The School of Contamination Jerusalem / Brussels / Ghent / New York

Dina Mimi, Roland Gunst, Salvatore Calcagno, Nikima Jagudajev

residency / performance

Kaaistudio's

| Arabic, French, Dutch, English → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 2h30 | €10 / €7

An artistic practice is not only the result of what has been planned; it feeds on the unpredictable encounters and what cannot yet be imagined. The Brussels art scene has often been described as a network of formal and informal exchanges, collaborations, and cross-pollination. If even the pandemic has forced artistic processes to be more isolated, in this edition the festival has decided to open a temporary and shared artistic residency. For ten days, four artists – three of which are based in Brussels – work in four spaces in the Kaaistudios. While each of them works on different research projects, they have moments of collective discussion. Visual artist Dina Mimi investigates the story of her great-grandfather, who was subjected to medical tests at an Israeli military hospital in 1969. Nikima Jagudajev deeply studies choreography as a form of life. Salvator Calcagno immerses himself in researching cinema as a form of encounter, starting with Visconti’s movie Bellissima. Roland Gunst reflects on the legacy of rubber and its ability to provide a surface layer on colonial monuments in Brussels. The School of Contamination opens the way to another sort of ‘contamination’, and to its importance within the art scene and to its future.

Dina Mimi, Grinding the Wind

Dina Mimi’s performance navigates the missing parts of the story of her great-grandfather, who underwent medical testing and heart surgery at the Israeli military hospital Tel Hashomer in 1969. This event provoked a journey into archives, oral histories, dreams, and books. As she explains, “Like a surgeon who has wet dreams of inserting a finger into a heart during surgery, my research around the performative aspects of open-heart surgery is also motivated by desire. The heart of my great-grandfather, sealed behind more than one hundred stitches from his chest to his waist, was reduced to ashes as his final gesture of self-immolation.” Facing the mystery of this now inaccessible “archive”, for this new project the artist probes for clues to understand his descent into silence and protest, and eventually so even in death.

Roland Gunst, Moving monuments

The principle that organic containers such as human bodies or other movable structures are seen as a "place of remembrance" within Luba culture clashes completely with the Western construction of history and memory. Here, the past and often anti-democratic ideologies and authoritarian leaders are glorified through monuments in uncritical and static ways. However, fluid forms hold the potential to break open static, oppressive architectures. Trauma can heal through monuments in motion, which allow for a constant (re)positioning of identities.

'Lieux de memoires' are spaces in which the status quo is not simply accepted, but negotiated.

  • Roland Gunst, Recto Verso, March 25, 2021
Salvatore Calcagno

Bellissima is a research laboratory based on Luchino Visconti's movie of the same name, released in 1951. A singular work, unknown to the general public, which tells the story of a mother ready to do anything so that her daughter becomes the next big screen star. Through a free adaptation of the script, Salvatore Calcagno offers a portrait of a working-class environment lulled by dreams and robbed of its illusions, a satire of the film industry, and an encounter with a city and its inhabitants.

Nikima Jagudajev

Basically is an ongoing live project by choreographer Nikima Jagudajev. Developed in collaboration, it is contextualized as a re-schooling in which space is made for the nurturing and sharing of our perversions. Together we will work on nonlinear choreographies that fold in on themselves like portals through time and fugue-like contrapuntal melodies. Daily I Ching castings will locate us in a shifty universe and unscheduled time will leave room for contingency. As visitors enter the studio, they become involved in making and remaking this environment; a sociality of difference in which all elements collectively make up the space and deviate. 

read more

Dina Mimi is a visual artist born in 1994 in Jerusalem where she lives and works. Her practice is multifaceted and uses video, sound, performance, and text. Dina Mimi has been researching issues and subjects regarding the body and death in the public sphere, and notions of visibility and invisibility in the relationship of archaeology to the object, and the museum to death. She has also been researching protest as a performance. Recently, for her MFA thesis, she examined the role of the body-force in public space in Palestine. Mimi obtained her Bachelor’s degree from Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design in Jerusalem in 2016, and her MFA degree in art in the public sphere from ECAV (École cantonale d’art du Valais) in Switzerland in 2018. During her studies, Dina Mimi participated in numerous exhibitions and events in cities around the world, including Jerusalem, Amman, Seoul, Boston, Lisbon, Paris and Ramallah.

