Lia Rodrigues Rio de Janeiro

Outrar

dance — premiere

De Kriekelaar

| ⧖ 1h | €16 / €13 | In open air

Outrar means becoming the other, being contaminated by the other in a practice of continuous exchange. After her successful choreographic masterpiece Fúria – an explosive performance that caused a stir on the main stage of the Théâtre National at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts in 2019 – Lia Rodrigues returns to share a work, constructed collectively with her company in Brazil and imagined during these last month of health crisis caused by Covid-19. Faced with the impossibility of travelling – and the necessity to be in Brazil – she worked online together with the artists from her dance company and with musicians from different backgrounds to create a new project for the festival, a dispositive in which the choreography travels from continent to continent, and from body to body. Outrar is a series of choreographic inputs and a sonic letter sent from Brazil to Brazilian who are based in Europe today: a powerful journey at the threshold between distance and proximity.

read more

Outrar

Interview with Lia Rodrigues

After presenting Fúria in 2019, you return to the Kunstenfestivaldesarts in 2021 with Outrar. Derived from the noun ‘outro’, which means ‘other’ in Portuguese, this verb can be translated as ‘to make oneself different’. Fernando Pessoa, a writer known for his numerous heteronyms and fictional alter-egos, conceived this neologism to evoke a state of openness, solidarity and empathy, a capacity to imagine oneself in the place of another, as well as a recognition of the opinion and perspective of another. Considering your work on marginalized corporealities and subjectivities, how do you conceive the movement of “making oneself other”? How does this impulse towards the other manifest itself in your choreographic work?         
“To be as close as possible is not to touch, the greatest proximity is to assume the distance of the other”. This is a beautiful quote from Jean Oury [a French psychoanalyst and psychiatrist] in connection with the verb “outrar” invented by Pessoa. I’ve used this concept as a guideline for a very long time in my workshops and courses. It’s about looking at the other, transmuting and transfiguring oneself. In this sense, I also like the idea of transcreation, another neologism, this time by Augusto de Campos. I understand transcreation as the act of anthropophagy of the other, but not with a view to annihilating him or her but rather to approaching his or her qualities. Thus, rather than literally becoming another, “outrar” is a radical listening to the other, and a possibility of finding something common in difference.   

This radical listening began as a curiosity, a desire, but I soon realized that it was a civic duty, a responsibility in a country marked by racism and structural inequalities. As a choreographer, and from my position as a white middle-class person in Brazil, I consider it a duty to create links and spaces of encounter with the other.     

This radical listening to the other runs through your practice on several levels. It is central to your working methodology and your pedagogy. The explicit references to indigenous cosmovisions in the trilogy Pororoca (2009), Piracema (2011), Pindorama (2013) and Para que o céu não caia (2016) are also symptomatic of this openness to otherness. Finally, you follow this commitment on a daily basis in Maré, one of the largest favelas in Rio de Janeiro, where you based your company in 2004, and where you created, within the framework of the NGO Redes da Maré, the Maré Arts Centre with Silvia Soter and Eliana Sousa Silva in 2009, as well as its Free School of Dance. Why do you emphasize this impulse towards the other, an inclination that is omnipresent in your practice, precisely at this moment?         
First and foremost, Outrar is linked to the health crisis we’re going through, and the flagrant inequalities it has exacerbated. Which bodies are dying the most? On the day we’re conducting this interview, 25 people were murdered in Jacarézinho, the favela next to Maré. An act of barbarism under a management aligned with that of Bolsonaro. 25 people, not 25 criminals. This is an urgent subject of reflection that cannot be ignored.

The idea for the conception of this work arose practically during a residency at the Pianofabriek in December 2020, at the invitation of the directors of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Daniel Blanga Gubbay and Dries Douibi. I spent a week alone in a dance studio, whereas I usually work in a collective, in a relationship with each other. With my company, we work in collaboration: they dance and I weave, braid and interweave the choreographic framework. This time, I did the opposite. I danced alone in Brussels and was sent instructions from a distance via Zoom. That’s when I realized that this collective solo opened up possibilities.     

