Marcela Levi & Lucía Russo Rio de Janeiro

grrRoUNd

dance — premiere

Zinnema

| ⧖ 1h | €16 / €13 | Contains nudity

In grrRoUNd, their latest creation premiering at the festival, Brasil-based choreographers Marcela Levi and Lucía Russo explore and present the various possibilities offered by the tremolo, a vibration effect between two different notes. By means of Kraftwerk, tap-dancing, Bruno Tucunduva Ruviaro’s electronic music and the fifth movement of Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 2, they produce minutely detailed choreographic research around vibration in the body based on this musical element. Two performers play the piano – a central element here with the vibrations it produces – and the violin. A common theme in a dramaturgy that allows a transition from one piece of music and style to the next, the tremolo catalyses the vibration in bodies and the unsteadiness at the heart of the choreography. The various rhythms and oscillations that coexist on stage develop a polyphonic practice where the aim is not to achieve harmony but rather to cultivate dissonance. On stage, six dancers create images in solos and as a group around the question of instability, reflecting the political situation in Brazil where the Covid-19 pandemic has led to people feeling completely unsafe.

read more

grrRoUNd

between us, a common ground

Anticipate a potential presence,
but not yet proven,
and that has not yet taken on a stable form,
maybe it should be the starting point
of any criticism to come
whose horizon is to forge a common ground.
Achille Mbembe, Brutalisme, 2020

i am not a choreographer, not a dancer, nor an actress, nor a performer, i am not European, nor Jewish, i am not rich, not poor, i am not a man, i am a woman, i am not black, i am not indian, i am not a musician, i am not a mathematician, i am not a scientist, i am not free, i am not happy, i am not sad, i am not married, i am not alone, i am alone, i am not straight, i am not lesbian, i am not a gardener, i am not recycled, i am not enthusiastic, i am not apathetic, i am not apolitical, i am, in spite of myself, racist and macho, i am not free, i am not young, i am not old, i am not a mountaineer, i am not a cyclist, i am not free. i am not, a lot of things.         

voilà, the non-being now asserts itself as a fundamental part of plotting a common ground. a ground in negative. we not only define ourselves through a positive identity, constructed or affirmed, fighting for emancipation, but we also define ourselves through the incalculable number of losses which constitute the common space of contemporary societies. non-being, thus, approaches the individual and solitary vision of the failure/success that shapes us, offered by the ultra neoliberal world, where, in fact, the vast majority of people will survive in the layers of what here i call ‘non-being’. this species of man deprived of humanity, or quite simply forgotten by society on the basis of his successive failures (knowing of course that the two events are always linked). but non-being is not just that. it’s also the power that pushes us to abandon the Western-colonial and racist edifice of Being and which obliges us, or at least summons us to recognise an immense layer of ground composed of non-beings, hidden or denied, structurally and historically. the non-beings live in the ancient and ancestral layers, but are ever current, for centuries subalternised or exterminated, since the right to exist with dignity and in a state of reciprocity – on a common ground – is not that of the ground we have built, nor the one we walk on today, anywhere on the planet. we continue to be the society of walls, of borders, of plantations, of favelas, of apartheids, of camps, of war, of war, of war.         

but on this same ground, and still always within the contours of non-being, we are also summoned, today, beyond what we could foresee, to activate the power of the Relation (Glissant, 1990). by displacing the Being as the origin and edifice of the ground on which we walk. by imagining ourselves possible merely as the fruit of an event through which we only exist by co-nascence (Mbembe, 2021).         

if we fail to activate the power of the relation, of a being-being, co-nascent, we will become like the negative hands imprinted on the walls of a cave, thirty thousand years ago (Duras, 1997). the accumulation of non-beings will give us, at best, the possibility of becoming just vestiges, in a future that is still unimaginable today. this common ground of non-being is where we abandon the rejects of the body, the remains and pieces of everything that life offers us, asphyxiating, unlivable, extremely unjust, marked by a concentration of riches each time more glaring, and by the indescribable increase in passers-by, more and more precarious, or simply eliminable and easily replaced. the fact of being so disposable, completely exchangeable, and quickly, quickly, very quickly ousted, determines, on our bodies, the tracing of a ground of forces of predatory domination. to know this ground is the primary task of the body arts. without this knowledge of the subject, and without the quest to combat it, our very possibility of circulation, and therefore movement, will also be interrupted. i won’t be the only one not to be a dancer, no one else will be. more people. no longer a single body. also, the fact that most of these predatory forces do not always possess stable forms, appearing as those fleeing on the line of amazing mutation processes, makes us seek a kind of knowledge attached to unstable grounds – trembling. close to the modes of feeling, crawling, falling, rising. there, where the tremor lives, lies the possibility of dancing. contrary to popular belief, dance is not in need of an upright body or firm ground. but of breakable, malleable, permeable, transferable bodies and therefore sensitive to this instability of the ground on which it can dance. so, contrary to what was once believed, a crawling critical-body today is, we can say, the highest critical-body. this crawling body of criticism is the one that best hastens anticipatory presences. by moving away, not without effort, from the confirmation of the predictable and fixed forms that criticism nourished as an intrinsic form of its imagination. today we are called upon to imagine the world differently, otherwise we will no longer be able to live in it.         

