Sarah Vanhee Brussels

bodies of knowledge

performative installation

Institut Pacheco / Parc Josaphat

Free entrance | In open air | BOK-phone: free entrance, ongoing, accessible to deaf, hard of hearing, blind and visually impaired people | BOK by foot: free entrance, reservation required on bodiesofknowledge.be from 11.05

How can we challenge the hierarchy of discourses in society so that knowledge is shared in a more horizontal, fairer and more inclusive way? Can an artistic intervention facilitate the circulation of non-dominant knowledge in public space? After Lecture For Every One (2013), Untitled (2014), Oblivion (2016) and Lecture For Every One – 20 reworked in 2020 with a group of youngsters, Sarah Vanhee is now presenting body of knowledge (BOK), a semi-nomadic class held in various parts of Brussels over a number of months. Where there are no teachers or students but rather a group of co-learners, and that prefers experts in life rather than professional authorities. BOK reinforces the value of personal knowledge, and presents various classes that include: how to defend yourself in the public space, have less fear, care using your hands and raise children in a feminist way? All this is knowledge that many do not generally learn, told by voices who are not always heard, coming from different parts of society and the world, and encouraging a more humane and equitable society.

BOK-téléphone

BOK-téléphone is a switchboard that brings together the knowledge of 35 Brussels youth. Come to the phone booth in Institut Pacheco, and call one of the young people to learn from them on topics such as "what to do with all your imagination", "how to love yourself", "how to stop police violence", "how to be more patient", etc. Each phone call will last approximately 15 minutes. Reservation required.

BOK à pied / BOK te voet

At BOK à pied / BOK te voet, you take a walk with someone you can listen to and learn from. During this one-on-one walk of about 45 minutes through Josaphat Park, a body of knowledge will share their experience and knowledge with you. Would you like to join them for a walk and learn from them? Check the program and book your walk on bodiesofknowledge.be from 11.05.

read more

Bodies of knowledge: how we can learn more from each other 

If we ask ourselves how art schools can better relate to a changing world, one of the first issues to address is knowledge transfer itself. What do we really mean by ‘knowledge’? And what assumptions lie behind the Western idea of passing on this knowledge? We asked artist Sarah Vanhee to share her reflections on her bodies of knowledge (BOK) project, a study of less directed forms of shared knowledge exchange. It may be an inspiration for art schools.
What does bodies of knowledge (BOK) exactly mean? The complexity of knowledge exchange starts with my attempts to explain this practical study in a comprehensible way. In my imagination, I see a place for the exchange of alternative, non-dominant knowledge emerging in towns and cities. But who would be drawn to this idea and who wouldn’t? Communication is performative. I say to my 4-year old son: ‘In your school you have your own classroom, don’t you? Well, I’m making a classroom like yours for grown-ups. Where grown-ups can learn things from each other, for example at Place Flagey [in Brussels].'

In Manchester I was speaking to a diverse group of young people, aged between 17 and 22, and I said: ‘When I was young, I didn’t like going to school. I wanted to learn, was quite curious about many things, but sitting in the classroom immediately killed my thirst for knowledge. I really didn’t understand why we had to sit still for eight hours, with all those hormonal changes going on in our bodies, listening passively to uninspired teachers who always told only one side to a story. Is this growing up? I didn’t want my son to have that sort of learning experience. That’s why I wanted to create a kind of place where learning is a positive experience, where people can learn from each other, outside of our little bubbles. Not from books, but from what we know as a result of our lived experience.’

(…)

Does our official schooling really do what it was designed to do? My own experiences in that area reflect those of Tagore. During the 1990s I attended a conventional secondary school in West-Flanders [Belgium]. The school management was relatively open-minded. There were at least a few inspiring teachers who – regardless of the subject – managed to engage the students and make them think, or who took a personal interest in somebody.

