Romeo Castellucci Cesena

Buster

theatre / performance — premiere

Esplanade de la Cité administrative de l’Etat/Esplanade van het Rijksadministratief Centrum

| ⧖ 40min | €22 / €18 | In open air

The new site-specific work of Romeo Castellucci is constructed on nine principles. “01. The action requires the participation of about forty men. 02. They are not actors, but protagonists of the scene. 03. There are no rehearsals. 04. Each of them is given a policeman’s uniform and a pair of invisible headphones. 05. Each of them receives, in real time, specific individual commands. 06. Each policeman must fulfil the order received. 07. No improvisation is requested from the policemen, but the abyss of an absolute present. 08. The policeman and the actor are one and the same thing. 09. The action takes place during the night, in the city center of Brussels”. Conceived for the festival, Buster takes place on the Esplanade de la Cité administrative, between the federal police headquarters and Saint Michael and Saint Gudula Cathedral, and with the city as a background of its actions. A reflection on the law, the violence, and the comedy, on the role of actors who lend their bodies to actions that are not theirs.

read more

Romeo Castellucci Buster initiating “Bros”

Buster has moved all but unnoticed into the city, occupying the Esplanade de la Cité Administrative, between the Federal Police Headquarters and St Michael and St Gudula Cathedral. This is the first time you have conceived an action in a public space. 
Buster has to do with the police. Since it takes place in front of the central building of the Brussels Police Station, the mimesis could not be more pronounced. Writing the actions of policemen on the surface of the city, on the scene of an alleged crime, makes this mirroring effect all the more glaring. It creates a powerful overlap, that disorients us and heightens the mimesis.         

One might easily think that the handful of police officers now crossing the Esplanade just came out of the Police Station.

This space is taken as a found environment, including its system of signs and its topographic features. The skyline, with its profile extending as far as the eye can see in the urban space of the Esplanade, is a synecdoche of the entire city. Theatre leaves the stage and inhabits the city, calling on an emblematic topos, the night. This is a direct, affirmative occupation of space: leaving the place intended for representation, one discovers the essence of theatre, outside theatre, in the heart of a Naked City.       

What motivates the presence of this handful of policemen?
The policemen blend into the night. They become an eerie, ghostly presence. The surprising thing is the lack of any criminal action. The police seem to move around a void. One might imagine a thriller, but with no actual crime. An unnamed threat hovers in the air. The driving force behind the deployment of this armed corps is not present as part of a linear narrative. Rather, it involves a latency with a nocturnal, perturbing side. One could say that the presence of the police prepares the scene of the crime. The policemen are called on for a presumed crime that coincides with the law itself, a tautological crime.  

Something interferes with the codes, that are no longer logical or moral. Sequences take shape whose combination leads to dead ends. These are missing acts, as in a story that while developing falls apart into elementary patterns of action. A heart of darkness envelops the figures, forming relations that overlap and give way to several possible plots, but no narration is brought together in a story.

The group of policemen is numerically balanced by the spectators, with almost the same amount of each…
The policemen come like a wave, dressed in black, armed, with batons and dogs. Some collective moments show bonds of brotherhood, in belonging to a larger body and in the extraordinary power of uniforms. We witness the ritual of dressing in uniform, an initiation. Something veers towards an esoteric sense. It is an investiture, through which one becomes part of the clan. Despite this tension, paradoxical situations arise that come close to comedy. It is no coincidence that the police is one of the first subjects in the history of film. Policemen were constantly seen as supporting actors in early popular cinema, especially comedies, linked to chaos, havoc and confusion. In Buster Keaton’s films the policemen, instead of being guardians of order, actively guarantee disorder. In Buster, comedy leaves traces of uneasiness, minimal events that are grafted onto an alarming background.

Gags and the police are inexorably tied to the history of cinema. In Buster, is this world referenced by microscopic comic failures, as a source of disturbance? Do they serve to alter the norm by showing its authoritarian side?
In comedy sketches, a gag was originally a small blade put into the mouths in order to prevent from speaking correctly. It broke apart syntax, making the voice stumble and introducing small fractures in speech. The gag is an instrument of linguistic stumbling, its function is to deregulate habit and replace it with disorder. It has to do with the law and the power of violation. There is an anarchic side to comedy, that opposes the law: the comic, as the hardcore of the law.

Comic situations have a duplicity that becomes perturbing. One laughs at impairments and victims. Here, however, policemen are also the ones subjected to the law. So there are victims on both sides, since the police themselves are victims of the commands they continually receive from invisible earpieces, from which they have no escape.