it has been a long time since the world ground entered these chaotic Tout-Monde systems, trembling, as Glissant warned. but we have never felt so much, on a global scale, that we have lost all ground. that we have not been able to build a common ground which isn’t that of destruction. and that, yes, we are now assigned, henceforth without ground, to the critical and aesthetic yomp. seeking to trace proposals for germinal knowledge: in the form of a germ. close to the putrefaction of this world, but also to the larval emergence of other life forms.         

when the body dances all these forces, as much those of predatory domination as of the trembling and unpredictability of the Tout-Monde, they collide. there’s no possibility of movement without these forces being felt, incorporated, passing through the dancing body and that of the stage, which we place or which we install there, temporarily, in an unstable way.         

grrRoUNd (“sol” in Portuguese) seeks to be, or, in a way, comes face to face with these forces, with glee and terror. joy and trembling. the world covered in feathers is a scene that establishes the ground of grrRoUNd. it is the feathers of our charred birds. of our charred bodies. it is all the sorrows in the world too, reunited, there, through these so delicate black feathers. it is the uncountable deaths from the time of immemorial grounds that cross the terra brasilis, and beyond.         

from ground to ground, worlds open – making them converge and coexist in the same space-time, this is also what grrRoUNd confronts. a proposal that dancers and choreographers incorporate, without diluting one ground in another, nor separating them from each other. they are all in percussive Relation, resonating the tremors where not-being or being-being is the laminated and introductory experience of building, and i would even say of anticipation, of a possible common ground.         

the term ‘sol’ must be read here as a double-entendre: that of the ‘sol’ (ground), but also that of the solos that the dancers perform solo. in this performance, there are only solos, which is, a priori, imposed by the hygienic conditions that prevent the touching of one body with the other. but, even if they are ‘untouchable’, the bodies of the dancers-creators are all traversed by the percussive force which is at the base, so to say, on the very ground of the performance stage. it’s a percussion made of bodies-sounds-music and words, a percussion open to inaudible sounds, made of mixed morsels of all these particles put together. this percussive power itself generates an unpredictable form of contact between everything. propagating and passing through our bodies, it echoes and resonates on all grounds. could we then speak of a common ground?           

  • Ana Kiffer 

Ana Kiffer is a writer and professor at the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro and Fluminense Federal University. Since the 1990s, she has worked on the relationships between the body and writing, on body politics and political affections in the arts and culture.

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Kaaitheater-Zinnema

Concept, direction: Marcela Levi & Lucía Russo | Performance, co-creation: Alexei Henriques, Ícaro Gaya, Lucas Fonseca, Martim Gueller, Tamires Costa, Washington Silva | Interlocution: Ana Kiffer, Felipe Ribeiro | Assistance: Lucas Fonseca, Tamires Costa | Light design: Laura Salerno | Technical direction: Daniel Uryon | Sound design: all team | Costumes: Marcela Levi & Lucía Russo | Sound technical consultant: Diogo Perdigão | Production: Improvável Produções | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein, Julidans, Something Great | Distribution: Something Great | With the support of: Centro Coreográfico da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro/Secretaria Municipal de Cultura, Consulado da Argentina no Rio de Janeiro, Espaço Cultural Sítio Canto da Sabiá, Instituto Villa-Lobos UNIRIO | Residency: Kunstenwerkplaats | Sponsoring: Fomento a todas as artes – Lei Aldir Blanc | Secretaria Municipal de Cultura de Rio de Janeiro | Acknowledgments: Alberto Lalouf, Adriana Coma, André Lepecki, Angela Camargo Seixas, Ana Kavalis, Andrea Del Giorgio, Bruno Jacomino, Carolina Herman, Cecilia Russo, Diego Dantas and all the team of the CCO, Dina Salem Levy, Doriana Mendes, Daniel Bargues, Fernando Salis, Ginetta Mortera, Giulia Messia, Gustavo Ciríaco, Irene Lenz, Joaquim Alves Ribeiro, Katharina Wallisch, Laura Erber, Luis Maria Giannetti, Maria De Paiva Ribeiro, Maria Villalonga, Marta Heumann, Patricia Giannetti, Paula Delecave, Paula Giannetti, Rui Silveira, Sérgio Barrenechea, Sérgio Rezende, Sol Giannetti, Steven Harper, Susana Russo, Teresa Bofill, Valéria Meireles, Vera Mantero, Verónica Russo, Victoria Giannetti.

