Encyclopédie de la parole / Joris Lacoste, Pierre‑Yves Macé, Sébastien Roux & Ictus Paris / Brussels

Suite n°4

music / installation

Kaaitheater

| Many languages → FR, NL, EN | €14 / €11 | Loop installation. Entrance every 15 min. You can choose your time-slot. | ⧖ 2h in a loop

After Suite n°1, 2 and 3, Encyclopédie de la parole returns with the final part of their highly acclaimed series. For Suite n°4, the collective returns to the source, the raw material that forms the basis of the previous iterations: the recorded voices of their rich sound collection. It is no longer actors who bring lost voices to life, but the speakers themselves who return from the past to speak with their own voices. Despite this physical absence, the characters are perceptibly present. Like ghosts, they return from a distant place and let their voices be heard. Get ready for an installation that makes use of all the theatre’s resources; a sonic and visual journey where the voices are accompanied by the music composition of Brussels ensemble Ictus. By focusing on the infinite versatility and musicality of human speech, Suite n°4 is a celebration of what is most vivid and most fleeting about humanity. It is a way of letting all those valuable but otherwise unheard voices resonate one last time.

See also: Bring your kids

read more

Interview met Joris Lacoste

The project l’Encyclopédie de la parole is intimately linked to music. Can you tell us about the journey that led you to Suite n°4?
L’Encyclopédie de la parole is a project that aims to reveal the form of human speech, its sound dimension, its musicality. At the start of the project, in 2007, the objective wasn’t yet to make theatre shows but simply to build a sound collection by gathering speech recordings around different phenomena, such as cadence, spacing, melody, saturation, residuals, etc. We started with a group of collectors from all walks of life. In the first year, we organised monthly listening-sessions at the Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, where we invited a musician or a sound artist – that’s how I met Pierre-Yves Macé and Sébastien Roux – to compose a sound piece from the collection. The idea was to try listening to the most ordinary speech with an ear more attentive to the musicality than to the words, or at least to shift our listening from the what to the how, from the meaning to the sound.

A little later, when we hit on the idea of ​​putting on shows, we quite naturally adopted the music and concert codes. In Parlement, Emmanuelle Lafon stands in front of the audience, with a music-stand and a microphone, positioned in relation to the theatre space inspired by the recital, even by the posture of the pop singer. Suite n°1 takes the form of a spoken choir of twenty-two interpreters led by a conductor. In Suite n°2, the music intervenes more directly: for this piece, I asked Pierre-Yves Macé if he wanted to compose vocal accompaniments for certain scenes. From that moment on, the two of us have been contemplating the possible interactions between music and spoken words, how music can illustrate, colour, or comment on a word, reveal its form by emphasising what is regular, or, contrarily, by accentuating its unpredictability. In all cases, the music operates as a ‘framework’. This reflection led us to Suite n°3, where the music is omnipresent in that all the utterances are accompanied on the piano in what looks like a small opera.

With Suite n°4, we bring the process to an end, as the music has become so central that there are no longer any actors present on stage. That said, it is, perhaps paradoxically, the most theatrical piece in the cycle insofar as it plays much less with the codes of music representation. The first challenge for me is indeed to succeed in making theatre despite the absence of actors. This involves a certain way of overplaying the classical theatrical codes, for example: the division into acts, the scenography, a certain use of space and light, and above all, a certain fictionalisation, or even a dramatisation of the realities contained in the recordings.

The three of you credit yourself under the term “composition”: for you, it’s the dramaturgical composition, for Pierre-Yves, the instrumental composition, and for Sébastien, the electroacoustic composition.
Already for Parlement and Suite n°1, I had credited myself in “composition”, as I found it more fitting than “text” or “dramaturgy”, insofar as the ‘score’ of the show is literally a sound composition. For Suite n°3 and Suite n°4, we had to find a way to distinguish my work from that of the musical composition. We chose to keep the term ‘composition’ for all three of us, but then to specify its object for each. It is always about composing, but with different materials and practices. Perhaps this also expresses something about the way in which the three of us collaborate, which is particularly intricate. There’s a kind of horizontality that is quite rare in theatre, where the music mainly occupies a subordinate position.

