Edouard Louis & Milo Rau Paris / Cologne

The Interrogation

theatre — premiere

Théâtre Varia / Online

| French → NL, EN

Due to a transformation in the project, we have to cancel the series of presentations in Théâtre Varia. We are currently in conversation with the artists, about the possible outcome and new dates of the project.

In recent years French writer Edouard Louis achieved worldwide success with his books, in which he retraces his life, starting from teenage-hood, his struggles in a small town in northern France, and growing up as a young gay man. Theatre plays a crucial role in his life. Performing in the theatre brings him into contact with literature, but also teaches him how to survive by acting. It is hardly surprising that his books have inspired theatre adaptations by directors all over Europe. Now, Edouard Louis together with Milo Rau, is creating and writing a new lecture performance, performed by himself on stage. The two artists wrote The Interrogation, a lecture performance exploring the thin line between acting, living and surviving, and confronting us, in a direct yet delicate way, with a barrage of questions: what position do we take in society today? This unique collaboration, born for the festival, is conceived to be also broadcast live every night online, in a live experience that becomes simultaneously accessible in Brussels and elsewhere.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Théâtre Varia

Text, performance: Édouard Louis | Text, direction: Milo Rau | Director assistant: Giacomo Bisordi | Dramaturgy: Carmen Hornbostel | Light: Dennis Diels | Sound: Jens Baudisch | Camera: Moris Von Dungern | Technical production management: Chris Vanneste | Production management: Mascha Euchner-Martinez | Production: IIPM | Commissioned by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in coproduction: with NTGent, International Theatre Amsterdam,Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne — théâtre national, Piccolo Teatro di Milano – Teatro d’Europa | Performances in Brussels with the support of the French Institute, the French Embassy in Belgium and The Alliance Française, in the frame of EXTRA (2021)

27.05

  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled

28.05

  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled

29.05

  • 16:00
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled

30.05

  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled
website by lvh

Edouard Louis & Milo Rau Paris / Cologne

The Interrogation

théâtre — premiere

Théâtre Varia / Online

| Français → NL, EN

Suite à une transformation importante du projet, nous sommes dans l’obligation d’annuler la série de représentations au Théâtre Varia. Nous sommes actuellement en discussion avec les artistes sur une issue possible et de nouvelles dates pour ce projet.

Ces dernières années, l'écrivain français Édouard Louis a connu un succès mondial grâce à ses livres, dans lesquels il retrace sa vie depuis son adolescence, ses difficultés dans un village du nord de la France et son quotidien de jeune homosexuel. Le théâtre tient un rôle crucial dans son parcours. Jouer au théâtre le met en contact avec la littérature, mais lui apprend aussi à survivre. Il n'est pas surprenant que ses livres aient inspiré des adaptations à des metteur·euses en scène de toute l'Europe. C’est en collaboration avec Milo Rau qu’Edouard Louis crée et écrit aujourd’hui une nouvelle conférence-performance, qu’il interprète lui-même sur scène. Les deux artistes imaginent The Interrogation, une conférence-performance qui explore la frontière ténue entre agir, vivre et survivre, et nous confronte, de manière directe mais délicate, à une avalanche de questions : quelle position occupons-nous dans la société d'aujourd'hui ? Cette collaboration unique, née pour le festival, est conçue pour être également diffusée en direct chaque soir en ligne, dans une expérience live qui devient accessible simultanément à Bruxelles et ailleurs.

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Théâtre Varia

Texte, interprétation : Édouard Louis | Texte, mise en scène : Milo Rau | Assistant à la mise en scène : Giacomo Bisordi | Dramaturgie : Carmen Hornbostel | Lumière : Dennis Diels | Son : Jens Baudisch | Caméra : Moris Von Dungern | Direction technique de la production : Chris Vanneste | Direction de production : Mascha Euchner-Martinez | Production : IIPM | Commande du Kunstenfestivaldesarts en coproduction : avec NTGent, International Theatre Amsterdam,Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne - théâtre national, Piccolo Teatro di Milano - Teatro d'Europa | Représentations à Bruxelles avec le soutien de l'Institut français, de l'Ambassade de France en Belgique et de l'Alliance française, dans le cadre d'EXTRA (2021)

 

27.05

  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled

28.05

  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled

29.05

  • 16:00
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled

30.05

  • 20:30
  • Théâtre Varia
  • €22 / €18
  • cancelled
  • 20:30
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
  • cancelled
website by lvh