Roland Gunst (*1977) is a conceptual artist of Belgian-Congolese origin. Through films, performances, installations, objects, photography and mixed media he researches the potential of fluid identities and Afro-European narratives, inspired by the concept of Afropeanism. Gunst creates disruptive hybrid concepts and forms to reflect on the boundaries that define identity, culture, human condition and history. He is inspired by African and European art history, anthropology, psychology, philosophy and mythology.

Salvatore Calcagno, Belgian director and artistic director of the company garçon garçon, conceives the stage as a meeting of different artistic languages: musical, plastic, cinematographic and choreographic. Present on the Belgian contemporary scene and more specifically in places of creation and contemporary writing at the international level, he combines writing, research and development of new artistic forms, cultural mediation and recently, pays particular attention to the adaptation of classical texts. Salvatore considers creation as an intimate gesture sublimated by an aesthetic power. On stage, he remains very close to his actors, doesn’t show, doesn’t impose but defines a state of work where precision touches the extreme. He instills an energy, an energy that he wants to give to perceive, to feel in his shows. His work is characterized by a great sensuality, sensoriality. He is now an associate artist at the Théâtre Les Tanneurs and an artist supported by the Théâtre de Liège for the 2018-2022 seasons. 

Nikima Jagudajev (b. 1990) is a choreographer based in New York, USA and Brussels, Belgium. Her work, expanding formal dance into the construction of open-ended socialities, has been presented at the Whitney Museum, Human Resources Los Angeles, Crush Curatorial (New York) and Judson Church, in the context of Material Art Fair’s Immaterial (Mexico City) and 89+ at LUMA/Westbau (Zürich), Kurimanzutto gallery (Mexico City), Centre d’Art Contemorain Genève, Rockbund Art Museum (Shanghai), Villa Empain (Brussels), and as part of the Marrakech Biennale (Morocco). She was assistant editor of the anthology Post-Dance (MDT, 2017) and has published various essays including ‘Relations of Unpredictable Encounters’ in the Movement Research Performance Journal 51 (2017), ‘the landscape thinks itself in me’ in Asad Raza’s Root Sequence. Mother Tongue (Walther König, 2018) and ‘A Resting Place’ in This Container Edition 08 (2020).

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater

Dina Mimi
With: Dina Mimi, Maya Khaldi | Supported by: Mophradat in the frame of the Consortium Commissions 2020 (Alkantara Festival, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spielart Festival)

Roland Gunst
Research supported by: Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre, Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Dramaturgy: Esther Severi | Residency at Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre

Salvatore Calcagno
Research supported by: garçongarçon asbl, Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Nikima Jagudajev
Research supported by: Bergen Kunsthall, Shedhalle Zurich, Decoratelier, Kunstenfestivaldesarts | With the support of: Oktoberdans and BIT Teatergarasjen | Part of Re-Imagine Europe | Co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union | In colllaboration: Laurel Atwell, Jordan Balaber, Emmanuel Diela Nkita, Ezra Fieremans and Mimi

29.05

  • 15:00
  • cancelled

30.05

  • 15:00
  • cancelled
website by lvh

The School of Contamination Jerusalem / Brussels / Ghent / New York

Dina Mimi, Roland Gunst, Salvatore Calcagno, Nikima Jagudajev

résidence / performance

Kaaistudio's

| Arabe, Français, Néerlandais, Anglais → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 2h30 | €10 / €7