But in general I experienced school as a system which was obliged to routinely train us in reproducing theory and had little to do with our lives. Teachers who could not impose their authority were mocked. Students who showed too much interest were not popular. After secondary school I did not go to university because I thought – rightly or wrongly – that I would end up in a detached knowledge factory. Because of my much more positive experiences with my extra-curricular poetry and drama tutors, I decided to do something in the direction of acting (not knowing, at the time, that you could also study ‘art’). I wanted to learn something that would make me feel awake and real, something that wasn’t all about excellence and competition. I followed courses in Belgium and the Netherlands. The former entirely negative, the latter positive. I hope the Belgian schools have changed in the positive sense in the meantime, but during my time we were mainly taught by people who had just missed a role in Thuis [a Belgian soap opera], or who had been appointed to a permanent position many years ago but who no longer practiced in art. The tutors were predominantly men, while 95% of the students were women. They were all white, cis, ‘healthy’ and slim. The only student with a working class background was forced to give up her studies after a year. The only tutor who really engaged was unfortunately also the one who gave classes in his bedroom. Later, in Amsterdam, I fortunately found myself in a pedagogically responsible environment, with committed tutors who had practical experience and was able to set out along my own track. It was headed by a woman who did not exert her authority but provided a listening ear for many people. Throughout my time at art colleges I engaged in independent study in parallel, with research in philosophy, sociology, ethics, law, and so on, as well as in practical projects through various social engagement initiatives. Of course, I remained a dilettante at everything. Through lived experiences and friendships I learnt that I could articulate and transform my intuitive resistance to social injustice and distorted patriarchal power dynamics, and that I could try to use my privilege as a white, highly educated, ‘healthy’ woman to help bring about social change. Gradually I learnt that art and life cannot be separated.

For all these reasons, I believe that it is important that BOK will now run for two years in the city where I live: in Brussels, where connections already exist. Work and life have always been very closely linked in my artistic practice, in the same way that art, citizenship and humanity are linked. But now I want to be able to give that ‘locally anchored’ work a more substantial and structural dimension. Here in our own city we hope to activate the potential for a ‘commoning’ of alternative knowledge exchange by unlocking and connecting various ‘bodies of knowledge’. We will achieve this in a semi-nomadic way: BOK will be located in the same square or park in one of the communes of Brussels for several weeks or months at time, then will move on. In this way we will create a ‘place’ which will travel slowly within the public ‘space’ of the city. From humanistic geography, I learned that, 'space' and 'place' are important concepts’, and they do not have the same meaning. 'Space' is something abstract, without any substantial meaning. While 'place' refers to how people are aware of/attracted to a certain piece of space. A place can be seen as space that has a meaning.

By Sarah Vanhee, in Rekto:Verso op 23 October 2019

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Conception: Sarah Vanhee, in collaboration with Flore Herman & Nadia Mharzi | Executive producer: Manyone, BOK vzw asbl | Production assistant: Luisa Marc | Communication: Cillian O’Neill | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater, BUDA, Noorderzon Festival of Performing Arts & Society, BIT Teatergarasjen, Reykjavik Dance Festival, Vooruit | With the financial support of: the Flemish Community (VG), the Flemish Minister of Brussels - Youth & Media, the Flemish Community Commission (VGC), the French Community Commission (COCOF), the Municipality of Anderlecht, and the Municipality of Schaerbeek | Research: KCA&ARIA | The Class/BOK-téléphone in collaboration with: Atheneum Brussel, Institut-Sainte Marie, Stéphanie Gheerolfs, Sebastien Marandon | Special thanks to all the students and bodies of knowledge

08.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±15min
  • BOK-phone
  • French, Dutch, English
  • Institut Pacheco

09.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±15min
  • BOK-phone
  • French, English
  • Institut Pacheco

22.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK by foot
  • French, Dutch, English, Arabic, LSBF sign language, VGT sign language
  • Parc Josaphat