Wind, installation conceived by Lucía Russo in collaboration with Marcela Levi and technical consultancy of Bruno Jacomino, developed within the project A room of wonder (2013) by Gustavo Ciríaco

Marina & Ulay, installation conceived by Marcela Levi, a transcreation of the action Imponderabilia (1977) by Marina Abramovic and Ulay

→ see also: #nofilter

01.07

  • 20:30

02.07

  • 20:30

03.07

  • 18:00

04.07

  • 15:00
website by lvh

Marcela Levi & Lucía Russo Rio de Janeiro

grrRoUNd

danse — premiere

Zinnema

| ⧖ 1h | €16 / €13 | Contient de la nudité

Dans grrRoUNd, leur nouvelle création présentée en première au festival, les chorégraphes Marcela Levi et Lucía Russo, basées au Brésil, étudient et déclinent différentes possibilités offertes par le trémolo, un effet de vibration entre deux notes distinctes. En passant par Kraftwerk, les claquettes, la musique électronique de Bruno Tucunduva Ruviaro ou encore le cinquième mouvement de la Symphonie n° 2 de Gustav Mahler, elles développent une recherche chorégraphique minutieuse autour de la vibration du corps à partir de cet élément musical. Deux interprètes jouent également du piano, élément central par les vibrations qu’il produit, ainsi que du violon. Fil rouge d’une dramaturgie qui permet le glissement d’une musique et d’un style à l’autre, le trémolo catalyse cette vibration des corps et une instabilité au cœur de la chorégraphie. Les différents rythmes et oscillations qui cohabitent sur scène évoquent une pratique polyphonique qui ne tend pas vers l’harmonie mais cultive ses dissonances. Sur scène, six danseur·euses travaillent des images en solo et en groupe sur la question de l’instabilité, qui n’est autre que le reflet de la situation politique au Brésil, où la pandémie du Covid-19 a engendré une insécurité totale.

read more

grrRoUNd

entre nous, un sol commun

Anticiper une présence potentielle,
mais non encore avérée,
et qui n’a pas encore revêtu une forme stable,
devrait peut-être être le point de départ
de toute critique à venir
dont l’horizon est de forger un sol commun.
Achille Mbembe, Brutalisme, 2020

je ne suis pas chorégraphe, pas danseuse, ni actrice, ni performeuse, je ne suis pas européenne, ni juive, je ne suis pas riche, pas pauvre, je ne suis pas un homme, je suis une femme, je ne suis pas noire, je ne suis pas amérindienne, je ne suis pas musicienne, je ne suis pas mathématicienne, je ne suis pas scientifique, je ne suis pas libre, je ne suis pas heureuse, je ne suis pas triste, je ne suis pas mariée, je ne suis pas toute seule, je suis seule, je ne suis pas hétéro, je ne suis pas lesbienne, je ne suis pas jardinière, je ne suis pas recyclée, je ne suis pas enthousiaste, je ne suis pas apathique, je ne suis pas apolitique, je suis, malgré moi, raciste et machiste, je ne suis pas libre, je ne suis pas jeune, je ne suis pas vieille, je ne suis pas alpiniste, je ne suis pas cycliste, je ne suis pas libre. je ne suis pas, beaucoup de choses.         

voilà que le non-être s’affirme aujourd’hui comme une partie fondamentale du traçage d’un sol commun. un sol en négatif. nous nous définissons non seulement par une identité positivée, construite ou affirmée, luttant pour une émancipation, mais nous nous définissons aussi à travers le nombre incalculable de pertes qui constituent l’espace commun des sociétés contemporaines. le non-être, ainsi, se rapproche de la vision individuelle et solitaire de l’échec/succès qui nous façonne, offert par le monde ultra néolibéral, où, de fait, une immense majorité de gens survivra dans les couches de ce que j’appelle ici « le non-être ». cette espèce d’homme·de femme démuni·e d’humanité, ou tout simplement oublié·e par la société en fonction de ses échecs successifs (en sachant bien sûr que les deux évènements sont toujours liés). mais le non-être n’est pas que cela. il est aussi la puissance qui nous pousse à abandonner l’édifice colonial-occidental et raciste de l’Être et qui nous oblige, ou du moins, nous appelle à reconnaître une immense couche de sol composée de non-êtres cachés ou reniés, structurellement et historiquement. les non-êtres vivent dans des couches anciennes et ancestrales, mais qui sont toujours actuelles, subalternisées ou exterminées depuis des siècles, puisque le droit d’exister dignement et en état de réciprocité – sur un sol commun – n’est pas celui du sol que nous avons construit, ni celui sur lequel nous marchons aujourd’hui, n’importe où sur la planète. nous continuons d’être la société des murs, des frontières, des plantations, des favelas, des apartheids, des camps, de la guerre, de la guerre, de la guerre.         