Une pratique artistique n’est jamais le seul résultat d’une chose planifiée. Elle se nourrit de rencontres imprévues, de ce qui ne pouvait être imaginé jusqu’alors. Le réseau artistique bruxellois est souvent présenté comme un ensemble d’échanges, de collaborations et de pollinisations croisées formelles et informelles. La pandémie ayant davantage isolé les processus artistiques, le festival ouvre, pour cette édition, une résidence artistique temporaire et commune dans quatre espaces du Kaaistudio’s. Dix jours durant, quatre artistes, dont trois sont basé·es à Bruxelles, alterneront travail individuel et discussions collectives. L’artiste Dina Mimi retrace l’histoire de son grand-père, soumis à des expérimentations médicales dans un hôpital militaire israélien en 1969. Nikima Jagudajev approfondit une recherche sur la chorégraphie comme forme de vie. Salvatore Calcagno étudie le cinéma comme une forme de rencontre, partant du film Bellissima de Visconti. Roland Gunst s’intéresse à l’héritage du caoutchouc, à la strate qu’il ajoute aux monuments coloniaux à Bruxelles. The School of Contamination ouvre la porte à une nouvelle forme de contamination et à l’importance de celle-ci pour la scène artistique et son avenir.

Dina Mimi, Grinding the Wind

La performance de Dina Mimi explore les parties manquantes de l'histoire de son arrière-grand-père, qui a subi des tests médicaux et une chirurgie cardiaque à l'hôpital militaire israélien Tel Hashomer en 1969. Cet événement a provoqué un voyage dans les archives, les histoires orales, les rêves et les livres. Comme elle l'explique : « À l'instar d'un chirurgien qui rêve d'insérer un doigt dans un cœur pendant une opération, ma recherche sur les aspects performatifs de la chirurgie à cœur ouvert est également motivée par le désir. Le cœur de mon arrière-grand-père, scellé derrière plus de cent points de suture de sa poitrine à sa taille, a été réduit en cendres dans son dernier geste d'auto-immolation. » Face au mystère de cette « archive » désormais inaccessible, l'artiste sonde, pour ce nouveau projet, les indices permettant de comprendre sa descente dans le silence et la contestation, et ce jusque dans la mort.

Roland Gunst, Monuments mouvants

Le principe selon lequel les contenants organiques tels que les corps humains ou d'autres structures en mouvement, sont considérés comme des « lieux de mémoire » dans la culture Luba est en totale contradiction avec la construction occidentale de l'histoire et de la mémoire. Ici, les idéologies passées et souvent anti-démocratiques et les dirigeants autoritaires sont glorifiés par des monuments de manière statique et non critique. Cependant, les formes fluides ont le potentiel de briser les architectures statiques et oppressives. Les traumatismes peuvent être guéris par des monuments en mouvement, qui permettent un (re)positionnement constant des identités.

Les « Lieux de mémoires » sont des espaces où le statu quo n'est pas simplement accepté, mais négocié.

  • Roland Gunst, Recto Verso, 25 mars 2021
Salvatore Calcagno

Bellissima est un laboratoire de recherche autour du film éponyme de Luchino Visconti, sorti en 1951. Une œuvre singulière, méconnue du grand public, qui raconte l'histoire d'une mère prête à tout pour que sa fille devienne la prochaine star du grand écran. A travers une libre adaptation du scénario, Salvatore Calcagno propose le portrait d'un milieu populaire bercé de rêves et spolié de ses illusions, une satire de l'industrie du cinéma, et la rencontre d'une ville et de ses habitants. 

Nikima Jagudajev

Basically est un projet live en cours de la chorégraphe Nikima Jagudajev. Développé en collaboration, il est contextualisé comme une rescolarisation dans laquelle un espace est créé pour nourrir et partager nos perversions. Ensemble, nous travaillerons sur des chorégraphies non linéaires qui se replient sur elles-mêmes comme des portails à travers le temps et des mélodies contrapuntiques semblables à des fugues. Les moulages quotidiens de Yi King nous situeront dans un univers instable et le temps non programmé laissera place à la contingence. En entrant dans l'atelier, les visiteur·euses s'impliquent dans la fabrication et la refonte de cet environnement ; une socialité de la différence dans laquelle tous les éléments composent collectivement l'espace et dévient.

read more

Dina Mimi est une artiste visuelle née en 1994 à Jérusalem où elle vit et travaille. Sa pratique est multiple et utilise la vidéo, le son, la performance et le texte. Dina Mimi a mené des recherches sur des questions et des sujets concernant le corps et la mort dans la sphère publique, ainsi que sur les notions de visibilité et d'invisibilité dans la relation entre l'archéologie et l'objet, et le musée et la mort. Elle a également étudié la protestation en tant que performance. Récemment, pour sa thèse de MFA, elle a examiné le rôle du corps-force dans l'espace public en Palestine. Dina Mimi a obtenu sa licence à la Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design de Jérusalem en 2016, et son MFA en art dans la sphère publique à l'ECAV (École cantonale d'art du Valais) en Suisse en 2018. Pendant ses études, Mimi a participé à de nombreuses expositions et événements dans des villes du monde entier, notamment à Jérusalem, Amman, Séoul, Boston, Lisbonne, Paris et Ramallah.