23.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK by foot
  • French, Dutch, English, Arabic, LSBF sign language, VGT sign language
  • Parc Josaphat

24.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK by foot
  • French, Dutch, English, Arabic, LSBF sign language, VGT sign language
  • Parc Josaphat

25.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK by foot
  • French, Dutch, English, Arabic, LSBF sign language, VGT sign language
  • Parc Josaphat

26.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK by foot
  • French, Dutch, English, Arabic, LSBF sign language, VGT sign language
  • Parc Josaphat
website by lvh

Sarah Vanhee Bruxelles

bodies of knowledge

installation performative

Institut Pacheco / Parc Josaphat

Entrée gratuite | En plein air | BOK-téléphone : entrée gratuite, en continu, accessible aux sourd·es, malentendant·es, aveugles et malvoyant·es | BOK à pied : gratuit, sur réservation sur bodiesofknowledge.be à partir du 11.05

Comment défier la hiérarchie des discours dans la société afin d’instiller un partage de savoirs plus horizontal, juste et inclusif ? Quelles interventions artistiques et stratégies politiques contribuent à activer dans l’espace public des transmissions de connaissances non-dominantes et réprimées ? Après Lecture For Every One (2013), Untitled (2014), Oblivion (2016) et Lecture For Every One – 20 remanié en 2020 avec un groupe de jeunes, Sarah Vanhee présente en première bodies of knowledge (BOK), une classe semi-nomade implantée en différents points de Bruxelles durant plusieurs mois. Une école où il n’y pas d’enseignant·es ni d’élèves mais un groupe de co-apprenant·es, et qui privilégie des expert·es de la vie plutôt que des autorités professionnelles. BOK valorise des savoirs invisibilisés et aux enjeux mutiples ; comment se défendre dans l’espace public, survivre avec peu de moyens, avoir moins peur, soigner avec ses mains, élever des enfants de manière féministe, … ? Autant de connaissances que l’on n’apprend généralement pas, racontées par des voix qui ne sont pas toujours entendues, provenant de différentes parties de la société et du monde, et qui alimentent une société plus humaine et équitable.

BOK-téléphone

BOK-téléphone est un standard téléphonique qui rassemble les connaissances de 35 jeunes de Bruxelles. Venez à la cabine téléphonique l'Institut Pacheco et appelez l'un·e des jeunes pour apprendre d'eux·elles sur des sujets tels que "que faire de toute votre imagination", "comment s'aimer", "comment arrêter la violence policière", "comment être plus patient·e", etc. Chaque appel dure environ 15 minutes. Réservation obligatoire.

BOK à pied

Avec BOK à pied, vous vous promenez avec quelqu'un·e que vous pouvez écouter et dont vous pouvez apprendre. Au cours de cette promenade individuelle d'environ 45 minutes à travers le parc Josaphat, un·e body of knowledge partagera avec vous son expérience et ses connaissances. Voulez-vous apprendre d'eux·elles tout en marchant ? Consultez le programme et réservez votre promenade sur bodiesofknowledge.be à partir du 11 mai.

read more

Bodies of knowledge : comment apprendre les un·es des autres

Lorsque l’on cherche à mieux accorder les écoles d’art à un monde en mutation, la transmission du savoir est la première difficulté qui se pose. Que désigne-t-on réellement par « le savoir ». Et qu’entend-on sous l’acception occidentale de la transmission de ce savoir ? Nous avons demandé à Sarah Vanhee de nous faire part des réflexions de son projet bodies of knowledge (BOK – corps du savoir), une étude portant sur un échange de savoirs partagés qui serait moins formel, et qui pourrait servir d’inspiration aux écoles d’art. Que signifie exactement bodies of knowledge (BOK) – corps du savoir – ? La complexité du savoir surgit dès que je tente d’expliquer cette étude pratique de manière intelligible.  Dans mon imaginaire, c’est un endroit où échanger des savoirs alternatifs et non dominants qui émergent dans les villes. Mais qui cela attire-t-il, qui pas ? La communication est un acte performatif. À mon fils de quatre ans, je l’explique ainsi : « Dans ton école, tu as ta propre classe, n’est-ce pas ? Eh bien, je fabrique une classe comme la tienne, pour des adultes. Où les adultes peuvent s’apprendre des choses, par exemple à la place Flagey [à Bruxelles]. »
 
