Wichaya Artamat Bangkok

Four Days in September (The Missing Comrade) สี่วันในเดือนกันยา

theatre — premiere

Rideau de Bruxelles

| Thai → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 1h30 | €18 / €15

A group of friends met in September 1990 to celebrate the birthday of an old ceiling fan. Suddenly lightning strikes, they flee the place, and then return to find that one of them has disappeared. The apartment is saturated with information and absurd conversation. Someone resembling the missing person reappears. In the blink of an eye, the present becomes the past. After the success of two years ago, Wichaya Artamat returns to the festival for the second time to premiere Four Days in September (The Missing Comrade), an almost cinematic theatre piece that takes place over the course of four days. With it Artamat, alludes to thirty years of Thai history by way of several sorts of disappearance – from that of the commemorative plaque of the revolution of 1932 to the abduction of activists. Through its hypnotic intimacy and subtle acting, the piece unveils the lives of ordinary Thais forced to remain blind and silent for so long. 

read more

In 2014, When I first had an idea for this play – Four Days in September – I was contemplating the idea of a lost democracy in Thailand; whenever a coup d’etat takes place in the country, the coup leader always says that it’s a way to reform Thailand towards being a truly democratic country. Apparently, this has never been true.         

In these past few years under the reign of King Rama X, there are several obvious deliberate attempt by the authorities to obliterate any memory or historical evidence of The People’s Party (a group of people who led did the Siamese Revolution in 1932, changing the governing system in Thailand from absolute monarchy to democracy). There are many disappearances of relevant objects: the Memorial Peg of 1932 Siamese Revolution at Dusit Palace Royal Plaza, the Constitution Defense Monument, and some other monuments of The People Party’s members. Some official places have been renamed, from the name of The People Party’s members to those of the royal family members. The public Dusit Zoo which used to operate on the grounds of the old royal residence has been moved elsewhere. The original Supreme Court and the Parliament House have been demolished in order to build new ones. Bangkok’s old town area, which covers several memorials of the 1932 revolution, has undergone major “landscape enhancements”.

Over the past few months during the pandemic lockdown, Thailand has been under an Emergency Decree which gives the officers absolute authority to exercise their power without liabilities. Last month (June, 2020), there was a case of a Thai satirist/activist being abducted in Cambodia, with eyewitnesses reporting that he was held up and taken away in a vehicle in front of his own apartment. There are many movements and protests following this case, and some protesters have already been issued a warrant of arrest under the emergency decree whose purpose, the government claimed, is only for controlling the virus spread. Meanwhile, some activists, politicians, and artists are reportedly being followed and running the risk of being abducted as well – just like several other previous cases of abduction, appearance, and assassination of activists and anti-government political refugees over many years.

Thailand has long been forced to live in fear and silence. There are many things we cannot talk or critique about. For me, the Thai word for being abducted – Oom-Haii – (literally meaning to carry someone and make him/her disappear) makes me think of a case back when I was a child and heard this word for the first time. It was an “Oom-Haii” of an entire family of a businessman who was somehow related to the very scandalous and mysterious case of the Blue Diamond (also known as the Saudi Jewels case), which remains “missing” to this day. All the cases of forced disappearance have recently been reconnected in my mind – an unfortunate trend in Thailand that is likely to continue in this time. This is why I’ve been reminded of my ideas for Four Days in September lately.

Four Days in September     

A story of a group of friends who hang out together regularly. One day, one of them disappears. The rest of the group go on living like nothing has happened. And some time later, someone who looks like the lost friend “returns” to the group.

Scene 1 – 1st September

A group of friends parties together as usual. They sing and chat. Laughter and fun fill the atmosphere. Then, a bullet is fired somewhere outside. Some of them run outside to take a look. They come back and sit in the same seats like nothing’s happened. But one person is missing. The rest of the group is still singing and chatting. Some of them start to ask about the missing person.

Scene 2 – 11th September

The remaining people are still talking and hanging out. It’s almost the birthday of the missing person. Instead of throwing a birthday party as usual, they talk about making some merit for the missing person instead. Making merit for someone implies that the person in question is dead.

Scene 3 – 19th September

A person in the remaining group brings in somebody who looks like the missing person. But it’s not the missing person. Just a look-alike.

Scene 4 – 21st September

The entire group still sticks together. There is some kind of resolution.

As for the staging of the show, I have an image of an old-fashioned 3-blade ceiling fan hanging low from the ceiling in the middle. There’s a table with 5 chairs which look all different. A fridge. Optional wall to indicate another area which may be a kitchen or storage where the characters can smoke. The set designer will take care of other details apart from these.