How do you compose such a piece that seems to deviate from the laws of the genre? How do you select the sound documents?
Writing begins with collecting: first you have to find some recordings, make a selection, edit them, transcribe them, occasionally translate them. It’s like a cast of charac-ters. You have to meet hundreds of candidates in order to end up with about 40 or 50. This is a very lengthy phase, which is carried out with the support of valuable collaborators (namely: Elise Simonet, Oscar Lozano Perez and Julie Etienne) and dozens of correspondents in many countries.
The research is based on induced dramaturgical axes. There is never a theme; I don’t make a piece about something. My work is not strictly documentary, although it only uses real documents. For Suite n°4, what guided us is the idea of absence-presence intrinsic to the recording, because a recorded voice is always, fundamentally, a ghost that comes back to speak to us in the present. That is the power of the recording: to bring to life voices from the past. So we looked for documents that made us understand something of that.

It is not at all random, nor is it cut-up. This is the realm of serendipity. The documents in the show are documents that have passed through my life, at one time or another, either because I went to encounter them or in a more involuntary way. This is the result of a survey that was carried out over two years, during which we traversed different contexts, different landscapes. If we had made the piece two years earlier or two years later, the documents would have been different.

How does this type of writing affect the notion of ‘author’? Is that person distanced?     
It is true that it’s something quite special to write from found materials: you grab hold of real words that were once uttered somewhere in the world, and transfer them, as they are, into the theatre space. But working from recordings is not neutral, you have to select them, edit them, arrange them, stage them, accompany them, etc. We are far from the readymade here. Even if the practice differs from writing in the traditional sense, the gesture remains that of an author. And it might not even be so different from classical dramaturgical writing. After all, words are found objects too.

Other people’s words become your words, you end up endorsing them. Certainly, it is theft! But I don’t actually believe in the standpoint of creator ex nihilo. Vinaver also reclaims a script from documents, as well as Peter Weiss for L’Instruction, not to mention some of the objectivists in poetry, like Reznikoff and Zukovsky. This kind of practice is nothing new, except perhaps that we take the literal one step further, since we do not claim ownership and we reproduce not only the text of the words but the whole prosodic dimension of the speech. For us, it is always about conveying how the meaning (or rather, sense) can be constructed beyond or below the words: in a stammering, an accent on a syllable, a suspense, an acceleration. What is said and represented, then, is at once text and more than text.

I have the same relationship with my recordings as a playwright has with their characters. This is why I use the term ‘theatre’ to define what I do, rather than, say, ‘performance’ or ‘poetry’. The playwright is not asked to personally identify with all of his characters. A good theatre piece has everything. I don’t try to judge my characters. A good character is not a good character: it’s a real character. This is another aspect of our work with l’Encyclopédie: to take care that the moral or political dimension does not immediately screen, and to know how to recognise beautiful characters even among political opponents or morally corrupt beings.     

You put aside the idea of a narration, but Suite n°4, like all the l’Encyclopédie projects, tells us something about the world we live in. An exploded story?
Yes, I think the piece basically tells a story, though surely not a linear or continuous one. But this is how I absorb the words that surround us. It is less in the succession than in the superposition, the zigzag, the disjunction, the multidimension. Telling a story made up of these multiple stories consists of finding the means of making very diverse words, registers, and situations fit together: it is a process of harmonising the differences. What it says, maybe, is less about the world itself than the fragmented and mediated manner in which we experience it.