À un groupe très varié de jeunes entre 17 et 22 ans à Manchester, j’expliquais ceci : « Lorsque j’étais jeune, je n’aimais pas aller à l’école. J’avais envie d’apprendre, j’étais très curieuse de tout, mais d’être assise dans une salle de classe a immédiatement étouffé ma soif de savoir. Je ne comprenais pas vraiment pourquoi nous devions nous tenir tranquilles pendant huit heures - alors que nos corps subissaient des tas de changements hormonaux ; pourquoi nous devions rester assis à écouter passivement des profs démotivés qui ne racontaient toujours que leur version des choses. C’est cela, grandir ? Je ne voulais pas que mon fils ait la même expérience de l’apprentissage. C’est pour cela que je voulais créer un espace où l’apprentissage serait une expérience positive, où les gens pourraient apprendre les uns des autres, en dehors de nos petites bulles. Pas à partir de livres, mais de ce que nous avons appris de nos expériences vécues. »

(…)

Notre enseignement officiel fait-il réellement ce pour quoi il a été conçu ? Mes propres expériences dans ce domaine font écho à celles de Tagore. Dans les années 1990, j’étais dans une école secondaire conventionnelle de Flandre occidentale (Belgique). La direction était assez ouverte d’esprit et l’école comptait heureusement quelques profs engagés qui, peu importe le sujet, parvenaient à mobiliser l’attention des élèves et à les faire réfléchir, ou à s’intéresser à un sujet ou une personne en particulier.
 
Mais mon expérience générale de l’école est celle d’un système obligé de nous former, de manière routinière, à répéter de la théorie sans lien réel avec nos vies. On se moquait des professeurs qui n’imposaient pas leur autorité, et les élèves trop assidus n’étaient pas populaires. Après l’école secondaire, je ne suis pas allée à l’université car je me suis dit – à tort ou à raison – que ce serait une « usine à savoirs » hors-sol. Grâce à de bien meilleures expériences avec des profs de théâtre et de poésie extra-scolaires, j’ai décidé de me tourner vers une formation de comédienne (ne sachant pas à cette époque que l’on pouvait aussi faire des études ‘d’art’). Je voulais étudier quelque chose qui me permettrait de me sentir éveillée, réelle, loin des idées d’excellence et de compétition. J’ai suivi des cours en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas, nuls pour les premiers, positifs pour les seconds. J’espère que les écoles belges ont évolué dans le bon sens depuis, car à mon époque, les cours étaient donnés principalement par des acteurs étant passés à côté d’un rôle dans Thuis (feuilleton-télé belge), ou qui étaient nommés mais n’exerçaient plus d’activité artistique depuis longtemps. Les profs étaient principalement des hommes, alors que 95 % des élèves étaient des femmes, qui, toutes, étaient blanches, cisgenres, « saines » et minces. La seule élève issue d’un milieu ouvrier s’est vu forcée de quitter ses études au bout d’un an. L’unique prof vraiment engageant était malheureusement aussi celui prolongeait les classes dans son lit. J’ai heureusement ensuite trouvé à Amsterdam un environnement artistique pédagogiquement responsable, avec des professeurs engagés et ayant leur propre pratique artistique. C’est la que j’ai pu tracer ma propre voie. L’école était dirigée par une femme qui, au lieu d’exercer son autorité, était à l’écoute. Tout au long de mes études d’art, je me suis lancée en parallèle dans mes propres recherches, en philosophie, sociologie, éthique, droit etc., ainsi que dans des projets pratiques à travers plusieurs engagements associatifs. Je suis bien sûr restée une dilettante en tout. Grâce à ce que j’ai vécu et au travers d’amitiés diverses, j’ai appris que je pouvais articuler et transformer ma résistance intuitive à l’injustice sociale et les dynamiques de pouvoir patriarcales tordues. Que je pouvais utiliser mon privilège de femme blanche, éduquée, pour aider à faire advenir un changement social. J’ai compris petit à petit que l’art et la vie ne peuvent pas être dissociés.
 