“Collective Solo” is a good synthesis of the condition of virtual sociability that we’re experiencing during this pandemic. Beyond these technological tools that allow us to be together at a distance, what were the dynamics of exchange and transmission that you established during the Outrar process?
Based on the conversations with Daniel and Dries, we thought of a project that could put several people in contact. I got together with all the artists in my company and we came up with the format of a collective letter. Each artist proposed fragments of instructions. The letter is the sum of their contributions, with a total of 27 tasks: being a peacock, being a gorilla, the coffee break, manipulating an object, trembling, bird’s wings, constellating, becoming turbulent, appearing and disappearing, etc.

I followed more or less the same principle for the music. I called up musicians I know, who were close to me, and asked them to send me sound extracts. I compiled extracts of music that Zeca Assumpção had created for me a long time ago, recordings of the Dutch singer Henk Zwart who lived upstairs from me, which I then sent to Zeca in São Paulo, of the electro-acoustic group ‘Cadeira’ of which my daughter Inês Assumpção is a member, of the Dutch DJ Mendel, and also of sounds created by the dancers. Musician Alexandre Seabra helped me edit and mix the soundtrack. It wasn’t only a long-distance encounter but also an intergenerational one: from Zeca Assumpcão who is 76 years old to the young people who are receiving their first paycheck.

This framework of music fragments and instructions make up this sound letter to Brazilian artists who are in Europe: Luyd Carvalho, Marllon Araújo, Volmir Cordeiro, Calixto Neto. The artists are totally free to do what they want with this gift letter, the only rule is to use this sound-track, which is the same for all.

Considering this period of scarcity and crisis, we thought of making a project where everyone could receive the same pay. Outrar is a form of mutual aid and starts from a desire to distribute resources and opportunities. I always think that my work should be supportive. I want artists to survive, I want young people to be enthusiastic about continuing their work. Perhaps creation can give courage to face this difficult moment? In any case, at a time when Brazil has a record number of deaths and the state has murdered 25 people, I think that to create is to make a pact with life.     

Consolidating an affective framework and consciously activating a support network is just one example of how ethics and aesthetics come together in your practice. In an increasingly fragile cultural milieu in Brazil, do you see your commitment to the collective and your artistic work as a form of resistance?         
I’m rather reticent about using the word resistance to talk about artists. I think that the first resistance is not made by the artists, but by the bodies that are considered peripheral. They say yes to life every day. In my opinion, this word is relative to other resistances. It’s with these bodies considered peripheral that I learn to resist. I prefer to talk about the ecology of doing, which is still different from an ecological attitude that in Europe is associated with, for example, not travelling by plane. While recognising the seriousness of the environmental situation, I understand ecology in a broader sense.         

Firstly, we have to listen to those who have been talking about ecology for more than 500 years, the indigenous peoples, and then the quilombolas [self-organised communities of Afro-Brazilian origin]. Their wisdom is almost systematically ignored. Generally speaking, it seems to me that Europe is still rather reticent when it comes to non-Western knowledge, and still adopts a very male and white perspective. So we need to de-focus, to widen the centre, and to make this space accessible to other world views, to become literate in other literatures.         

My ecological attitude consists in working continuously with the territory. This is what led me to become involved with Redes da Maré, an NGO formed by the inhabitants of this favela. I went there in 2003 for the first time, and it was then a place that few contemporary artists visited. The Maré Arts Centre was born out of a meeting with Eliana Sousa Silva, director of Redes da Maré, and Silvia Soter, a playwright and professor at the Faculty of Education of 
the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. It is part of a larger, multi-purpose complex: it is a space for dance, the arts, seminars, and meetings of the favela’s residents. There, art is not separated from life, it is next to life. I am convinced that we need other purposes, other meanings for art to have meaning. So Outrar is part of my way of looking at life. It’s not just a choreography, it’s about creating a way of being in the world, compromising with the creation of spaces where differences can meet.       

  • Interview conducted on 7 May 2021, edited and translated from Portuguese by Olivia Ardui.

Presentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-De Kriekelaar

Direction, creation : Lia Rodrigues | With: Marllon Araújo, Luyd Carvalho, Volmir Codeiro, Calixto Neto | Creation: Amalia Lima, Leonardo Nunes, Carolina Repetto, Valentina Fittipaldi, Andrey Silva, Larissa Lima, Ricardo Xavier | Original soundtrack created and performed by: Zeca Assumpção, Henk Zwart, Mendel , Grupo Cadeira (Inês Assumpção, Jorge Potyguara, Miguel Bevilacqua, Henrique Rabello) and parts of the CD 'Authentic South America 5 , The Amazon' | Editing and mixing: Alexandre Seabra | Commissioned and produced by Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Supported by: Kunstenwerkplaats

 

20.05

  • 20:30
  • Luyd Carvalho & Marllon Araújo Volmir Cordeiro

21.05

  • 20:30
  • Luyd Carvalho & Marllon Araújo Volmir Cordeiro

22.05

  • 20:30
  • Calixto Neto Volmir Cordeiro

23.05

  • 18:00
  • Volmir Cordeiro Calixto Neto
  • 20:30
  • Luyd Carvalho & Marllon Araújo Calixto Neto

24.05

  • 20:30
  • Calixto Neto Volmir Cordeiro
website by lvh

Lia Rodrigues Rio de Janeiro

Outrar

danse — premiere

De Kriekelaar

| ⧖ 1h | €16 / €13 | En plein air

Outrar signifie devenir l'autre, être infecté par l'autre dans une pratique d'échange constant. Après le succès de son chef-d'œuvre chorégraphique Fúria – une performance explosive qui a fait fureur sur la scène principale du Théâtre National au Kunstenfestivaldesarts en 2019 – Lia Rodrigues revient pour partager avec le public bruxellois un diamant brut de danse, imaginé durant ces longs mois de crise sanitaire et créé collectivement au Brésil avec sa compagnie. Face à l'impossibilité de voyager – et à la nécessité d'être au Brésil – elle a travaillé « en ligne » sur ce nouveau projet pour le festival avec les artistes de sa compagnie et avec des musiciens de différents horizons, un dispositif dans lequel la chorégraphie voyage de continent à continent, et de corps à corps. Outrar est une série d’incitations chorégraphiques et une lettre sonore envoyée du Brésil aux danseur·euses proches de Lia Rodrigues et désormais basés en Europe : un puissant voyage à la frontière entre distance et proximité.

read more

Outrar

Entretien avec Lia Rodrigues

Après avoir présenté Fúria en 2019, vous revenez au Kunstenfestivaldesarts en 2021 avec Outrar. Dérivé du substantif « outro », « autre » en portugais, ce verbe peut se traduire par « s’autruifier » ou encore « se faire autre ». Fernando Pessoa, écrivain connu pour ses nombreux hétéronymes et alter-égos fictifs, a conçu ce néologisme pour évoquer un état d’ouverture, de solidarité et d’empathie, une capacité à s’imaginer à la place d’un autre, ainsi qu’une reconnaissance de l’opinion et de la perspective d’autrui. Considérant votre travail relatif aux corporéités et aux subjectivités marginalisées, comment concevez-vous le mouvement de « se faire autre » ? Comment cet élan vers l’autre se manifeste-il dans votre travail chorégraphique ?         
« Être au plus proche, ce n’est pas toucher, la plus grande proximité est d’assumer le lointain de l’autre ». Voici une très belle citation de Jean Oury [psychanalyste et psychiatre français] en lien avec le verbe « outrar » inventé par Pessoa. Depuis très longtemps dans mes workshops et mes cours, j’utilise ce concept comme consigne. Il s’agit de regarder l’autre, de se transmuter, se transfigurer. Dans ce sens, j’aime aussi beaucoup l’idée de transcréation, un autre néologisme, de Augusto de Campos cette fois-ci. Je comprends transcréation comme l’acte d’anthropophagie de l’autre, pas en vue de l’anéantir mais plutôt d’approcher ses qualités. Ainsi, plutôt que de littéralement devenir un·e autre, « outrar » est une écoute radicale de l’autre, et une possibilité de trouver quelque chose de commun dans la différence.

Cette écoute radicale a commencé comme une curiosité, un désir, mais j’ai rapidement compris que c’était un devoir civique, une responsabilité dans un pays marqué par le racisme et les inégalités structurelles. En tant que chorégraphe, et de par ma position en tant que personne blanche de classe moyenne au Brésil, je considère que c’est un devoir de tisser des liens et de créer des espaces de rencontre avec l’autre.     