Roland Gunst (*1977) est un artiste conceptuel d'origine belgo-congolaise. Par le biais de films, performances, installations, objets, photographies et techniques mixtes, il étudie le potentiel des identités fluides et des récits afro-européens, en s'inspirant du concept d'afropéanisme. Gunst crée des concepts et des formes hybrides perturbateurs pour réfléchir aux frontières qui définissent l'identité, la culture, la condition humaine et l'histoire. Il s'inspire de l'histoire de l'art africain et européen, de l'anthropologie, de la psychologie, de la philosophie et de la mythologie.

Salvatore Calcagno, metteur en scène belge et directeur artistique de la compagnie garçon garçon, conçoit la scène comme une rencontre de différents langages artistiques : musical, plastique, cinématographique et chorégraphique. Présent sur la scène contemporaine belge et plus spécifiquement dans des lieux de création et d'écriture contemporaine à l'international, il conjugue écriture, recherche développement de nouvelles formes artistiques, médiation culturelle et récemment, porte une attention particulière à l’adaptation de textes classiques. Salvatore envisage la création comme un geste intime sublimé par un pouvoir esthétique. Au plateau, il demeure très proche de ses acteurs, ne montre pas, n’impose pas mais définit un état de travail où la précision touche à l’extrême. Il insuffle une énergie, énergie qu’il veut donner à percevoir, ressentir dans ses spectacles. Son travail se caractérise par une grande sensualité, sensorialité. Il est aujourd’hui artiste associé au théâtre Les Tanneurs et artiste accompagné par le Théâtre de Liège pour les saisons 2018-2022.

Nikima Jagudajev (née en 1990) est une chorégraphe basée à New York, aux États-Unis, et à Bruxelles, en Belgique. Son travail, qui étend la danse formelle à la construction de socialités ouvertes, a été présenté au Whitney Museum, à Human Resources Los Angeles, à Crush Curatorial (New York) et à Judson Church, dans le cadre de Material Art Fair's Immaterial (Mexico) et de 89+ à LUMA/Westbau (Zurich), à la galerie Kurimanzutto (Mexico), au Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève, au Rockbund Art Museum (Shanghai), à la Villa Empain (Bruxelles), et dans le cadre de la Biennale de Marrakech (Maroc). Elle a été rédactrice adjointe de l'anthologie Post-Dance (MDT, 2017) et a publié divers essais dont « Relations of Unpredictable Encounters » dans le Movement Research Performance Journal 51 (2017), « the landscape thinks itself in me » dans Root Sequence d'Asad Raza. Mother Tongue (Walther König, 2018) et « A Resting Place » dans This Container Edition 08 (2020).

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater

Dina Mimi
Avec : Dina Mimi, Maya Khaldi | Soutenu par : Mophradat dans le cadre du Consortium Commissions 2020 (Alkantara Festival, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spielart Festival)

Roland Gunst
Recherche soutenue par : Moussem Centre nomade des Arts, Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Dramaturgie : Esther Severi | Résidence au Moussem Centre nomade des Arts

Salvatore Calcagno
Recherche soutenue par : garçongarçon asbl, Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Nikima Jagudajev
Recherche soutenue par : Bergen Kunsthall, Shedhalle Zurich, Decoratelier, Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Avec le soutien de : Oktoberdans et BIT Teatergarasjen | Dans le cadre de Re-Imagine Europe | Cofinancé par le programme Creative Europe de l'Union européenne | En collaboration : Laurel Atwell, Jordan Balaber, Emmanuel Diela Nkita, Ezra Fieremans et Mimi

29.05

  • 15:00
  • cancelled

30.05

  • 15:00
  • cancelled
website by lvh