C’est pour toutes ces raisons qu’il m’est important que BOK se tienne pendant deux ans dans la ville que j’habite : à Bruxelles, où j’ai déjà des connexions. Mon travail et ma vie privée ont toujours été intimement liés dans ma pratique artistique, de la même manière que l’art, la citoyenneté et l’humanité sont liés. Mais aujourd’hui, je veux pouvoir de conférer une substance et une dimension structurelles à ce travail à ancrage local. Nous espérons activer au sein de notre ville un potentiel de « mise en commun » d’échanges de savoirs alternatifs, en déverrouillant et en connectant plusieurs « corps du savoir ». Nous le ferons de façon semi-nomade : BOK sera installé dans un parc ou une place d’une des communes de Bruxelles pendant plusieurs mois ou semaines, puis se déplacera. Nous voulons ainsi créer un « lieu » qui se déplacera lentement au sein de « l’espace » public de la ville. La géographie humaniste m’a appris l’importance des concepts de lieu et d’espace, et qu’ils n’ont pas la même signification. « L’espace » est une chose abstraite, sans signification substantielle. « Lieu » en revanche désigne la façon dont les personnes sont conscientes/ attirées par un bout d’espace défini. Un lieu peut être considéré comme un espace qui aurait du sens.

Par Sarah Vanhee, dans Rekto:Verso, le 23 octobre 2019 

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Conception : Sarah Vanhee, en collaboration avec Flore Herman & Nadia Mharzi | Producteur exécutif : Manyone, BOK vzw asbl | Assistant de production : Luisa Marc | Communication : Cillian O'Neill | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater, BUDA, Noorderzon Festival of Performing Arts & Society, BIT Teatergarasjen, Reykjavik Dance Festival, Vooruit | Avec le soutien financier de : la Communauté flamande (VG), le Ministre flamand de Bruxelles - Jeunesse & Médias, la Commission communautaire flamande (VGC), la Commission communautaire française (COCOF), la Commune d'Anderlecht et la Commune de Schaerbeek | Recherche : KCA&ARIA | La Classe/BOK-téléphone en collaboration avec : Atheneum Brussel, Institut-Sainte Marie, Stéphanie Gheerolfs, Sebastien Marandon | Remerciements particuliers à tous les étudiants et bodies of knowledge

 

08.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±15min
  • BOK-téléphone
  • Français, Néerlandais, Anglais
  • Institut Pacheco

09.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±15min
  • BOK-téléphone
  • Français, Anglais
  • Institut Pacheco

22.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK à pied
  • Français, Néerlandais, Anglais, Arabe, Langue des signes LSBF, Langue des signes VGT
  • Parc Josaphat

23.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK à pied
  • Français, Néerlandais, Anglais, Arabe, Langue des signes LSBF, Langue des signes VGT
  • Parc Josaphat

24.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK à pied
  • Français, Néerlandais, Anglais, Arabe, Langue des signes LSBF, Langue des signes VGT
  • Parc Josaphat

25.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK à pied
  • Français, Néerlandais, Anglais, Arabe, Langue des signes LSBF, Langue des signes VGT
  • Parc Josaphat

26.05

  • 13:00 → 19:00 ⧖ ±45min
  • BOK à pied
  • Français, Néerlandais, Anglais, Arabe, Langue des signes LSBF, Langue des signes VGT
  • Parc Josaphat
website by lvh