signifiait ?
Dans la vidéo, la performeuse boychild incarne tou-jours la figure de la Naga – un personnage non-humain, une Gaia dont le corps peint en vert est inspiré d’un serpent mythologique issu de la tradition bouddhiste. À la fin de la vidéo, comme missionnée par la nature, elle sort et met en terre mon personnage, qui est une sorte d’avatar de moi-même. Comme un mouvement vers cet autre monde aux contours flous, comme pour dire « je suis épuisé et je change juste d’état ». Les êtres humains veulent toujours laisser une trace derrière eux. Souvent, c’est la raison pour laquelle iels construisent des temples, des palaces, des monuments, des pyramides. Quand le·la visiteur·euse quitte la pièce, c’est comme si son heure avait sonné, elle s’est déjà métamorphosée en son propre tombeau étrange prêt à être vénéré. Pour moi, c’était en quelque sorte le point culminant de l’exposition.

Dans la performance avec boychild, vous utilisez aussi une harpe laser dont les faisceaux verts apportent une certaine verticalité (et élévation) à l’ensemble. Est-ce que vous pouvez nous en dire plus là-dessus ?
C’est un peu comme un nouveau rituel que j’intègre à mes performances. Concrètement, il s’agit d’un instrument de musique. Quand on touche un faisceau laser, un capteur lié à un contrôleur MIDI active un son. Le compositeur Aaron David Ross est l’un de mes plus proches collaborateurs, il a composé le son et la musique pour mes dernières vidéos. Je venais de terminer History in a room filled with people with funny names 4 et je réfléchissais à un moyen d’en faire une performance. Je voulais créer une installation sonore à partir de quelque chose d’invisible, d’impalpable et d’en faire une sorte de sculpture lumineuse qui, à son tour, deviendrait la bande-son et la trame de la performance de boychild. J’en ai parlé à Aaron et il m’a répondu : « Eh bien, y’a ce truc qui s’appelle une harpe laser. Tu devrais en trouver une et l’essayer. » Il y a quelque chose d’extraordinaire dans le fait de pouvoir toucher la lumière.

Est-ce que vous aviez un scénario pour la performance ?
Oui, boychild et moi l’avions écrit ensemble. J’ai retiré la majeure partie du son de toutes mes vidéos et je lisais à voix haute en thaïlandais tandis que, dans l’autre pièce, boychild jouait un nouveau personnage qu’elle appelle le « poisson nettoyeur », qui ramasse les morceaux déchirés de mon script. Chaque personnage ou chaque version d’elle-même qu’elle incarne dans la vidéo vient ajouter son propre éventail de mouvements.

Alex Gvojic, un autre de mes collaborateurs de longue date qui réalise généralement les vidéos et veille sur la mise en espace, portait le même costume en jean que nous et la filmait tout en faisant partie intégrante de la performance en tant que vidéaste performeur. Ensuite, la vidéo de boychild était en quelque sorte montée en direct et projetée sur l’écran sur lequel je lisais. Cela créait une forme de boucle dans laquelle je pouvais la toucher par ma voix, qu’elle ne pouvait pas comprendre puisque je parlais thaïlandais. À la fin de la vidéo, je me rendais dans l’autre pièce et nous jouions la partie avec la harpe laser. Cela me donnait une impression de déjà vu, ou de distorsion temporelle. Et je pense que le public avait cette même impression. Dans un sens, c’est un peu comme pour la tombe verte de boychild à la fin de l’exposition alors qu’on l’avait vue dans la vidéo juste avant. Il se passe quelque chose d’étrange et de perturbant avec cette ligne du temps complètement détraquée, où ce que l’on a vu sur l’écran est aussi ce qu’on voit ensuite dans la pièce, presque comme si on avait pu observer le futur. C’est difficile à expliquer.

  • Ce texte est une version éditée d’un entretien entre Andrea Lissoni et l’artiste, d’abord publié dans le magazine KALEIDOSCOPE, numéro 33, Automne-Hiver 2018/19 et reproduit avec la permission de l’auteur.
  • Andrea Lissoni (Milan, 1970) est commissaire d’exposition et écrivain, actuellement directeur artistique de la Haus der Kunst de Munich.

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Les Brigittines

Création : Korakrit Arunanondchai, Alex Gvojic (avec boychild) | Caméra : Alex Gvojic, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Rory Mulhere, Yukontorn Mingmongkon, Jon Wang | Conception sonore, mixage : Aaron David Ross | Contribution musicale : Dj Richard, Final Mercy | Programmation : Michael Potvin (Nitemind) | Équipe de production de Bangkok : Suchada Sirithanawuddhi, Pises Wongsathianchai, Akerat Homlaor, Narong Srisophab, Tanawit Misa, Krissakorn Thinthupthai, Naporn Kongsuan, Nata Sato | Recherche, production : Nok Chida | Photographie fixe : Nick Sethi | Avec : boychild, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Tippayavarna Nitibhon, Varachit Nitibhon, Grace Church, Nana childcare and foster home, Ramasun Military Camp and Museum, Charlermchai Kositpipat and White temple, Dr. Susan Brown | Commande du Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève pour la Biennale of Moving Image 2018

 

→ see also: Stream of Thoughts

08.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

09.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

10.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

11.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00

12.05

  • 18:00 → 21:00
website by lvh