  • Wichaya Artamat

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Rideau de Bruxelles        

Concept, direction: Wichaya Artamat | Text: Ratchapoom Boonbanchachoke, Wichaya Artamat | Cast: Jaturachai Srichanwanpen, Nualpanod Nat Khianpukdee, Saifah Tanthana, Suranya Poonyaphitak, Witwisit Hiranyawongkul | Dramaturgy: Ratchapoom Boonbanchachoke | Set, Light Design, Technical Direction: Pornpan Arayaveerasid, Rueangrith Suntisuk, Laphonphat Duangploy (Kinetic Design), Piti Boonsom | Soundscape Design: Chanapon Komkham | Costume: Nicha Puranasamriddhi | Make-up advisor: Punika Rangchaya | Illustration: Sina Wittayawiroj, The Art District86 | Key Visual Designer: Rueangrith Suntisuk | English Translation: Chonlatep Nabangchang | Surtitle Operator: Pathipon Adsavamahapong | Production assistant: Surat Tamjai Kaewseekram | Producer: Sasapin Siriwanij | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Wiener Festwochen, Festival d’Automne à Paris, MC93 – Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Black Box teater | Venue support (Thailand): Creative Economy Agency (Public Organization), Buffalo Bridge Gallery, B-Floor Theatre | Technical support (Thailand): Populight | Special Thanks: Ornanong Thaisriwong

01.07

  • 21:00

02.07

  • 19:00

03.07

  • 21:00

04.07

  • 19:00

06.07

  • 21:00

07.07

  • 19:00

08.07

  • 21:00
website by lvh

Wichaya Artamat Bangkok

Four Days in September (The Missing Comrade) สี่วันในเดือนกันยา

théâtre — premiere

Rideau de Bruxelles

| Thai → FR, NL, EN | ⧖ 1h30 | €18 / €15

Un groupe d'ami·es se réunit en septembre 1990 pour fêter l'anniversaire d'un vieux ventilateur de plafond. La foudre frappe, iels fuient le lieu, y reviennent ensuite et constatent que l’un d’entre eux a disparu. L'appartement se sature d’informations et de conversations absurdes. Quelqu'un ressemblant au disparu réapparaît. En un clin d'œil, le présent devient le passé. Wichaya Artamat revient pour la deuxième fois au festival pour y présenter en première Four Days in September (The Missing Comrade), une pièce de théâtre presque cinématographique qui se déroule au cours de quatre jours et explore trente ans d'histoire thaïlandaise par le biais de plusieurs types de disparitions – de celle de la plaque commémorative de la révolution de 1932 à celle des militant·es enlevé·es. À travers l'intimité hypnotique et le jeu subtil des acteur·rices, la pièce dévoile la vie de Thaïlandais·es ordinaires contraint·es de rester aveugles et silencieux·euses pendant si longtemps. 
 

read more

La première fois que m’est venue l’idée de Four Days in September, c’était en 2014, en contemplant la chute de la démocratie en Thaïlande. Chaque coup d’État y est annoncé comme une étape de transition vers un véritable régime démocratique. Apparemment, ça n’a jamais marché.

Sous le règne du Roi Rama X, ces dernières années, il y a eu plusieurs tentatives flagrantes et délibérées d’effacer tout souvenir ou preuve historique de l’existence du Parti du Peuple (qui mena la Révolution siamoise en 1932, abolissant la monarchie absolue au profit de la démocratie). De nombreux symboles ont ainsi disparu : le blason commémoratif de la Révolution siamoise de 1932 au Dusit Palace Royal Plaza ou encore le Monument de défense de la Constitution et d’autres monuments érigés par le Parti du Peuple. Certains lieux officiels ont été rebaptisés, remplaçant les noms des membres du Parti par des noms des membres de la famille royale. Le zoo public de Dusit, qui se trouvait sur le site de l’ancienne résidence royale, a été déplacé. La Cour suprême et le Parlement ont été démolis afin d’en construire de nouveaux. La ville historique de Bangkok, qui abritait plusieurs monuments commémoratifs de la Révolution, a subi de nombreuses « améliorations paysagères ».

Au cours de ces derniers mois de confinement, la Thaïlande a été placée sous état d’urgence, octroyant tous les droits aux officiels, sans aucun compte à rendre. En juin 2020, un caricaturiste-satiriste thaï a été enlevé au Cambodge, des témoins oculaires rendant compte d’un enlèvement au pied même de son immeuble. L’affaire a provoqué des mouvements de protestation dont plusieurs participant·es sont aujourd’hui sous le coup d’un mandat d’arrêt dans le cadre de l’état d’urgence. Le seul but de cet état d’urgence était pourtant, d’après le gouvernement, de contrôler la propagation du virus. Depuis, plusieurs activistes, personnalités politiques et artistes sont poursuivi·es et risquent également d’être enlevé·es, à l’instar des nombreux activistes et réfugié·es politiques hostiles au gouvernement arrêté·es, enlevé·es, voire assassiné·es, au cours des dernières décennies.