mais sur ce même sol, et encore toujours dans les contours du non-être, nous sommes aussi appelé·es, et, aujourd’hui, au-delà de ce que nous pouvions prévoir, à activer la puissance de la Relation (Glissant, 1990). en déplaçant l’Être comme origine et édifice du sol sur lequel on marche. en nous imaginant possibles uniquement comme le fruit d’un évènement par lequel on n’existe qu’en co-naissant (Mbembe, 2021).         

si l’on ne parvient pas à activer la puissance de la relation, d’un être-étant, co-naissant, nous deviendrons comme les mains négatives imprimées sur les parois d’une caverne, il y a trente mille ans (Duras, 1997). l’accumulation des non-êtres nous donnera, au mieux, la possibilité de ne devenir que des vestiges, dans un futur encore inimaginable aujourd’hui. ce sol commun du non-être c’est là où l’on abandonne les rejets du corps, les restes et les morceaux de tout ce que la vie nous offre, asphyxiante, invivable, extrêmement injuste, marquée par une concentration de richesses chaque fois plus criante, et par l’augmentation indescriptible de passant·es, de plus en plus précarisé·es, ou simplement éliminables et aisément remplaçables. le fait d’être jetable à ce point, complètement échangeable, et vite, vite, très vite évincé·e, détermine, sur nos corps, le traçage d’un sol de forces de domination prédatrice. connaître ce sol est la tâche primordiale des arts du corps. sans cette connaissance à son sujet, et sans la quête pour le combattre, notre possibilité même de circulation, et donc de mouvement, sera aussi interrompue. je ne serai pas la seule à ne pas être danseuse, personne d’autre ne le sera. plus personne. plus un seul corps. le fait aussi que la plupart de ces forces prédatrices ne possèdent pas toujours des formes stables, apparaissant comme ceux·celles qui fuient sur la ligne d’étonnants processus de mutation, nous fait rechercher un genre de connaissance attaché aux sols instables – en tremblement. proche des modes du tâter, du ramper, du tomber, du lever. là où vit le tremblement se trouve la possibilité de danser. contrairement à ce que l’on a longtemps pensé, la danse n’a besoin ni d’un corps droit, ni d’un sol ferme. mais de corps cassables, malléables, perméables, transférables et donc sensibles à cette instabilité du sol sur lequel il peut danser. aussi, contrairement à ce que l’on croyait jadis, un corps-critique rampant est aujourd’hui le corps-critique, disons, le plus élevé. ce corps rampant de la critique est celui qui pressent le mieux les présences anticipatoires. en s’éloignant, non sans effort, de la confirmation des formes prévisibles et fixes que la critique nourrissait comme forme intrinsèque de son imaginaire. nous sommes aujourd’hui convoqué·es à imaginer le monde différemment sous peine de ne plus pouvoir y vivre.         

voilà bien longtemps que le sol du monde est entré dans ces systèmes chaotiques du Tout-Monde en tremblement, comme l’alertait Glissant. mais nous n’avons jamais autant senti, à l’échelle planétaire, que nous avons tous·tes perdu pied. que nous n’avons pas été capables de construire un sol commun qui ne soit pas celui de la destruction. et que oui, maintenant nous sommes assigné·es, désormais sans sol, au crapahutage critique et esthétique. cherchant à retracer des propositions de connaissances germinales : sous forme de germe. proches de la putréfaction de ce monde, mais aussi du surgissement larvaire d’autres formes-vies.         

quand le corps danse toutes ces forces, autant celles de la domination prédatrice que celles du tremblement et de l’imprévisibilité du Tout-Monde, elles s’entrechoquent. il n’y a aucune possibilité de mouvement sans que ces forces ne soient ressenties, incorporées, traversant le corps qui danse et celui de la scène, que nous posons ou que nous installons là, provisoirement, de façon instable.         