The interpreters in Buster were not chosen through a casting, they come from the street, after responding to an open call. They inhabit the scene without rehearsals, they have not learned a role “to play”, they learn it while obeying orders given through small earphones.
The interpreters – citizens of Brussels – agree to a protocol, to “become policemen”. They make a sort of oath, accept a list of conditions and submit to their orders. Their task is to execute a dense series of commands without wavering. And, inevitably, their orders procure the necessary disorder. There is no room for conscious thought here, nor for choice. There is no time. They must obey immediately, without thinking. Time is compressed into an absolute present, an abyss where only the command and its instantaneous fulfilment exist. These are pseudo-actors and, as such, the only protagonists.

The actor and the action are one and the same thing, they overlap. This is a way of doing away with the concept of identification in acting, which now consists simply in one’s own actions, precisely because there is no room and no time for psychology. The policemen are taken off guardless and relieved of their responsibility. They don’t know what they are doing, like the Soldiers of Jesus, they just do it.

In this procedure, and in the fault lines it produces, the dark heart of the law is revealed, along with its ancient function: to ensure that crime prepares for its coming.

  • Conversation curated by Piersandra Di Matteo and translated by Brent Waterhouse

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-KANAL – Centre Pompidou-La Monnaie/De Munt

Conception, direction: Romeo Castellucci | Music: Scott Gibbons | Dramaturg: Piersandra Di Matteo | With: Antonio Montanile, Bira Lima, Christophe Jaccard, Costantino Giampiccolo, Cyriel Lucas, Etienne Jean-Marc, Gaëtan Charbonnier, Hippolyt Doucy, Jacques Sennesael, Jean Schabel, Jean Schatz, Jef Dewit, Jonas Wertz, Naïm Belhaloumi, Patrick Delandtsheer, Pierre Megos, Rafik Bellali, Thibaut Verspreet, Matteo Marongiu, Vadiel Gonzalez, Imad Auassar, Alain Stepman, David Bernardas Casteil, Thiago Antunes, Arno Verbruggen, Johannes Arnauts, Julien Neirynck, Bartel Busschaert, Jonathan Linga, Kiran Vassilieff | With Police Officers: Luca Nava, Sergio Scarlatella | With the participation of the counter-tenor: Logan Lopez Gonzales | Assistant direction: Filippo Ferraresi | Technical direction: Eugenio Resta | Stage technician: Andrei Benchea | Light technician: Andrea Sanson | Sound technician: Claudio Tortorici | Costume keeper: Chiara Venturini | Stage sculptures and automations: Plastikart studio | Costume realization: Grazia Bagnaresi | Production director: Benedetta Briglia | Production manager: Giulia Colla | Promotion, distribution: Gilda Biasini | Technical headquarter team: Carmen Castellucci, Francesca Di Serio, Gionni Gardini, Caterina Soranzo | Administration: Michela Medri, Elisa Bruno, Simona Barducci | Economic consultant: Massimiliano Coli | Societas, in co-production with: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Printemps des Comédiens Montpellier 2021, LAC – LuganoArteCultura, Maillon Théâtre de Strasbourg – Scène Européenne, Temporada Alta 2021, Manège-Maubeuge Scène nationale, Le Phénix- Scène nationale Pôle européen de création Valenciennes, MC93 Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen, Holland Festival Amsterdam, Fondazione V-A-C, Triennale Milano Teatro, National Taichung Theater, La Monnaie/De Munt, Kanal – Centre Pompidou | Performances in Brussels in collaboration with the Italian Cultural Institute in Brussels

20.05

  • 20:00
  • 21:30

21.05

  • 21:30

22.05

  • 21:30

23.05

  • 20:00
  • 21:30

24.05

  • 21:30
website by lvh

Romeo Castellucci Cesena

Buster

théâtre / performance — premiere

Esplanade de la Cité administrative de l’Etat

| ⧖ 40min | €22 / €18 | En plein air

La nouvelle performance in situ de Romeo Castellucci est construite sur neuf principes. « 01. L'action nécessite la participation d'une quarantaine d'hommes. 02. Ce ne sont pas des acteurs, mais des protagonistes de la scène. 03. Il n'y a pas de répétitions. 04. Chacun d'eux se voit attribué un uniforme de policier et une paire d'écouteurs invisibles. 05. Chacun d'eux reçoit en direct des ordres individuels et spécifiques. 06. Chaque policier doit exécuter l’ordre reçu. 07. Aucune improvisation n'est demandée aux policiers mais il est leur est sommé d’être dans un présent absolu. 08. Le policier et l'acteur sont une seule et même entité. 09. L'action se déroule de nuit, dans le centre-ville de Bruxelles ». Conçu pour le festival, Buster se déroule sur l'Esplanade de la Cité administrative, entre la préfecture de la police fédérale et la cathédrale Saint Michel et Sainte Gudule, et avec la ville comme scénographie de l’action. Il propose une réflexion sur le droit, la violence, la comédie et sur le rôle des acteurs, qui prêtent leur corps à des actions qui ne sont pas les leurs.