La Thaïlande a longtemps vécu dans le silence et la peur. De nombreux sujets ne peuvent être abordés ou critiqués. Pour moi, le mot thaï pour enlèvement – Oom Haii (qui signifie littéralement enlever quelqu’un·e et le·la faire disparaître) – me rappelle la première fois où je l’ai entendu, enfant. C’était l’oom-haii de toute la famille d’un homme d’affaires, supposément mêlé à la scandaleuse et mystérieuse affaire du diamant bleu (également connu comme l’affaire des bijoux saoudiens), qui demeure non élucidée à ce jour. J’ai récemment fait le lien entre toutes ces disparitions, et y ai vu une triste tendance thaïlandaise apparemment vouée à se perpétuer. Et cela a ravivé l’idée de la pièce Four Days in September.

Four Days in September    

C’est l’histoire d’un groupe d’ami·es qui se retrouve souvent. Un jour, l’un·e d’elleux disparait. Le reste du groupe continue à vivre comme si de rien n’était. Quelques temps plus tard, une personne ressemblant à l’ami disparu « revient » dans le groupe.

Scène 1 – 1er Septembre

Un groupe d’ami·es fait la fête, comme d’habitude. Iels chantent et discutent dans une atmosphère emplie de rires et d’allégresse. Soudain, des tirs retentissent en rue. Certain·es courent voir ce qui se passe. Iels reviennent et se rassoient comme si rien ne s’était passé. Mais une personne manque. Le reste du groupe continue de chanter et de discuter. Certain·es s’interrogent sur la disparition de l’un·e d’eux·elles.

Scène 2 – 11 Septembre     

Les membres restant·es du groupe papotent et passent du temps ensemble. C’est bientôt l’anniversaire de la personne disparue. Plutôt que d’organiser une fête d’anniversaire comme d’habitude, iels envisagent de faire une fête en son honneur, comme on le ferait pour une personne décédée.

Scène 3 – 19 Septembre     

Un·e des membres du groupe amène une personne, qui ressemble beaucoup à la personne disparue, au sein de groupe. Ce n’est pas la personne disparue, juste un sosie.

Scène 4 – 21 Septembre     

Le groupe entier passe toujours du temps ensemble, dans une forme de résignation.         

J’imagine le plateau comme une pièce avec un ventilateur désuet à trois lames tournant au plafond. Il y a une table et cinq chaises dépareillées, et un frigo. Il y a éventuellement un mur symbolisant une autre pièce : une cuisine ou un débarras où les personnes iraient fumer. Le scénographe se chargera des détails supplémentaires.         

  • Wichaya Artamat

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Rideau de Bruxelles        

Concept, réalisation : Wichaya Artamat | Texte : Ratchapoom Boonbanchachoke, Wichaya Artamat | Distribution : Jaturachai Srichanwanpen, Nualpanod Nat Khianpukdee, Saifah Tanthana, Suranya Poonyaphitak, Witwisit Hiranyawongkul | Dramaturgie : Ratchapoom Boonbanchachoke | Décor, éclairage, direction technique : Pornpan Arayaveerasid, Rueangrith Suntisuk, Laphonphat Duangploy (Kinetic Design), Piti Boonsom | Conception du soundscape : Chanapon Komkham | Costumes : Nicha Puranasamriddhi | Conseiller en maquillage : Punika Rangchaya | Illustrations : Sina Wittayawiroj, The Art District86 | Key Visual Designer: Rueangrith Suntisuk | Traductions : Chonlatep Nabangchang | Surtitrage : Pathipon Adsavamahapong | Assistant de production : Surat Tamjai Kaewseekram | Producteur : Sasapin Siriwanij | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Wiener Festwochen, Festival d'Automne à Paris, MC93 - Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Black Box teater | Résidence (Thaïlande) : Creative Economy Agency (Public Organization), Buffalo Bridge Gallery, B-Floor Theatre | Soutien technique (Thaïlande) : Populight | Remerciements : Ornanong Thaisriwong

 

01.07

  • 21:00

02.07

  • 19:00

03.07

  • 21:00

04.07

  • 19:00

06.07

  • 21:00

07.07

  • 19:00

08.07

  • 21:00
website by lvh