Mariano Pensotti / Grupo Marea Buenos Aires

Le public / Het publiek

theatre / cinema

French, Dutch, English, Polish, Spanish, Arabic → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 1h30

An audience enters the Théâtre des Martyrs in Brussels, waits for the play to start and then leaves the building. We will not be seeing this play – which is fictional, as is its audience – but we will be following six spectators who were in the theatre. In six filmed episodes, we see them and learn how the play, this ephemeral art form, has become lodged in their memories and affected their lives in Brussels in the 24 hours that follow. Argentine film-maker, dramaturge and theatre director Mariano Pensotti rekindles his long history with the festival with Le public / Het publiek, a powerful homage to theatre and to Brussels. Episode by episode, and through contradictory accounts given by the six spectators, we gradually reconstruct the play we have not seen; and on the Place des Martyrs next to the eponymous theatre, the echo of some scenes can also be heard, blurring the boundaries of fiction and reality. At a time when theatres are closed, Le public / Het publiek highlights the importance of a common experience and the way in which it influences our existence, while reminding us that without an audience there can be no performing arts.

read more

Le Public / Het public

We miss seeing live theatre plays, we miss being an audience. We talk a lot about plays, the ones we saw, the ones we can't see, what happens and will happen on stage, but even in more ordinary times than these we talk little about the audience. Which are the stories of the people who goes to see a theater piece? How much their lives are transformed by that experience? In which measure what they saw is later modified by their memories? As is known, sometimes watching people in the audience is more interesting and intriguing than what happens on stage. It is not uncommon that their memories of the pieces are much more complex than the works themselves.

Le Public / Het public is a film about a theater audience and the city they live in. It’s also about a theater piece that we only get to know through the narration of it. And it is, perhaps without having proposed it, a project about the stories buried under the surfaces of cities.

In Le Public / Het public there’s an audience who goes to see a play in a Brussels Theater. The audience take their seats before the show starts, reading the hand program, chatting to each other. The piece starts but we don't see it. We see the audience leaving the Theater right after the show ends. We would follow 6 persons, we would see their stories during the 24 hours after and to what extent that play affected their lives. Each story is a short film. By following their stories and by listening their storytelling we – as real audience – can reconstruct the play the fictional audience saw.

Le Public / Het public is not a documentary piece or a sociological study on the audience but an attempt to explore it as a possible fictional trigger. To be an audience is to be transformed by fictions, we decided to take an audience to create a fiction that perhaps in turn summons and transforms other audiences.

What happens when an audience stops being a mere spectator and becomes a protagonist? In 1830, in Brussels, an audience came out to see a play at La Monnaie/De Munt and started a revolution. Part of that public ended up murdered and buried under a square, right where a theater now stands. The current audience leaves that venue and walks, without knowing it, on the graves of the revolutionary public of the past. Almost 200 years later, the question of what happens to audiences that go out to see a play is still relevant. The power of fictions is undoubted, the power of the public transformed into a protagonist perhaps still unexplored.

In a time where being an audience has often become impossible, the transformative experience of being together with others, attending a live fiction, the irreplaceable experience of sharing a place, a time and the ability to collectively transform it resists disappearing and opens the doors to new stories.

  • By Mariano Pensotti / Grupo Marea

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Théâtre des Martyrs

Written and Directed by Mariano Pensotti | A creation of: Grupo Marea (Pensotti, Tirantte, Vainer, Wasser) | With: Alexandra Oppo, Sophie Dewulf, Kateljine Verbeke (Short film 1), Tom Adjibi, Johan Leysen, Hervé Piron, Marie Christine Baeyens, Quentin Minon, Martin Verset (Short film 2), Matteo Salamone, Amine Hamidou, Jeanne Brochen (Short film 3), Stéphanie Van Vyve, Christophe Sermet, Maialen Arrano (Short film 4), Karin Lechner, Manon Delauvaux, Tiuku Deplus, Maëva Nicol (Short film 5), Juan Martinez, Rafael Espinel, Daniel Felipe Lopez Perez, Aran Bertetto, José Besprovany, Karim Chihab (Short film 6) | Music: Diego Vainer | Music Short film 5: Allegro Bárbaro by Bêla BARTOK | Adaptation: Lyl TIEMPO | Art Concept: Mariana Tirantte | Artistic Production: Florencia Wasser | Artist of the painting in short film 2: Kaz Shirane | Art Director: Guillaume Orain Audooren | Director of Photography: Soledad Rodriguez | Assistant Director: Agustin Gagliardi | Editor: Alejo Moguillansky, Miguel de Zuviría | Editor Asistance in Brussels: Maxime Jauret | Sound Postproduction: Nahuel Palenque | Color Postproduction, DCP: SiE7ECOLORES | Colorists: Guido Tomeo – Lucio Bonelli | Post Production Coordinator: Martín Larrea | Production Manager: Maëva Nicol | Production Assistant: Hugo Pennequin | Administrator: Daphné Vande Walle | Production trainee: Clarisse Lefebvre | Props Master: Valentin Buyse | Costume Master: Prunelle Rulens Dit Rosier | Costume trainee: Maud Bargiacchi | Make-up Master: Tiuku Deplus | A comission by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in coproduction with Wrong Men, Théâtre des Martyrs, Shelter prod | Supported by: Tax shelter.be, ING | Producer (Wrong Men): Benoît Roland | Production Associated (Wrong Men): Alexandra Boussiou | Production (Wrong Men): Guillaume Schuermans, Anne Brandely, Maëva Nicol | Administration, finance (Wrong Men): Daphné Vande Walle | Special thanks to: Frédérique Chabaud, Jeannine Dath, Edith Klapwijk, Renee Lodewijckx, Iwein Scheer, Dorota Szeligowska, Anne-Sophie Van Neste, Sophie Vanstratum, Isabelle Wynen, Isabelle Hennes (Screen Brussels), Ann Paternoster and Doha Zemzemi (Service voyages), Julie Portelange and Marie Skubiszewski (Ambassade de Belgique en Argentine), Françoise Lambory (Synlab Laboratorie), Laurent Goldenberg (Suite Home), Clio Rosenoer (Boghossian Foundation Villa Empain), Le bourgmestre de la commune d’Uccle, Théâtre des Martyrs (Laetitia Doffagne, Christian Gutierrez Silva, Antoine Halsberghe, Luis Vergara Santiago), La Monnaie / De Munt, Musée du tram (Nicolas Van Hee, Cédric), Warwick Brussels (Alain Vanbist, Sarah Guillemard)

