Chassol Paris

After the three magnificent ultrascores (Nola Chérie in 2011, Indiamore in 2013 and Big Sun in 2015), which made him known worldwide, working with Solange or Frank Ocean and playing in the most prestigious venues, Christophe Chassol reshuffles the cards: Ludi, his new project, a record, a film and a show, takes his grand design for harmonizing reality even further. It is the game, this word so important in music, which founds this impressive construction of mastery, freely inspired by Hermann Hesse's The Glass Bead Game. From this utopian book by the great German author, where music, mathematics, aesthetics and spirituality collide, Chassol has imagined a fascinating object, still produced by Tricatel, Bertrand Burgalat's label, which once again justifies its special place in the musical landscape

Here, the Game, according to a construction borrowed from the sociologist Roger Caillois, is broken down into four categories: chance, vertigo, the mask and competition. Chassol films several situations illustrating these themes, then applies his ultrascore process to them, noting the melodies he perceives through the sound of the images.          

Everything goes through it: in the suburbs, a playground or basketball players; in Tokyo, an arcade, a roller coaster, the singer Crystal Kay and the rapper Kohh; solo musicians filmed blank, such as the flutist Jocelyn Mienniel or the drummer Mathieu Edward, the composer's partner, who manages on stage to replay, live and in perfect synchronicity, the breathtaking solo he had improvised on screen. These scenes inspire Chassol to write compositions of great intensity. He enriches them with new techniques, making the melodies taken from the filming sing again. The voices of Alice Lewis, Alice Orpheus, Carine Chassol, Thomas de Pourquery, Mathieu Edward and Ala.ni are used in this harmonization of the harmonization, and Chassol adds them to his editing and to his record. They then try their hand at a celestial and masterful "phrase game", where words become chords and mingle with the images they evoke, transcribed on screen by the artist Gaëtan Brizzi, to which Chassol then applies his very personal reading grid, his melodies and his inimitable chord combinations.

Ludi is Chassol's most complete, precise and fulfilled work, creating a new artistic object, where the listener becomes the interpreter of his music, each listening allowing the discovery of an infinite number of points of synchronization between the images and the sounds. Leading with Ludi his own part of Hermann Hesse's game, Chassol can now claim the title of Ludi Magister, the master of the Glass Bead Game. With this double-album, he realizes his ambition: to compose new music that fills us with joy and encourages us to reflect.

website by lvh

Chassol Paris

Après les trois magnifiques ultrascores (Nola Chérie en 2011, Indiamore en 2013 et Big Sun en 2015), qui l’ont fait connaitre dans le monde entier, travailler avec Solange ou Frank Ocean et jouer dans les salles les plus prestigieuses, Christophe Chassol rebat les cartes : Ludi, son nouveau projet, à la fois disque, film et spectacle, porte plus loin encore son grand dessein d’harmonisation du réel. C’est le jeu, ce mot si important en musique, qui fonde cette construction impressionnante de maîtrise, librement inspirée du Jeu des perles de verre, d’Hermann Hesse. De ce livre utopique du grand auteur allemand, où se télescopent musique, mathématique, esthétique et spiritualité, Chassol a imaginé un objet passionnant, toujours produit par Tricatel, le label de Bertrand Burgalat, qui justifie une fois encore sa place à part dans le paysage musical.             

Ici le Jeu, selon une construction empruntée au sociologue Roger Caillois, se décompose en quatre catégories : le hasard, le vertige, le masque et la compétition. Chassol filme plusieurs situations illustrant ces thématiques, puis leur applique son procédé d'ultrascore, en relevant les mélodies qu’il perçoit à travers le son des images.             

Tout y passe : en banlieue, une cour de récréation ou des basketteurs, à Tokyo une salle de jeux d’arcade, un grand-huit, la chanteuse Crystal Kay et le rappeur Kohh ; des musiciens solistes filmés à blanc, comme le flûtiste Jocelyn Mienniel ou le batteur Mathieu Edward, partenaire du compositeur, qui parvient sur scène à rejouer, en direct et dans un synchronisme parfait, le solo époustouflant qu’il avait improvisé à l’écran. Ces scènes inspirent à Chassol des compositions de très haute intensité. Il les enrichit de nouvelles techniques, faisant rechanter les mélodies tirées du tournage. On retrouve ainsi, pour cette harmonisation de l’harmonisation, les voix d’Alice Lewis, Alice Orpheus, Carine Chassol, Thomas de Pourquery, Mathieu Edward et Ala.ni, que Chassol incruste à nouveau à son montage et à son disque. Ils s’essaient ensuite à un "jeu de la phrase" céleste et magistral, où les mots deviennent des accords et se mêlent aux images qu’ils évoquent, retranscrites à l’écran par le dessinateur Gaëtan Brizzi, sur lesquelles Chassol applique ensuite sa grille de lecture très personnelle, ses mélodies et ses combinaisons d’accords inimitables.

Ludi est l’œuvre la plus complète, précise et épanouie de Chassol, qui crée un objet artistique nouveau, où l’auditeur devient l’interprète de sa musique, chaque écoute permettant de découvrir une infinité de points de synchronisation entre les images et les sons. Menant avec Ludi sa propre partie du jeu d’Hermann Hesse, Chassol peut désormais prétendre au titre de Ludi Magister, le maître du Jeu des perles de verre. Avec ce double-album il concrétise son ambition : composer une musique inédite qui nous remplit de joie et nous incite à la réflexion.

website by lvh