  • Excerpts from Stéphane Roth’s interview with Joris Lacoste on the creation of his piece for the Musica Festival in Strasbourg in September 2020.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivalsdesarts-Kaaitheater   
Concept: Encyclopédie de la parole & Ictus | Dramaturgy, direction: Joris Lacoste | Instrumental music composition: Pierre-Yves Macé | Electro-acoustic music composition: Sébastien Roux | Audio document collectors: Joris Lacoste, Oscar Lozano Pérez, Elise Simonet | Sound: Stéphane Leclercq, Alexandre Fostier | Light design, scenography: Florian Leduc | Graphic, video: Oscar Lozano Pérez | Stage management: Wilfried Van Dyck | Artistic collaboration: Elise Simonet, Oscar Lozano Pérez, Nicolas Rollet | Choreographic consulting: Marie Goudot | Production, administration: Edwige Dousset, Garance Crouillère, with the assistance of Victoire Costes | With: Hugo Abraham (double bass, electric bass), Tom De Cock (percussion), Chryssi Dimitriou (flutes), Luca Piovesan (accordion), Jean-Luc Plouvier (electronic keyboard), Eva Reiter (Paetzold flute, viola da gamba), Primož Sukič (electric guitar, mandolin, banjo) | Production: Echelle 1:1 (company subsidized by the Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication / DRAC Île-de-France and by the Conseil régional d'île-de-France) in partnership with Ensemble Ictus (supported by the European Commission, the Flemish Community-Vlaamse Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommisie) | With the support of the Fondation d’entreprise Hermès within the framework of the New Settings Program | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Festival d’Automne à Paris, MC93 – Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Wiener Festwochen, Ensemble Ictus, Teatro Municipal do Porto, Le Quartz - Scène Nationale de Brest, Festival Musica | With the participation of DICREAM | Suite n°4 was in residency at: Les Subs, Lyon, Season 2019-20, MC93 - Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Théâtre National de Strasbourg | Guest audio document researchers: Harris Baptiste, Charlotte de Bekker, Tom Boyaval, Sachith Joseph Cheruvatur, Sibel Diker, Julie Etienne, Lucas Guimarães, Otto Kakhidze, Priscila Natany, Nicolas Rollet, Ghita Serraj, Prodromos Tsinikoris, Ece Vitrinel | With the help: Naby Moïse Bangoura, Anne Chaniolleau, Maria Cojocariu, Hélène Collin, Pauline et Balthazar Curnier-Jardin, Guillaume Deloire, Monica Demuru, Maria Clara Ferrer, João Fiadeiro, Karin de Frumerie, Fanny Gayard, David-Alexandre Guéniot, Hanna Hedman, Oleg Khristolyubskiy, Anneke Lacoste, Kathy Kyunghoo Lee, Sabine Macher, Federico Paino, Jin Young Park, Sergiu Popescu, Kittisak Pornpitakpong, Irina Ryabikina, Bernhard Staudinger, Giorgia Vignola, Ling Zhu | Performances in Brussels in the frame of EXTRA (2020) with the support of the French Institute and the French Embassy in Belgium

28.05

  • 16:00 → 22:00

29.05

  • 16:00 → 22:00

30.05

  • 16:00 → 22:00
website by lvh

Encyclopédie de la parole / Joris Lacoste, Pierre‑Yves Macé, Sébastien Roux & Ictus Paris / Bruxelles

Suite n°4

musique / installation

Kaaitheater

| Many languages → FR, NL, EN | €14 / €11 | Installation en boucle. Entrée toutes les 15 min. Vous pouvez choisir votre créneaux horaire. | ⧖ 2h en boucle

Après Suite n°1, 2 et 3, Encyclopédie de la parole crée la dernière partie de sa série très acclamée. Pour Suite n°4, le collectif retourne à la source, la matière première qui constitue la base des itérations passées : les voix enregistrées de leur riche collection de sons. Ce ne sont plus les acteur·rices qui font revivre les voix perdues, mais les orateur·rices même qui reviennent du passé pour parler avec leurs propres voix. Malgré cette absence physique, les personnages sont d’une présence palpable. À l’instar des fantômes, ils resurgissent d’un lieu lointain et font entendre leur voix. Préparez-vous à un voyage mental qui utilise toutes les ressources du théâtre; une installation sonore et visuelle où les voix sont accompagnées par les compositions de l’ensemble bruxellois Ictus. En mettant l’accent sur l’agilité et la musicalité infinies de la parole humaine, Suite n°4 est une célébration de ce qui est le plus vivant et le plus fugace pour l’être humain. Une manière de reproduire, pour la dernière fois, toutes ces voix précieuses mais souvent peu accessibles. 