Le Public / Het Publiek is the project supported by the Friends in 2021

12.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

13.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

14.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

15.05

  • 19:00
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

16.05

  • 15:00
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

17.05

  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

18.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

19.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
website by lvh

Mariano Pensotti / Grupo Marea Buenos Aires

Le public / Het publiek

théâtre / cinéma

Français, Néerlandais, Anglais, Polonais, Espagnol, Arabe → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 1h30

Un public entre dans le Théâtre des Martyrs de Bruxelles, attend le début de la pièce, et après une ellipse, ressort du bâtiment. Nous ne verrons pas cette pièce – qui est fictive, tout comme l’est ce public – mais nous suivrons six spectateur·rices qui étaient dans la salle. Nous les suivons dans six épisodes filmés et découvrons comment la pièce, art éphémère s’il en est, s’est inscrite dans leurs mémoires et a affecté leur vie à Bruxelles dans les 24 heures suivantes. Le réalisateur, dramaturge et metteur en scène argentin Mariano Pensotti, reconduit sa longue histoire avec le festival avec Le public / Het publiek, un véritable hommage au théâtre et à Bruxelles. Sur la place des Martyrs qui jouxte le théâtre du même nom, on pourrait par ailleurs entendre l’écho de certaines scènes déjà présentes dans son film. Épisode après épisode, et à travers les récits contradictoires qu’en font les six spectateur·rices, nous reconstruisons aussi progressivement l'œuvre théâtrale que nous n'avons pas vue. Dans un contexte de mobilité réduite, Le public / Het publiek questionne le partage d'une expérience commune et la manière dont elle influence nos existences, tout en rappelant que sans public, il n’y a pas d’arts vivants.

read more

Le Public / Het public

Assister à une pièce de théâtre nous manque, être un public nous manque. On parle beaucoup de théâtre, des pièces qu’on a vues, de celles qu’on ne verra pas, de ce qui se produit et se produira sur scène, mais même à des époques plus ordinaires que celle que nous vivons, on parle peu du public. Quelle est l’histoire des personnes qui assistent à une pièce de théâtre ? À quel point cette expérience transforme-t-elle leur vie ? Dans quelle mesure ce qu’ils et elles ont vu sera-t-il plus tard transformé dans leur souvenir ? Comme tout le monde le sait, il est parfois plus intéressant de regarder les personnes du public que ce qui se produit sur scène. Il n’est pas rare que dans leur souvenir, la pièce soit bien plus complexe que l’œuvre en elle-même. 

Le Public / Het public est un film qui s’intéresse à un public de théâtre et à la ville qu’il habite. C’est aussi un film sur une pièce de théâtre que nous ne découvrons qu’au travers le récit de celle-ci. Et c’est aussi, peut-être sans l’avoir voulu, un projet qui concerne les histoires cachées sous la surface des villes. 

Dans Le Public / Het public, un public assiste à une pièce dans un théâtre bruxellois. Le public prend place avant le début de la pièce, lit le programme, se fait la conversation. La pièce commence mais on ne la voit pas. À l’issue de la pièce, on voit le public quitter le théâtre. On suit ensuite six personnes de ce public pendant les 24 heures suivant le spectacle pour observer à quel point il affecte leurs vies. Chaque histoire est un court métrage. En suivant leurs histoires et en écoutant leurs récits, nous pouvons, en tant que public réel, reconstruire la pièce vue par ce public fictif. 