read more

Romeo Castellucci Buster initiating “Bros”

Buster a pris ses quartiers dans le centre-ville sans se faire remarquer, occupant l’Esplanade de la Cité Administrative, entre le siège de la police fédérale et la cathédrale des Saints Michel et Gudule. C’est la première fois que vous avez imaginé une performance dans l’espace public.
Buster a un lien avec la police. Étant donné que la performance se déroule devant le bâtiment central du commissariat de Bruxelles, la mimesis est complète. Ancrer les mouvements des policiers dans le territoire urbain, sur la scène d’un crime présumé, ne fait que renforcer cet effet miroir. Cela crée un chevauchement puissant qui nous désoriente et accentue la mimesis.

On pourrait facilement croire que la poignée de policiers qui traverse l’esplanade vient de sortir du commissariat.

Cet espace est en quelque sorte appréhendé comme un « objet trouvé environnemental », avec son système de signalisation et ses caractéristiques topographiques.

La ligne d’horizon qui s’étend à perte de vue dans l’espace urbain de l’Esplanade est une synecdoque de la ville entière. Le théâtre quitte la scène et investit la ville en faisant appel à un topos emblématique : la nuit. Ceci est une occupation directe et catégorique de l’espace : en quittant le lieu destiné à sa représentation, on découvre l’essence du théâtre, en dehors du théâtre, au cœur d’une ville sans fard.

Qu’est-ce qui motive la présence de cette poignée de policiers ?
Les policiers se fondent dans la nuit. Ils deviennent une présence étrange et fantomatique. Ce qui est surprenant, c’est l’absence de toute action criminelle. La police semble graviter autour d’un vide. On pourrait se croire dans un thriller, mais sans véritable crime. Une menace sans nom plane dans l’air. La raison derrière le déploiement de ce corps armé ne fait pas partie d’un récit linéaire. Il s’agit plutôt d’une latence, un décalage temporel du fait de ce côté nocturne et dérangeant. On pourrait dire que la présence des policiers prépare la scène du crime. Les policiers sont appelés pour un crime présumé qui coïncide avec la loi elle-même, un crime tautologique.

Quelque chose interfère avec les codes, qui ne sont plus logiques ni moraux. Des séquences se forment mais leur articulation débouche sur des impasses. Ce sont des actes manquants, comme dans une histoire qui, tout en se développant, se délite en de simples schémas d’actions basiques. Une obscurité épaisse enveloppe les personnages, formant des relations qui se chevauchent et donnent lieu à plusieurs intrigues possibles, mais aucune n’est rassemblée en une seule histoire, une seule trame narrative.

Le groupe de policiers est contrebalancé par celui des spectateur·ices. Chaque groupe compte presque le même nombre de personnes.
Les policiers déferlent comme une vague, vêtus de noir, armés, avec des matraques et des chiens. Certains moments collectifs voient apparaître des liens de fraternité qui naissent dans l’appartenance à un corps plus grand et dans le pouvoir extraordinaire des uniformes. Nous assistons au rituel du revêtement de l’uniforme, une initiation. Quelque chose glisse dans le domaine de l’ésotérisme. C’est une investiture par laquelle on devient membre du clan. Malgré cette tension, on assiste à des situations paradoxales, proches du comique. Ce n’est pas un hasard si la police est l’un des premiers sujets de l’histoire du cinéma. Les policiers étaient constamment considérés comme des seconds rôles au début du cinéma populaire et en particulier dans les comédies, associés au chaos, au ravage et à 
la confusion. Dans les films de Buster Keaton, les policiers, au lieu d’être des gardiens de l’ordre, sont activement garants du désordre. Dans Buster, la comédie laisse un goût de malaise, de micro-évènements qui se greffent sur un fond inquiétant.

Les gags et la police sont inexorablement liés à l’histoire du cinéma. Dans Buster, ce monde est-il convoqué par de microscopiques ratés comiques comme source de perturbation ? Servent-ils à altérer la norme en dévoilant son côté autoritaire ?
À l’origine, dans les sketches comiques, le « gag » désignait une petite lame placée dans la bouche pour empêcher de parler correctement. Il perturbait la syntaxe, faisait trébucher la voix et provoquait de petites fractures dans le discours. Le gag est un outil de trébuchement linguistique. Sa fonction est de dérégler l’habitude et de la remplacer par le désordre. Il a un lien avec la loi et le pouvoir de l’enfreindre. Il y a quelque chose d’anarchique dans la comédie, qui s’oppose à la loi : le comique, comme raison d’être de la loi.