Voir aussi : Bring your kids

read more

Interview de Joris Lacoste    

Le projet de l’Encyclopédie de la parole est intimement lié à la musique. Peux-tu nous rappeler le cheminement qui t’a conduit à la Suite n°4 ?
L’Encyclopédie de la parole est un projet qui travaille à révéler la forme de la parole, sa dimension sonore, sa musicalité. Au début du projet en 2007, l’enjeu n’était pas encore de faire des spectacles mais simplement de construire une collection sonore en collectant des enregistrements de parole autour de différents phénomènes tels que la cadence, l’espacement, la mélodie, la saturation, le résidu, etc. On a commencé avec le concours de collecteur·euses venu·es de tous horizons, et la première année on organisait chaque mois une séance d’écoute aux Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers où on invitait un·e musicien·ne ou artiste sonore – c’est ainsi que j’ai rencontré Pierre-Yves Macé et Sébastien Roux – à composer une pièce sonore à partir de la collecte : l’idée était déjà d’essayer d’écouter la parole la plus ordinaire avec une oreille plus attentive à la musique qu’aux mots, tout au moins de déplacer notre écoute du quoi vers le comment, du sens vers le son.

Un peu plus tard, quand on a eu l’idée de faire des spectacles, on a assez naturellement adopté les codes de la musique et du concert. Dans Parlement, Emmanuelle Lafon est debout face au public, avec un pupitre et un micro, dans une relation à la salle qui s’inspire du récital, voire de la posture de la chanteuse pop. Suite n°1 prend la forme d’un chœur parlé de vingt-deux interprètes dirigé·es par un chef. À partir de Suite n°2, la musique intervient plus directement : pour cette pièce j’ai proposé à Pierre-Yves Macé de composer des accompagnements vocaux pour certaines scènes. Depuis ce moment on réfléchit avec Pierre-Yves aux possibles rapports entre musique et parole, comment la musique peut illustrer, colorer, commenter une parole, en révéler la forme en soulignant ce qu’elle a de régulier ou au contraire en accentuant son imprévisibilité. Dans tous les cas la musique opère un « cadrage ». Cette réflexion nous a mené à la Suite n°3, où la musique est omniprésente puisque toutes les paroles interprétées sont accompagnées au piano dans ce qui s’apparente à un petit opéra.

Avec Suite n°4, on conduit le processus à son terme puisque la musique est devenue à ce point centrale qu’il n’y a même plus d’acteur·rices présent·es sur scène. Cela dit, c’est peut-être paradoxalement la pièce la plus théâtrale du cycle, dans la mesure où elle joue beaucoup moins avec les codes de représentation de la musique. L’enjeu premier pour moi est en effet de réussir à faire du théâtre malgré l’absence d’acteurs. Cela passe par une certaine manière de surjouer les codes classiques du théâtre, par exemple le découpage en actes, la scénographie, un certain usage de l’espace et de la lumière, et surtout une certaine fiction-
nalisation voire une dramatisation des réalités contenues dans les enregistrements.

Vous vous créditez tous les trois sous le terme « composition » dans le générique : pour toi, la composition dramaturgique, pour Pierre-Yves, la composition instrumentale, et pour Sébastien, la composition électroacoustique.         
Déjà pour Parlement et la Suite n°1, je m’étais crédité en « composition », je trouvais ça plus juste que « texte » ou que « dramaturgie », dans la mesure où la « partition » du spectacle est littéralement une composition sonore. Pour Suite n°3 et Suite n°4 il a fallu trouver une manière de distinguer mon travail de celui de la composition musicale. On a choisi de garder pour nous trois le terme de composition, mais en précisant pour chacun son objet. Il s’agit toujours de composer, mais avec des matériaux et des pratiques différentes. Cela exprime peut-être aussi quelque chose de la manière dont nous collaborons tous les trois, qui est particulièrement intriquée, dans une sorte d’horizontalité qui est assez rare au théâtre, où la musique se trouve la plupart du temps dans une position subalterne.     