Cette écoute radicale de l’autre traverse votre pratique à plusieurs niveaux. Elle est centrale dans votre méthodologie de travail et dans votre pédagogie. Les références explicites aux cosmovisions indigènes dans la trilogie Pororoca (2009), Piracema (2011), Pindorama (2013) ou encore Para que o céu não caia (2016), sont aussi symptomatiques de cette ouverture à l’altérité. Enfin, vous suivez cet engagement de façon quotidienne à Maré, une des plus grandes favelas de Rio de Janeiro, où vous avez basé votre compagnie en 2004, et où vous avez créé, dans le cadre de l’ONG Redes da Maré, le Centre d’Arts de Maré avec Silvia Soter et Eliana Sousa Silva en 2009, ainsi que son École Libre de Danse. Pourquoi mettre en exergue cet élan vers l’autre, inclinaison pourtant omniprésente dans votre pratique, précisément en ce moment ?         

Avant tout, Outrar est lié à la crise sanitaire que nous traversons, et aux inégalités flagrantes qu’elle a exacerbées. Quels sont les corps qui meurent le plus ? Le jour où nous réalisons cet entretien, 25 personnes ont été assassinées à Jacarézinho, la favela voisine de Maré. Un acte de barbarie sous une gestion alignée avec celle de Bolsonaro. 25 personnes, et non 25 criminels. C’est un sujet urgent de réflexion qui ne peut pas être ignoré.         

Pratiquement, l’idée du travail surgit lors d’une résidence réalisée au Pianofabriek en décembre 2020, à l’invitation des directeurs du Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Daniel Blanga Gubbay et Dries Douibi. J’ai passé une semaine seule dans un studio de danse alors que d’habitude je travaille toujours en collectif, dans un rapport à l’autre. Avec ma compagnie, nous travaillons en collaboration : iels dansent et moi je tisse, je tresse et entrelace la trame chorégraphique. Cette fois, j’ai fait le contraire. J’ai dansé seule à Bruxelles et on m’envoyait des instructions à distance par Zoom. C’est alors que j’ai compris que ce solo collectif ouvrait des possibilités.     

« Solo collectif » est une bonne synthèse de la condition de sociabilité virtuelle que nous expérimentons au cours de cette pandémie. Au-delà de ces outils technologiques qui nous permettent d’être ensembles à distance, quelles ont été les dynamiques d’échange et de transmission que vous avez établies lors du processus d’Outrar ?         
À partir des conversations avec Daniel et Dries, nous avons pensé à un projet qui pouvait mettre en contact plusieurs personnes. Je me suis réunie avec tous·tes les artistes de ma compagnie et nous avons abouti au format de la lettre collective. Chaque artiste a proposé des fragments d’instructions. La lettre est la somme de leurs contributions, qui compte au total 27 tâches : être paon, être gorille, la pause café, manipuler un objet, trembler, ailes d’oiseau, consteller, devenir turbulent·e [turbante-se], apparaître et disparaître, etc.         

J’ai suivi plus ou moins le même principe pour la musique. J’ai convoqué des musicien·nes que je connaissais, qui étaient proches de moi et leur ai demandé de m’envoyer des extraits sonores. J’ai compilé des extraits de musique que Zeca Assumpção avait créé pour moi il y a longtemps, des enregistrements du chanteur hollandais Henk Zwart qui vivait au-dessus de chez moi, et que j’ai ensuite envoyé à Zeca à São Paulo, du groupe électro acoustique ‘Cadeira’ dont ma fille Inês Assumpção fait partie, du DJ hollandais Mendel et aussi des sonorités créés par les danseur·euses. Le musicien Alexandre Seabra m’a aidée à monter et mixer cette bande-son. Ce fut non seulement une rencontre à distance mais également intergénérationnelle : de Zeca Assumpcão qui a 76 ans aux jeunes qui reçoivent leur première rémunération.         

Cette trame de fragments de musique et d’instructions composent cette lettre sonore destinée à des artistes brésilien·nes qui sont en Europe : Luyd Carvalho, Marllon Araújo, Volmir Cordeiro, Calixto Neto. Les artistes sont totalement libres de faire ce qu’iels veulent avec cette lettre-cadeau, la seule règle est d’utiliser cette bande-son, qui est la même pour tous·tes.         

Considérant cette période de pénurie et de crise, nous avons pensé à faire un projet où tout le monde pouvait recevoir la même rémunération. Outrar est une forme d’entre-aide, et part d’une envie de distribuer les ressources et les opportunités. Je pense toujours que mon travail doit être solidaire. Je souhaite que les artistes survivent, que les jeunes restent enthousiastes à l’idée de poursuivre leur travail. Peut-être la création peut-elle insuffler du courage pour affronter ce moment difficile ? En tout cas, dans un moment où le Brésil enregistre un nombre record de mort·es et où l’État assassine, je pense que créer, c’est conclure un pacte avec la vie.     