Les situations comiques possèdent une duplicité qui devient dérangeante. On rit des déficiences et des victimes. Toutefois, ici, les policiers sont aussi ceux qui subissent la loi. Il y a donc des victimes des deux côtés, puisque les policiers eux-mêmes sont victimes des ordres qu’ils reçoivent en continu dans leurs oreillettes invisibles et auxquels ils ne peuvent échapper.

Les interprètes de Buster n’ont pas été choisis via un casting mais ont répondu à un appel à participation, ils viennent de la rue. Ils prennent possession de la scène sans répétition préalable, ils n’ont pas appris de rôle « à jouer », ils l’intègrent en répondant à des ordres qui leur sont donnés dans de petites oreillettes.

Les interprètes – des habitants de Bruxelles – se plient à un protocole pour « devenir policiers ». Ils prêtent une sorte de serment, acceptent une liste de pré-requis et se soumettent aux ordres. Leur tâche consiste à exécuter une série conséquente d’ordres sans flancher. Et, inévitablement, leurs ordres provoquent le désordre escompté. Il n’y a pas de place pour le libre arbitre, ni pour le choix. Il n’y a pas de temps. Ils doivent obéir immédiatement, sans réfléchir. Le temps est comprimé en un présent absolu, un abîme où seuls existent l’ordre et son exécution instantanée. Ce sont des pseudo-acteurs et, en tant que tels, les seuls protagonistes.       

L’acteur et l’action sont une seule et même chose, ils se superposent. C’est une façon de supprimer le concept d’identification dans le jeu, qui consiste désormais en ses propres actions, précisément parce qu’il n’y a ni place ni temps pour la psychologie. Les policiers sont pris au dépourvus et affranchis de leur responsabilité. Ils ne savent pas ce qu’ils font, comme les Soldats de Jésus, ils le font tout simplement. Par ce procédé et les failles qu’il produit, se révèle le cœur noir de la loi, ainsi que sa fonction primordiale : s’assurer que le crime se prépare à son propre avènement.

  • Conversation menée par Piersandra Di Matteo

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-KANAL – Centre Pompidou-La Monnaie/De Munt

Concept, mise en scène : Romeo Castellucci | Avec : Antonio Montanile, Bira Lima, Christophe Jaccard, Costantino Giampiccolo, Cyriel Lucas, Etienne Jean-Marc, Gaëtan Charbonnier, Hippolyt Doucy, Jacques Sennesael, Jean Schabel, Jean Schatz, Jef Dewit, Jonas Wertz, Naïm Belhaloumi, Patrick Delandtsheer, Pierre Megos, Rafik Bellali, Thibaut Verspreet, Matteo Marongiu, Vadiel Gonzalez, Imad Auassar, Alain Stepman, David Bernardas Casteil, Thiago Antunes, Arno Verbruggen, Johannes Arnauts, Julien Neirynck, Bartel Busschaert, Jonathan Linga, Kiran Vassilieff | Musique : Scott Gibbons | Dramaturgie : Piersandra Di Matteo | Assistant mise en scène : Filippo Ferraresi | Directeur technique : Eugenio Resta | Régisseur : Andrei Benchea | Technicien lumières : Andrea Sanson | Technicien son : Claudio Tortorici | Costumière : Chiara Venturini | Sculptures scéniques, automates : Plastikart studio | Confection costumes : Grazia Bagnaresi | Directrice de production : Benedetta Briglia | Chargée de production : Giulia Colla | Promotion, distribution : Gilda Biasini | Equipe technique : Carmen Castellucci, Francesca Di Serio, Gionni Gardini, Caterina Soranzo | Administration : Michela Medri, Elisa Bruno, Simona Barducci | Consultant financier : Massimiliano Coli Societas | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, KANAL - Centre Pompidou, La Monnaie/De Munt, Printemps des Comédiens Montpellier 2020, LAC - LuganoArteCultura, Maillon Théâtre de Strasbourg - Scène Européenne, Temporada Alta 2020, Manège-Maubeuge Scène nationale, Le Phénix - Scène nationale Pôle européen de création Valenciennes, MC93 Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis, Ruhrfestspiele | Performances à Bruxelles en collaboration avec l'Italian Cultural Institute in Brussels

20.05

  • 20:00
  • 21:30

21.05

  • 21:30

22.05

  • 21:30

23.05

  • 20:00
  • 21:30

24.05

  • 21:30
website by lvh