Comment compose-t-on une telle pièce qui semble déroger aux lois du genre ? De quelle manière sélectionnes-tu les documents sonores ?
L’écriture commence par la collecte : il faut d’abord trouver des enregistrements, les sélectionner, les couper, les transcrire, parfois les traduire. C’est un peu comme un casting de personnages. Il faut rencontrer des centaines de candidat·es pour n’en garder au final qu’une quarantaine ou une cinquantaine. C’est une phase très longue, qui se fait avec le soutien de précieux·ses collaborateur·ices (ici Elise Simonet, Oscar Lozano Perez et Julie Etienne) et de dizaines de correspondant·es dans de nombreux pays.

Cette recherche se fait à partir d’axes dramaturgiques induits. Ce n’est jamais un thème, je ne fais pas une pièce sur quelque chose. Mon travail n’est pas à proprement parler documentaire, même s’il n’utilise que des documents réels. Pour la Suite n°4, c’est l’idée d’absence-présence intrinsèque à l’enregistrement qui nous a guidés : car une voix enregistrée est toujours, au fond, un fantôme qui revient nous parler au présent. C’est le pouvoir propre de l’enregistrement que de redonner vie à des voix du passé. Nous avons donc cherché des documents qui nous faisaient entendre quelque chose de cela.

Ce n’est pas du tout aléatoire, ça ne relève pas non plus du cut-up. C’est le royaume de la sérendipité. Les documents du spectacle sont des documents qui sont passés dans ma vie, à un moment où l’autre, soit parce que je suis allé à leur rencontre, soit de façon plus involontaire. C’est le résultat d’une enquête qui a été menée pendant deux ans, et durant laquelle on a traversé différents contextes, différents paysages. On aurait fait la pièce deux ans plus tôt ou plus tard, les documents auraient été différents.

En quoi ce type d’écriture touche-t-il la notion d’auteur·rice ? Est-il distancié ?
C’est vrai que c’est quelque chose d’assez particulier que d’écrire à partir de matériaux trouvés : on se saisit de paroles réelles qui ont été dites un jour quelque part dans le monde, et on les déplace telles quelles dans l’espace du théâtre. Mais travailler à partir d’enregistrements n’a rien de neutre : il faut les sélectionner, les couper, les agencer, les mettre en scène, les accompagner, etc. On est loin du ready-made. Même si la pratique diffère de l’écriture au sens traditionnel, le geste reste celui d’un·e auteur·rice. Et ce n’est peut-être même pas si différent de l’écriture dramaturgique classique : après tout, les mots aussi sont des objets trouvés.

Les mots des autres deviennent tes mots, tu finis par les signer. Certes, c’est du vol ! Mais je ne crois pas trop à la posture du·de la créateur·rice ex-nihilo. Vinaver aussi revendique une écriture à partir de documents, ou encore le Peter Weiss de L’Instruction, sans parler des objectivistes en poésie comme Reznikoff ou Zukovsky. Ce genre de pratique n’a rien de nouveau, sauf peut-être que nous poussons d’un degré la littéralité, puisque nous nous approprions et reproduisons non plus seulement le texte des mots, mais toute la dimension prosodique de la parole. Il s’agit en effet toujours pour nous de faire entendre comment le sens (ou plutôt du sens) peut se construire au-delà ou en-deçà des mots : dans un bafouillement, un accent mis sur une syllabe, un suspens, une accélération. Ce qui se dit et se représente alors est à la fois du texte et plus que du texte.

J’ai la même relation avec mes enregistrements qu’un dramaturge avec ses personnages. C’est la raison pour laquelle je tiens au terme de « théâtre » pour définir ce que je fais, plutôt que par exemple « performance » ou « poésie ». On ne demande pas au·à la dramaturge de s’identifier personnellement avec tous ses personnages. Une bonne pièce de théâtre est faite de tout. Je ne cherche pas à juger mes personnages. Un bon personnage n’est pas un personnage bon : c’est un personnage vrai. C’est un autre aspect de notre travail avec l’Encyclopédie : faire attention à ce que la dimension morale ou politique ne fasse pas d’emblée écran, et savoir reconnaître de beaux personnages même chez des adversaires politiques ou des êtres moralement corrompus.