Consolider une trame affective et consciemment activer un réseau de soutien n’est qu’un exemple de la manière dont éthique et esthétique se rejoignent dans votre pratique. Dans un milieu culturel de plus en plus fragilisé au Brésil, est-ce que vous concevez votre engagement au collectif et votre travail artistique comme une forme de résistance ?         
Je suis plutôt réticente par rapport à l’utilisation du mot résistance pour parler des artistes. Je pense que la première résistance n’est pas faite par les artistes, mais par les corps qui sont considérés périphériques. Ils disent oui à la vie tous les jours. Dans ma bouche, ce mot est relatif par rapport à d’autres résistances. C’est avec ces corps considérés périphériques que j’apprends à résister. Je préfère parler d’écologie du faire, ce qui est encore différent d’une attitude écologique qui en Europe est associée par exemple à ne plus voyager en avion. Tout en reconnaissant la gravité de la situation environnementale, je conçoit l’écologie de façon plus large.       

Premièrement, nous devons écouter celles et ceux qui parlent d’écologie depuis plus de 500 ans, les peuples indigènes, et puis ensuite les quilombolas [communautés auto-organisées d’origine Afro-brésilienne]. Leur sagesse est presque systématiquement ignorée. De manière générale, il me semble que l’Europe est encore assez réticente en ce qui concerne des savoirs non-occidentaux, et adopte une perspective encore très masculine et blanche. Il faut donc se dé-centrer, élargir le centre, et rendre accessible cet espace à d’autres conceptions du monde, se cultiver au contact d’autres littératures.         

Mon attitude écologique consiste à faire un travail continu avec le territoire. C’est ce qui m’a poussé à m’engager à Redes da Maré, une ONG formée par des habitants de cette favela. J’y suis allée en 2003 la première fois, et c’était alors un lieu que peu d’artistes contemporain·es visitaient. Le Centre d’Arts de Maré est né de la rencontre avec Eliana Sousa Silva, directrice de Redes da Maré, et Silvia Soter, dramaturge et professeure de la faculté d’éducation de l’Université Fédérale de Rio de Janeiro. Il fait partie d’un ensemble plus large et polyvalent : c’est un espace de danse, d’arts, de séminaires, de rencontres avec les résidents de la favela. Là, l’art n’est pas séparé de la vie, il côtoie la vie. Je suis convaincue que nous avons besoin d’autres desseins, d’autres sens pour que l’art ait un sens. Outrar fait donc partie de ma façon d’envisager la vie. Il ne s’agit pas uniquement d’une chorégraphie, ce travail s’inscrit dans la création d’une manière d’être dans le monde, compromise avec la mise en place d’espaces où les différences peuvent se rencontrer.         

  • Entretien réalisé le 7 mai 2021, édité et traduit du portugais par Olivia Ardui.

Presentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-De Kriekelaar

Direction, création : Lia Rodrigues  | Avec :  Marllon Araújo, Luyd Carvalho, Volmir Codeiro, Calixto Neto | Création: Amalia Lima, Leonardo Nunes, Carolina Repetto, Valentina Fittipaldi, Andrey Silva, Larissa Lima, Ricardo Xavier  | Bande originale créée et jouée par: Zeca Assumpção, Henk Zwart, Mendel ,  Grupo Cadeira (Inês Assumpção, Jorge Potyguara, Miguel Bevilacqua, Henrique Rabello) et pieces du CD ‘Authentic South America 5, The Amazon’ | Montage et mixage: Alexandre Seabra | Commissioned and produced by Kunstenfestivaldesarts | Supported by: Kunstenwerkplaats 

20.05

  • 20:30
  • Luyd Carvalho & Marllon Araújo Volmir Cordeiro

21.05

  • 20:30
  • Luyd Carvalho & Marllon Araújo Volmir Cordeiro

22.05

  • 20:30
  • Calixto Neto Volmir Cordeiro

23.05

  • 18:00
  • Volmir Cordeiro Calixto Neto
  • 20:30
  • Luyd Carvalho & Marllon Araújo Calixto Neto

24.05

  • 20:30
  • Calixto Neto Volmir Cordeiro
website by lvh