Le Public / Het public n’est pas un documentaire ou l’étude sociologique d’un public, mais une observation de ce public comme catalyseur de fiction. Être un public, c’est être transformé par des fictions. Nous avons donc choisi d’utiliser le public pour créer une fiction qui, peut-être, interpellera et transformera d’autres publics. 

Que se produit-il lorsqu’un public cesse d’être spectateur·ice et devient un·e protagoniste ? En 1830, à Bruxelles, le public a lancé une révolution en sortant d’une pièce au théâtre de La Monnaie. Une partie du public a fini assassiné et enterré sous une place où s’élève aujourd’hui un théâtre, dont le public actuel foule, sans le savoir, les tombes du public révolutionnaire du passé. Près de 200 ans plus tard, ce qui se produit pour le public quittant une pièce reste une question pertinente. La puissance d’une fiction n’est plus à démontrer, mais la puissance du public se transformant en protagoniste est un sujet inexploré. 

En ces temps où il est souvent impossible d’être un public, l’expérience transformative d’être ensemble, d’assister à une fiction produite sur scène, l’expérience irremplaçable de partager un même lieu, un même espace-temps, et la capacité à le transformer collectivement, résiste à l’effacement et ouvre la porte à de nouveaux récits. 

  • Mariano Pensotti / Grupo Marea

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Théâtre des Martyrs

écrit et réalisé par : Mariano Pensotti | Une création de : Grupo Marea (Pensotti, Tirantte, Vainer, Wasser) | Avec : Alexandra Oppo, Sophie Dewulf, Kateljine Verbeke (Film 1), Tom Adjibi, Johan Leysen, Hervé Piron, Marie Christine Baeyens, Quentin Minon, Martin Verset (Film 2), Matteo Salamone, Amine Hamidou, Jeanne Brochen (Film 3), Stéphanie Van Vyve, Christophe Sermet, Maialen Arrano (Film 4), Karin Lechner, Manon Delauvaux, Tiuku Deplus, Maëva Nicol (Film 5), Juan Martinez, Rafael Espinel, Daniel Felipe Lopez Perez, Aran Bertetto, José Besprovany, Karim Chihab (Film 6) | Musicque : Diego Vainer | Musique film 5 : Allegro Bárbaro de Bêla BARTOK | Adaptation : Lyl TIEMPO | Conception artistique : Mariana Tirantte | Production artistique : Florencia Wasser | Peinture dans le film 2 : Kaz Shirane | Direction artistique : Guillaume Orain Audooren | Directrice de la photographie : Soledad Rodriguez | Assistant réalisation : Agustin Gagliardi | Montage : Alejo Moguillansky, Miguel de Zuviría | Assistant montage à Bruxelles : Maxime Jauret | Postproduction son : Nahuel Palenque | Postproduction couleurs, DCP: SiE7ECOLORES | Coloristes : Guido Tomeo, Lucio Bonelli | Coordiateur postproduction: Martín Larrea | Manager de production: Maëva Nicol | Assistant production : Hugo Pennequin | Administratrice : Daphné Vande Walle | Stagiaire production : Clarisse Lefebvre | Responsable accessoires : Valentin Buyse | Responsable costumes : Prunelle Rulens Dit Rosier | Stagiaire costumes : Maud Bargiacchi | Responsable maquillage : Tiuku Deplus | Une commande du Kunstenfestivaldesarts en coproduction avec Wrong Men, Théâtre des Martyrs, Shelter prod | Avec le soutien de : Tax shelter.be, ING | Producteur (Wrong Men) : Benoît Roland | Productrice associée (Wrong Men) : Alexandra Boussiou | Production (Wrong Men) : Guillaume Schuermans, Anne Brandely, Maëva Nicol | Administration, finance (Wrong Men) : Daphné Vande Walle | Merci à : Frédérique Chabaud, Jeannine Dath, Edith Klapwijk, Renee Lodewijckx, Iwein Scheer, Dorota Szeligowska, Anne-Sophie Van Neste, Sophie Vanstratum, Isabelle Wynen, Isabelle Hennes (Screen Brussels), Ann Paternoster et Doha Zemzemi (Service voyages), Julie Portelange et Marie Skubiszewski (Ambassade de Belgique en Argentine), Françoise Lambory (Synlab Laboratorie), Laurent Goldenberg (Suite Home), Clio Rosenoer (Boghossian Foundation Villa Empain), Le bourgmestre de la commune d’Uccle, Théâtre des Martyrs (Laetitia Doffagne, Christian Gutierrez Silva, Antoine Halsberghe, Luis Vergara Santiago), La Monnaie / De Munt, Musée du tram (Nicolas Van Hee, Cédric), Warwick Brussels (Alain Vanbist, Sarah Guillemard)

Le Public / Het Publiek est le projet soutenu par les Friends en 2021.

 

12.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

13.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

14.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

15.05

  • 19:00
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

16.05

  • 15:00
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled

17.05

  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

18.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5

19.05

  • 20:15
  • Théâtre des Martyrs
  • €18 / €15
  • cancelled
  • 21:00
  • Online
  • €10 / €5
website by lvh