Jaha Koo Seoul / Ghent

The Hamartia Trilogy: Lolling and Rolling, Cuckoo, The History of Korean Western Theatre

theatre — premiere

Théâtre Les Tanneurs

| Korean → FR, NL, EN | €16 / €13 - Trilogy (3 performances) + food : €30 / €18

Since 2014, Korean artist Jaha Koo has been working on the Hamartia Trilogy, in which he focuses on how our irrevocable past leaves its mark on the future. In Cuckoo, his successful second performance, the artist engages in a dialogue with his rice cookers: in bittersweet and humorous dialogues, they go on a journey through the last two decades of Korean history. After touring the world with Cuckoo, Jaha Koo’s complete trilogy will premiere at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts. In the first part, Lolling and Rolling, he examines why many parents in Korea obsessively impose the English language on their children, to the point of having some undergo major tongue surgery to improve their pronunciation. In The History of Korean Western Theatre, the third part of the trilogy, he marvels at how Western theatre was imported into his country and was able to replace traditional theatre forms. The three performances combine to form a soothing ritual against forgetting, as Jaha Koo deciphers Korea’s lost cultural identity through personal storytelling. At this occasion he reworks this identity into a powerful total experience, between three performances and two breaks where to taste the rich culinary culture of Korea.

read more

THE HAMARTIA TRILOGY

Lolling and Rolling, Cuckoo & The History of Korean Western Theatre

South Korean theatre maker, videographer and composer Jaha Koo will be presenting his completed Hamartia Trilogy for the first time in 2021. In Greek, hamartia means "tragic flaw or shortcoming", a concept that Koo has interwoven into completely different guises throughout his three performances Lolling and Rolling, Cuckoo and The History of Korean Western Theatre

In the trilogy, the far-reaching imperialism of the past and present, and it’s sometimes unexpected personal impact, are the common thread. In his intelligent and haunting documentary theatre performances, Jaha Koo intertwines personal stories with historical, political and sociological facts. Often themes that entail a clash of Eastern and Western culture: from the cutting of tongue belts to make it in the West, to the heavy personal toll of Western interference in the macroeconomic field. The performances from the triptych can also be enjoyed individually.

In Lolling and Rolling (2015) for instance, Jaha Koo immersed himself in the phenomenon of tongue-tie surgery, an operation performed in South Korea to pronounce the English tip of the tongue-r. The performance thus touched upon linguistic imperialism in his native country. In 2021, Koo is revising this performance, because he no longer wants to focus solely on the linguistic aspect, which is just the tip of the iceberg. In the re-worked live performance, Jaha Koo now also highlights the more extensive process that goes with it, which tries to silence the "subaltern", the minorities. Because the denial or devaluation of a language also instigates the loss of an identity, of a minority, of a population group. In this way the subaltern are colonized not only linguistically, but also culturally.

Cuckoo (2017), the second part of the Hamartia Trilogy, examines a society under pressure as a result of far-reaching economic imperialism. In this performance, Jaha shares the scene for the first time with three non-human performers: rice cookers. The hacked, talking rice cookers – branded Cuckoo – are Koo's conversation partners in painfully funny dialogues about the lonely life that Korean youths have to contend with. Because how do you grow up in a performance-oriented and high-tech society where social isolation, youth unemployment and suicide are rampant?

The third part of the trilogy, The History of Korean Western Theatre (2020), examines the impact of theatrical imperialism, and deals with the impaired autonomous modernization because of the Western canon. Where Lolling and Rolling and Cuckoo respectively focused on the past and present of South Korea, in this final piece Jaha Koo looks resolutely to the future. Meticulously, he exposes the tragic impact of the past on our lives, unveiling the small cracks in modern Confucianism – an ideology that continues to define the moral system, way of life and social relations between generations in South Korea. With a new generation of South Koreans in mind, he attempts to break with a tradition full of self-censorship and keeping up appearances. Because only when based on an authentic version of history, he can pass on a future to the next generation. 

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Théâtre Les Tanneurs

Concept, text, direction, music, video, performance: Jaha Koo | Production: CAMPO | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Many thanks to everyone involved in the creation process of the trilogy

Lolling and Rolling
Concept, text, direction, music, video, performance: Jaha Koo | Dramaturgy: Dries Douibi | Scenography: Eunkyung Jeong | Artistic advice: Pol Heyvaert | Production: OFFICENEINOFFICE | Executive producer: 2021 CAMPO | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Original support: DAS Theatre

Cuckoo
Concept, text, direction, music, video: Jaha Koo | Performance: Jaha Koo, Hana, Duri, Seri |  Hacking: Idella Craddock | Scenography, digital support: Eunkyung Jeong | Dramaturgical advice: Dries Douibi | Production: Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek | Executive producer: CAMPO | Coproduction: Bâtard Festival | Support: STUK, BUDA, DAS Theatre, SFAC, Noorderzon/Grand Theatre Groningen | With the financial support of Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie

The History of Korean Western Theatre
Concept, text, direction, music, video: Jaha Koo | Performance: Jaha Koo, Seri, Toad | Dramaturgy: Dries Douibi | Scenography, drawings: Eunkyung Jeong | Artistic advice: Pol Heyvaert | Technical: Korneel Coessens, Koen Goossens, Anne Meeussen, Philippe Digneffe |  Hardware hacking: Idella Craddock | Research: Eunkyung Jeong, Jaha Koo | Research assistance: Sang Ok Kim | Interview: Jooyoung Koh, Kiran Kim, Kyungmi Lee | Production: CAMPO | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Münchner Kammerspiele, Frascati Producties, Veem House for Performance, SPRING performing arts festival, Zürcher Theaterspektakel, Black Box teater, International Summer Festival Kampnagel, Tanzquartier Wien, wpZimmer, Théâtre de la Bastille, Festival d’Automne à Paris | Residencies: Kunstencentrum BUDA, wpZimmer, Decoratelier Jozef Wouters, Doosan Art Center | With the support of: Beursschouwburg, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst | CAMPO is supported by: the city of Ghent, the Flemish Community | Performances in Brussels with the support of the Korean Cultural Center of Brussels

01.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 representations + food
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

02.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 representations + food
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

03.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 representations + food
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

04.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 representations + food
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

05.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 representations + food
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

06.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 representations + food
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre
website by lvh

Jaha Koo Séoul / Gand

The Hamartia Trilogy: Lolling and Rolling, Cuckoo, The History of Korean Western Theatre

théâtre — premiere

Théâtre Les Tanneurs

| Coréen → FR, NL, EN | €16 / €13 - Trilogie (3 spectacles) + repas : €30 / €18

L’artiste coréen Jaha Koo travaille depuis 2014 sur Hamartia Trilogy, une recherche en trois parties sur les traces qu’imprime inéluctablement notre passé sur notre avenir. Dans Cuckoo, le second volet qui connut un grand succès, l’artiste interagit avec ses cuiseurs à riz et parcourt avec eux, dans un dialogue à la fois drôle et grinçant, deux décennies d’histoire coréenne. À l’occasion du festival, Jaha Koo présente pour la première fois sa trilogie en entier. Dans le premier chapitre, Lolling and Rolling, il s’interroge sur l’obsession des parents coréens à vouloir faire apprendre l’anglais à leurs enfants, jusqu’à imposer des interventions chirurgicales très invasives de la langue censées améliorer leur prononciation. Dans The History of Korean Western Theatre, la troisième partie du triptyque, il partage son étonnement concernant l’importation du théâtre occidental en Corée, où il a fini par remplacer les formes locales traditionnelles. Les trois représentations se fondent en un rituel salvateur contre l’oubli: Jaha Koo déchiffre obstinément, à travers des récits personnels, l’identité culturelle perdue de son pays. À cette occasion, il retravaille cette identité en une expérience totale et puissante pour le public, entre trois performances et deux entractes accompagnés par l'exquise tradition culinaire coréenne.

read more

THE HAMARTIA TRILOGY

Lolling and Rolling, Cuckoo & The History of Korean Western Theatre

Le metteur en scène, vidéaste et compositeur sud-koréen Jaha Koo présentera l’intégralité de sa Hamartia Trilogy pour la première fois en 2021. En grec, hamartia signifie « péché ou défaut tragique », un concept que Koo a tissé sous des formes complètement différentes dans ses trois spectacles Lolling and Rolling, Cuckoo et The History of Korean Western Theatre.

Le fil rouge de cette trilogie réside dans l’impérialisme d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, et dans son impact parfois inattendu. Dans ses spectacles intelligents et envoûtants, issus du théâtre documentaire, Jaha Koo entrelace des histoires personnelles avec des faits historiques, politiques et sociologiques. La plupart des thèmes qu’il choisit impliquent un choc entre la culture orientale et la culture occidentale : de la pratique qui consiste à se couper la langue pour réussir en Occident, aux ravages personnels de l’ingérence occidentale dans le domaine macroéconomique. Les spectacles peuvent également être appréciés individuellement, en dehors du triptyque.

Dans Lolling and Rolling (2015), Jaha Koo s’est plongé dans le phénomène de l’opération chirurgicale de la langue qui consiste, en Corée du Sud, à en couper le frein pour pouvoir prononcer le « r » à l’anglaise. Le spectacle abordait ainsi l’impérialisme linguistique qui sévissait dans son pays natal. En 2021, Koo adapte ce spectacle car il ne souhaite plus se concentrer uniquement sur l’aspect linguistique, qui n’est que la partie visible de l’iceberg. Dans la nouvelle version live de son spectacle, Jaha Koo met désormais également en lumière le processus global qui accompagne cette pratique et qui tente de faire taire les « subalternes », les minorités. En effet, la négation ou la dévalorisation d’une langue entraîne également la perte d’identité d’une minorité, d’un groupe de la population. En ce sens, ce n’est pas uniquement la langue des subalternes qui se retrouve colonisée, mais également leur culture.