grrRoUNd (sol) cherche à être ou, d’une certaine façon, se retrouve face à ces forces, avec jubilation et terreur. joie et tremblement. le monde couvert de plumes est une scène qui instaure le sol de grrRoUNd. ce sont les plumes de nos oiseaux carbonisés. de nos corps carbonisés. ce sont toutes les peines du monde aussi, réunies, là, par ces si délicates plumes noires. ce sont les morts incomptables du temps des sols immémoriaux qui traversent la terra brasilis, et au-delà.         

de sol en sol s’ouvrent des mondes – les faire converger et cohabiter dans le même espace-temps c’est aussi ce qu’affronte grrRoUNd. proposition que les danseur·euses et les chorégraphes incorporent, sans pour autant diluer un sol dans l’autre, ni les écarter l’un de l’autre. ils sont tous en Relation percussive, résonnent les tremblements où n’être-pas ou être-étant est l’expérience laminée et liminaire de construction, et je dirais même d’anticipation, d’un possible sol commun.         

le terme « sol » doit être lu ici dans sa double condition : celle de sol, mais aussi celle des solos que les danseurs·euses exécutent seul·es. dans ce spectacle, il n’y a que des solos, ce qui est, a priori, imposé par la condition sanitaire qui empêche de toucher le corps de l’autre. mais, même s’ils sont « intouchables », les corps des danseurs·euses-créateurs·ices sont tous traversés par la force percussive qui est à la base, disons sur le sol même de la scène, du spectacle. c’est une percussion faite de corps-sons-musiques et de mots, une percussion ouverte à des sonorités inaudibles, faites de morceaux mélangés de toutes ces particules mises ensemble. cette puissance percussive engendre elle-même une forme imprévisible de contact entre tous·tes. propageant et traversant nos corps, elle répercute et résonne sur tous les sols. pourrait-on parler alors d’un sol commun ?           

  • Ana Kiffer 

Ana Kiffer est écrivaine et professeure de la Pontificale Université Catholique de Rio de Janeiro et de l’Université Fédérale Fluminense. Depuis les années 1990, elle travaille sur les relations entre le corps et l’écriture, sur les politiques du corps et les affections politiques dans le domaine des arts et de la culture.

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Kaaitheater-Zinnema

Concept, mise en scène : Marcela Levi & Lucía Russo | Performance, co-création : Alexei Henriques, Ícaro Gaya, Lucas Fonseca, Martim Gueller, Tamires Costa, Washington Silva | Interlocution : Ana Kiffer, Felipe Ribeiro | Assistance : Lucas Fonseca, Tamires Costa | Conception lumière : Laura Salerno | Direction technique : Daniel Uryon | Conception sonore : toute l'équipe | Costumes : Marcela Levi & Lucía Russo | Conseiller technique du son : Diogo Perdigão | Production : Improvável Produções | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein, Julidans, Something Great | Distribution : Something Great | Avec le soutien de : Centro Coreográfico da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro/Secretaria Municipal de Cultura, Consulado da Argentina no Rio de Janeiro, Espaço Cultural Sítio Canto da Sabiá, Instituto Villa-Lobos UNIRIO | Résidence : Kunstenwerkplaats | Sponsoring : Fomento a todas as artes - Lei Aldir Blanc | Secretaria Municipal de Cultura de Rio de Janeiro | Remerciements : Alberto Lalouf, Adriana Coma, André Lepecki, Angela Camargo Seixas, Ana Kavalis, Andrea Del Giorgio, Bruno Jacomino, Carolina Herman, Cecilia Russo, Diego Dantas et toute l'équipe du CCO, Dina Salem Levy, Doriana Mendes, Daniel Bargues, Fernando Salis, Ginetta Mortera, Giulia Messia, Gustavo Ciríaco, Irene Lenz, Joaquim Alves Ribeiro, Katharina Wallisch, Laura Erber, Luis Maria Giannetti, Maria De Paiva Ribeiro, Maria Villalonga, Marta Heumann, Patricia Giannetti, Paula Delecave, Paula Giannetti, Rui Silveira, Sérgio Barrenechea, Sérgio Rezende, Sol Giannetti, Steven Harper, Susana Russo, Teresa Bofill, Valéria Meireles, Vera Mantero, Verónica Russo, Victoria Giannetti.

Wind, installation conçue par Lucía Russo en collaboration avec Marcela Levi et le conseil technique de Bruno Jacomino, développée dans le cadre du projet A room of wonder (2013) de Gustavo Ciríaco

Marina & Ulay, installation conçue par Marcela Levi, une transcréation de l'action Imponderabilia (1977) de Marina Abramovic et Ulay.

→ see also: #nofilter

01.07

  • 20:30

02.07

  • 20:30

03.07

  • 18:00

04.07

  • 15:00
website by lvh