Tu mets de côté l’idée d’une narration, mais la Suite n°4 comme tous les projets de l’Encyclopédie nous racontent quelque chose du monde dans lequel nous vivons. Un récit éclaté ?
Oui je pense que la pièce raconte au fond une histoire, certes pas vraiment linéaire ou continue, mais c’est ainsi que je reçois les paroles qui nous entourent : moins dans la succession que dans la superposition, le zig-zag, la disjonction, la multi-dimension. Raconter une histoire faite de ces multiples histoires consiste à trouver des moyens de faire tenir ensemble des paroles, des registres, des situations très diverses : c’est un processus d’harmonisation des différences. Ce que ça raconte, peut-être, c’est moins le monde lui-même que la manière fragmentée et médiatisée dont nous l’expérimentons.

  • Extraits de l’interview de Joris Lacoste par Stéphane Roth pour la création de la pièce au Festival Musica à Strasbourg en septembre 2020.

Présentation : Kunstenfestivalsdesarts-Kaaitheater   
Conception : Encyclopédie de la parole, Ictus | Composition dramaturgique : Joris Lacoste | Composition musicale instrumentale : Pierre-Yves Macé | Composition musicale électro-acoustique : Sébastien Roux | Mise en scène : Joris Lacoste | Collecte des documents : Joris Lacoste, Oscar Lozano Pérez, Elise Simonet | Son : Stéphane Leclercq, Alexandre Fostier | Lumière, scénographie : Florian Leduc | Création graphique, vidéo : Oscar Lozano Pérez | Régie plateau : Wilfried Van Dyck | Collaboration artistique : Elise Simonet, Oscar Lozano Pérez, Nicolas Rollet | Conseil chorégraphique : Marie Goudot | Production, administration : Edwige Dousset, Garance Crouillère, assistées de Victoire Costes | Avec : Hugo Abraham (contrebasse, basse électrique), Tom De Cock (percussion), Chryssi Dimitriou (flûtes), Luca Piovesan (accordéon), Jean-Luc Plouvier (clavier électronique), Eva Reiter (viole de gambe, flûte Paetzold), Primož Sukič (guitare électrique, mandoline, banjo) | Production: Echelle 1:1 (compagnie conventionnée par le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication / DRAC Île-de-France et par le Conseil régional d’île-de-France), en partenariat avec Ictus (ensemble soutenu par la Commission Européenne, la Communauté Flamande - Vlaamse Overheid et Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommisie) | Avec la Fondation d’entreprise Hermès dans le cadre de son programme New Settings | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Festival d’Automne à Paris, MC93 – Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Wiener Festwochen, Ensemble Ictus, Teatro Municipal do Porto, Le Quartz - Scène Nationale de Brest, Festival Musica | Avec la participation du DICREAM | Pièce accueillie en résidence aux Subs, Lyon, Saison 2019-20, à la MC93 – Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis et au Théâtre National de Strasbourg | Collecteurs invités : Harris Baptiste, Charlotte de Bekker, Tom Boyaval, Sachith Joseph Cheruvatur, Sibel Diker, Julie Etienne, Lucas Guimarães, Otto Kakhidze, Priscila Natany, Nicolas Rollet, Ghita Serraj, Prodromos Tsinikoris, Ece Vitrinel | Avec l’aide de : Naby Moïse Bangoura, Anne Chaniolleau, Maria Cojocariu, Hélène Collin, Pauline et Balthazar Curnier-Jardin, Guillaume Deloire, Monica Demuru, Maria Clara Ferrer, João Fiadeiro, Karin de Frumerie, Fanny Gayard, David-Alexandre Guéniot, Hanna Hedman, Oleg Khristolyubskiy, Anneke Lacoste, Kathy Kyunghoo Lee, Sabine Macher, Federico Paino, Jin Young Park, Sergiu Popescu, Kittisak Pornpitakpong, Irina Ryabikina, Bernhard Staudinger, Giorgia Vignola, Ling Zhu | Performances à Bruxelles dans le cadre d'EXTRA (2020) avec le soutien de l'Institut Français et de l'Ambassade de France en Belgique

28.05

  • 16:00 → 22:00

29.05

  • 16:00 → 22:00

30.05

  • 16:00 → 22:00
website by lvh