Cuckoo (2017), le deuxième volet de la Hamartia Trilogy, examine une société mise sous pression à cause de l’impérialisme économique à grande échelle. Dans ce spectacle, Koo partage la scène pour la première fois avec trois performeurs non-humains : des cuiseurs à riz. Ces cuiseurs à riz, piratés et dotés de la parole, baptisés Cuckoo, sont les interlocuteurs de Koo dans des dialogues douloureusement drôles sur la vie solitaire à laquelle les jeunes coréens doivent faire face. Car comment grandir dans une société axée sur la performance et la haute technologie alors que l’isolement social, le chômage des jeunes et le suicide sont monnaie courante ?

Le troisième et dernier volet de la trilogie, The History of Korean Western Theatre (2020), analyse l’impact de l’impérialisme théâtral et réfléchit sur la manière dont le canon occidental altère la modernisation autonome. Là où Lolling and Rolling et Cuckoo se concentraient respectivement sur le passé et le présent de la Corée du Sud, dans cette dernière œuvre, Jaha Koo se tourne résolument vers le futur. Il expose méticuleusement l’impact tragique du passé sur nos vies, dévoilant les failles du Confucianisme moderne – une idéologie qui continue de définir le système moral, le mode de vie et les relations sociales intergénérationnelles en Corée du Sud. En gardant en tête cette nouvelle génération de sud coréen·nes, il tente de rompre avec une tradition imprégnée d’autocensure et de faux-semblants.
Car ce n’est qu’en se basant sur une version authentique de l’histoire qu’il peut transmettre un avenir à la prochaine génération.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Théâtre Les Tanneurs

Concept, texte, mise en scène, musique, vidéo, performance : Jaha Koo | Production : CAMPO | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Merci à : tous ceux et toutes celles ayant participé à la création de la trilogie

Lolling and Rolling
Concept, texte, mise en scène, musique, vidéo, performance : Jaha Koo | Dramaturgie : Dries Douibi | Scénographie : Eunkyung Jeong | Conseiller dramaturgique : Pol Heyvaert | Production : OFFICENEINOFFICE | Oorspronkelijke ondersteuning: DAS Theatre | Production déléguée 2021: CAMPO | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Cuckoo 

Concept, texte, mise en scène, musique, vidéo : Jaha Koo | Performance : Jaha Koo, Hana, Duri, Seri | Hacking: Idella Craddock | Scénographie, soutien digital : Eunkyung Jeong | Conseiller dramaturgique : Dries Douibi | Production : Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek | Production déléguée : CAMPO | Coproduction : Bâtard Festival | Soutien : STUK, BUDA, DAS Theatre, SFAC & Noorderzon / Grand Theatre Groningen | Avec le soutien de : de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie

The History of Korean Western Theatre
Concept, texte, mise en scène, musique, vidéo : Jaha Koo | Performance : Jaha Koo, Seri, Toad | Dramaturgie: Dries Douibi | Scénographie, dessins : Eunkyung Jeong |Conseiller dramaturgique : Pol Heyvaert | Technique : Korneel Coessens, Koen Goossens, Anne Meeussen, Philippe Digneffe | Hardware hacking: Idella Craddock | Recherche : Eunkyung Jeong, Jaha Koo | Assistance recherche : Sang Ok Kim | Interview : Jooyoung Koh, Kiran Kim, Kyungmi Lee | Production : CAMPO | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Münchner Kammerspiele, Frascati Producties & Veem House for Performance, SPRING performing arts festival, Zürcher Theaterspektakel, Black Box teater, International Summer Festival Kampnagel, Tanzquartier Wien, wpZimmer, Théâtre de la Bastille, Festival d’Automne à Paris | Résidences : Kunstencentrum BUDA, wpZimmer, Decoratelier Jozef Wouters, Doosan Art Center | Avec le soutien de : Beursschouwburg, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst

CAMPO est soutenu par : Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Ville de Gand

01.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 spectacles + nourriture
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

02.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 spectacles + nourriture
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

03.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 spectacles + nourriture
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

04.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 spectacles + nourriture
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

05.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 spectacles + nourriture
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre

06.07

  • 18:00
  • 3 spectacles + nourriture
  • 30€ / 18€
  • 18:00 ⧖ 50min
  • Lolling and Rolling
  • 19:30 ⧖ 1h
  • Cuckoo
  • 22:00 ⧖ 1h
  • The History of Korean Western Theatre
website by lvh